We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and european cuisine”

Cafe Benelux & Market
Ranked #12 of 1,507 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Belgian, Bar, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Alsip, Illinois
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent service and european cuisine”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have been to the Benelux several times and have NEVER been disappointed with the food or the service. It fills up quick especially the roof top and sidewalk seating so get there early on a weekend. But the inside is very pleasant too. Awesome selection of beers presented in a small booklet. The dished have a Belgium flare with crapes, and sauces form the region. Staff is always upbeat and friendly. Their recommendations are right on every time. Located right on the edge of the 3rd Ward.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    258
    78
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Lovely place for lunch”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stopped here for lunch while visiting the Historic Third Ward in downtown Milwaukee. Started with a cup of chilled watermelon soup - very light and refreshing. Main course was the salmon salad with haricort vert, tomato, egg and olives. Loved the presentation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“An Asset to the Area”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Every historic area wishes they had a place like this. It looks wonderful both inside and out. It's big but not too big, with additional seats outside and on the roof. If weather permits, that would be my first choice. Nice view of the area. Excellent Bloody Marys (they have about 5 varieties) as is the food. The Tater Tots, an appetizer, is very different and excellent. Servers were very good. Food was a little slow coming but we didn't mind. We saw lots of people who seem to share that view.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Putterface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
112 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Where the Locals Go”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Our hotel conceirge highly recommended we brunch here, and we were not disappointed! I met up with a friend who lives in the city and she confirmed that this is where the locals love to hang out. This is where the locals hang out. There is a nice roof-top dining patio area that we enjoyed soaking up some sun on. I ordered an omelette and our server added bacon for no charge, because I mentioned I wish it had bacon. The atmosphere here is fun and eclectic. Apparently, there is some lively night life here, and long wait times during nights and weekends, however there was no wait at all on a late morning weekday. This place is adjacent to the Milwaukee Market which we enjoyed walking through, and it is part of the historic "3rd Ward" district of the city which is great fun to wander. Loved the food. Loved the service. Would love to return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollyday66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Rooftop wonderment”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I could have been served a bowl of dog food and probably still enjoyed myself, because the view and atmosphere of a sunny morning in downtown Milwaukee was just so amazing. We were on the rooftop patio, with jackhammers and car noises surrounding us. The sun was shining off all of the buildings around us. Fresh breezes off of the lake were wafting by. Fortunately my omelet, sans cheddar, was very well made and delicious. The bento box fruit, yogurt, and granola plates my friends had looked great. Very ample portions. We're were alone in the place at 7 when it opened. More people were filling it up by 8am when we left. I am going to go back again sometime.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 6Foot6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Benelux & Market also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Benelux & Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing