We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“More of a punishment than a hotel, really!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Inn at Marquette

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Inn at Marquette to your Saves list
Ambassador Inn at Marquette
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2301 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“More of a punishment than a hotel, really!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I booked late for my trip so a lot of good hotels were booked, i figured this one have 3.9 review on hotels.com and for 100 dollars how bad can it be. well very very bad, damp and smelly elevator and hallways, bad room, AC on all night and loud, spots on the carpet and the bed sheets, uncomfortable pillows. And their free breakfast is Cereal only.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travellotcities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    25
    30
    16
    33
See reviews for
22
23
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We booked two rooms for us and another couple for a weekend trip to milwaukee downtown on Expedia. When we tried to check in, they told us that they had overbooked, and that they were paying for us to stay at another hotel. OK, we could live with that, except the hotel was 10 miles away, by the airport, and exactly what we WEREN"T looking for.

In addition. when we were there, there was a homeless lady in the lobby, that started to give my wife a hard time, while the manager on duty and the doorman/security just sat there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank businesstraveler9745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milwaukee hotels

Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I was nervous to stay here after reading all the reviews, but booked it anyway b/c we needed a fairly cheap hotel for Summerfest and loved the fact that it had the free shuttle. I was soooo happy with my stay!! It was much better than everyone made it sound. Not a bad neighborhood at all, nice rooms, loved that it had a refrigerator, free parking, and aveda bath supplies. I will definitely stay here again next time I'm in Milwaukee.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatInWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Stayed here to go to Summerfest, location isn't really central to anything but has close access to buses and the shuttle from across the road is useful.
We booked a two room suite which actually turned out to be one room with two beds and a tiny room next to the bathroom housing only an ironing board, bar fridge and microwave (useful to have). Some construction was taking place during our stay but this was only on the stairs outside. Overall it was an alright budget option but would probably stay closer to the city for the same money. Quiet area. Despite looking fairly dated, the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calebmondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

There were stains on our comforters, the walls were dirty, the bathroom was dirty, and the shower didn't drain. We told the front desk, they "said" they would send someone up to look at it, however it was not fixed!! The other guests that shared the room with me didn't even shower because it was so gross!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akb555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

I came with my daughter to Milwaukee as part of a college tour. The hotel is a bargain for the price and the service is particularly good. The rooms are clean, of adequate space and they have complimentary wi-fi. Our special recognition to Sam Schneider, the shutle driver for an outstanding service, great disposition and pleasnt conversation.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRfromPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund_Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

This is in many ways a really bad hotel. The rooms, as well as the rest of the hotel, was really filthy - loads oh hair on the floor, dirty toilets... Fortunately, towels and bed linen were clean. The rooms are very spacious, though, so if you are in for a large room you will be more than pleased. The rooms have microwaves and refrigerators, which is convenient. Walls are thin, so count on being disturbed by neighbors. They offer something called a breakfast, but unless you consider a danish breakfast you will be disappointed.

The location isn't to be recommended. It is located in a less-than-pleasing neighborhood (don't go for a walk after dark... - there was a shooting just across the street (literally!) when I stayed there). If you are just driving through the location is OK, though, since the hotel is close to the I-94 and has a large, and free, parking lot.

Just across the street you find the Ambassador Hotel (same owner, so the Inn is their on-a-budget alternative). It is more expensive, but definitely worth the difference.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niclas_Lund_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milwaukee
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 1,113 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Milwaukee West
BEST WESTERN Milwaukee West
#24 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Milwaukee
Days Inn & Suites Milwaukee
#41 of 55 in Milwaukee
3.5 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ramada Milwaukee Downtown
Ramada Milwaukee Downtown
#51 of 55 in Milwaukee
3.0 of 5 stars 733 reviews
0.7 mi away
Potawatomi Hotel & Casino
Potawatomi Hotel & Casino
#38 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Milwaukee West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Inn at Marquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Inn at Marquette

Property: Ambassador Inn at Marquette
Address: 2301 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ambassador Inn at Marquette 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Ambassador Inn in downtown Milwaukee, Wisconsin, caters to business and leisure travelers alike, with well-appointed guest room accommodations, ample amenities, and a complimentary continental breakfast for our guests every morning. A wide range of Milwaukee attractions and venues, including the Bradley Center, home to the NBA’s Milwaukee Bucks, the Frontier Airlines Convention Center, and numerous family-oriented attractions are all a complimentary shuttle ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Ambassador Inn at Marquette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Inn @ Marquette Hotel Milwaukee
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee Wi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing