We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“the reservation that wasn't” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambassador Inn at Marquette

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ambassador Inn at Marquette
Ranked #48 of 54 Hotels in Milwaukee
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the reservation that wasn't”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We booked two rooms for us and another couple for a weekend trip to milwaukee downtown on Expedia. When we tried to check in, they told us that they had overbooked, and that they were paying for us to stay at another hotel. OK, we could live with that, except the hotel was 10 miles away, by the airport, and exactly what we WEREN"T looking for.

In addition. when we were there, there was a homeless lady in the lobby, that started to give my wife a hard time, while the manager on duty and the doorman/security just sat there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank businesstraveler9745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    27
    33
    18
    35
See reviews for
24
25
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

I was nervous to stay here after reading all the reviews, but booked it anyway b/c we needed a fairly cheap hotel for Summerfest and loved the fact that it had the free shuttle. I was soooo happy with my stay!! It was much better than everyone made it sound. Not a bad neighborhood at all, nice rooms, loved that it had a refrigerator, free parking, and aveda bath supplies. I will definitely stay here again next time I'm in Milwaukee.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatInWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

Stayed here to go to Summerfest, location isn't really central to anything but has close access to buses and the shuttle from across the road is useful.
We booked a two room suite which actually turned out to be one room with two beds and a tiny room next to the bathroom housing only an ironing board, bar fridge and microwave (useful to have). Some construction was taking place during our stay but this was only on the stairs outside. Overall it was an alright budget option but would probably stay closer to the city for the same money. Quiet area. Despite looking fairly dated, the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calebmondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

There were stains on our comforters, the walls were dirty, the bathroom was dirty, and the shower didn't drain. We told the front desk, they "said" they would send someone up to look at it, however it was not fixed!! The other guests that shared the room with me didn't even shower because it was so gross!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akb555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milwaukee hotels

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

I came with my daughter to Milwaukee as part of a college tour. The hotel is a bargain for the price and the service is particularly good. The rooms are clean, of adequate space and they have complimentary wi-fi. Our special recognition to Sam Schneider, the shutle driver for an outstanding service, great disposition and pleasnt conversation.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRfromPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund_Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

This is in many ways a really bad hotel. The rooms, as well as the rest of the hotel, was really filthy - loads oh hair on the floor, dirty toilets... Fortunately, towels and bed linen were clean. The rooms are very spacious, though, so if you are in for a large room you will be more than pleased. The rooms have microwaves and refrigerators, which is convenient. Walls are thin, so count on being disturbed by neighbors. They offer something called a breakfast, but unless you consider a danish breakfast you will be disappointed.

The location isn't to be recommended. It is located in a less-than-pleasing neighborhood (don't go for a walk after dark... - there was a shooting just across the street (literally!) when I stayed there). If you are just driving through the location is OK, though, since the hotel is close to the I-94 and has a large, and free, parking lot.

Just across the street you find the Ambassador Hotel (same owner, so the Inn is their on-a-budget alternative). It is more expensive, but definitely worth the difference.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niclas_Lund_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

When we arrived, we went to the more deluxe sister hotel across the street. We were a bit skeptical when we saw this hotel, but in the end we were very pleased. A pleasant staff, comfortable room and very comfortable bed made our trip quite enjoyable. One warning, the hotel elevator door is very determined once it decides to close. Could be dangerous for children or the frail.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderingthrulife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Days Inn & Suites Milwaukee
#41 of 54 in Milwaukee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Inn at Marquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Inn at Marquette

Property: Ambassador Inn at Marquette
Address: 2301 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 54 Hotels in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ambassador Inn at Marquette 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Ambassador Inn in downtown Milwaukee, Wisconsin, caters to business and leisure travelers alike, with well-appointed guest room accommodations, ample amenities, and a complimentary continental breakfast for our guests every morning. A wide range of Milwaukee attractions and venues, including the Bradley Center, home to the NBA’s Milwaukee Bucks, the Frontier Airlines Convention Center, and numerous family-oriented attractions are all a complimentary shuttle ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ambassador Inn at Marquette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Inn @ Marquette Hotel Milwaukee
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee Wi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing