We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, convenient, economical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Milwaukee Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Milwaukee Airport
Ranked #28 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable, convenient, economical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

This is a nice place to stay. Sort of typical chain motel, but large rooms with desk, comfortable beds, and the shower worked well. Heat is quiet. Nice breakfast selection with scrambled eggs, sausage patties, and oatmeal in addition to the more usual waffle and continental breakfast items. Has a nice looking pool which we didn't use, and exercise area. Convenient to airport with 24 hr shuttle (but we had our car this trip). Stayed here before anticipated, asndf got, a good experience.

  • Liked — Great value for the money
  • Disliked — Nothing to pick on
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mensch18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    67
    28
    27
    14
See reviews for
104
44
9
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

The staff was terrific; they are what made our stay above average. We arrived after midnight, after an 8 hour drive, on the last leg of an 8 day trip, with no reservation. We wanted to be near the airport, since we were flying out the next day. The night staff was very accomodating. The next morning, we just missed the breakfast but again the staff was very accomodating, giving us cereal, yogurt, bagels, pastries, juice, and milk -- all of which was being put away when we arrived in the breakfast room. We did not have ask if we could still get something; the staff asked us if we wanted/needed anything. The suite was very clean; furniture could use a bit updating.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DCTravelFan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

I was staying at the Hilton Milwaukee downtown and checked out early due to many things not working. The only hotel with availabilty was the Country Inn and Suites. It was better than I expected. Everything worked like it should. Staff is nice. Breakfast area does get crowded in the morning. Plenty of parking spaces. I didn't think it was noisy at all.

I do agree that the beds are not comfortable. I'm sure it's because I'm use to staying at a Marriott or Hilton.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jken2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

Price was great b/c it was free! I am a GPPlus member.

Hotel was clean and staff was very nice. Got stuck with a Handicapped room, but it was no big deal.

Location close enough to downtown, but not close enough. If you plan to take part in one of Milwaukee's great beer halls this is not the hotel for you as a taxi ride is about 25 dollars. As with all other CI and S I stayed at you get free breakfast. It's a HOT BREAKFAST!

Bed was really uncomfortable, that's my only gripe about the room.

  • Liked — Free breakfast
  • Disliked — Bed hard as hell
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanker751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2007

The staff was friendly and the hotel looked nice. However, the beds were horrible. The springs in the bed seemed to be beaten up so bad that it sunk in the middle. I would not stay at this hotel again because I could not get any sleep. Updated mattresses would have made this stay better.

Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank beevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

I guess because I made my purchase through Priceline that it was justifiable to provide me substandard service and place me in a smoking room, which I did not request because I am a non-smoker.

For the guests ahead of me checking in, the desk clerk was making sure to ask them about needing access to wireless internet, but when it was my turn I had to ask for it specifically.

I was not given proper directions to my room.

The ice machine on the third floor where I stayed was out of order. The only vending machine on this floor was a microwave popcorn dispenser, for which I did not have a microwave in my room.

Another reviewer complained about the noise level. Honestly, I did not find it to be a problem, and compared to other properties I have visited, it did not seem to be excessive or unacceptable.

The continental breakfast was adequate and satisfactory, considering you usually get fruit, pastries, toast, juice, coffee, and make-it-yourself waffles.

I frequently visit this area, and although I like Country Inn & Suites, I am not tempted to patronize this particular property in the future.

If you choose to stay in this area, we had fantastic food and service from Valentina's Pizza, delivered right to our room.

  • Liked — Location near airport
  • Disliked — Substandard service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LSGTA1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2007

I'll start by saying the rooms are nice and the property is well kept. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the free wireless Internet is great.

However... the problem is that this is a party hotel.

The hotel pool is open 24 hours with room key, so there is always at least one group of young adults using the pool into the wee hours of the morning. There are also always numerous groups of adults drinking heavily in the rooms, slamming doors, being loud in the halls and generally being obnoxious.

The last few times I've stayed here I've seen management have to call the Police to evict the aforementioned partyers, but the card key lock into the pool area has been broken for so long now that I doubt most of the pool partyers are even guests!

Now none of this is really anything the management can control easily (though they could fix the pool door lock, if they haven't yet) - but I've always thought this would be more of a relaxing hotel rather than one filled with rambunctious, drunk 21 year-olds, especially on weekend stays.

Perhaps they need to raise their rates or otherwise try and make their property less attractive to the few guests who ruin an otherwise attractive hotel.

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AscentGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Milwaukee Airport
2.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#23 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
1.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Milwaukee Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Milwaukee Airport
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Milwaukee Airport Hotel & Conference Ctr.
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Milwaukee Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Milwaukee Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Milwaukee Airport

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Milwaukee Airport
Address: 6200 S 13th St, Milwaukee, WI 53221-5125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#23 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Milwaukee Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Carlson and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Milwaukee Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson Milwaukee Airport
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Milwaukee Airport Hotel Milwaukee
Country Inn Milwaukee Airport
Milwaukee Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing