We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Equisite Art Deco Gem downtown Wilwaukee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BREWS AND BREWERS!!
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Grayslake, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Equisite Art Deco Gem downtown Wilwaukee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

My husband and I with another couple recently went to a Cheap Trick concert at Powtawanimi Casino in downtown Milwaukee, WI. We booked the rooms thru the casino website based on rate and reviews. The Ambassador Hotel is an art deco hotel that has been renovated to its past glory. It was an outstanding experience; the rooms were very large, extremely clean and well appointed with a large flat screeen TV and Aveeda spa products. The staff was very helpful. They provided complimentary shuttle service to the casino and other points downtown. When we checked out Sunday morning, I asked the front desk if they could recommend someplace for breakfast (although they provide a large buffet we were looking for a simpler meal). They suggested a diner 3 doors up (Michaels) which was also a fantastic deal. We will definitly be back and look forward to going to more events in Milwaukee and recommending this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadie713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the Ambassador. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    349
    113
    59
    56
See reviews for
208
406
71
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

The Ambassador Hotel is a true diamond in the rough! It's elegant and beautiful and upscale. The preservation of the hotel is amazing and the staff is friendly, helpful and available at anytime. The rooms are gorgeous, clean and roomy. Envoy has some of the best food around and the dining experinece is so much nicer then any generic hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amers51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cudahy, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

The rooms are spacious with all the amenities necessary for business or travel. The beds are extremely comfortable with luxurious linens .
The food in the restaurant was excellent for all meals throught the day. The snack bar was good as well.
They are close to downtown Milwaukee with a shuttle that will take you anywhere you would like to go and pick you up at a designated time. Awesome experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAO53110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

I stayed in one of the whirlpool suites and was extremely impressed with the atmosphere. I was more than satisied with the cleanliness, room service, restaurant, and bar. The location offers easy access to downtown city entertainment and sights. the shuttle offered convenience and ease of transportation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

From the outside it looks iffy- an old building- but step inside. It is a nicely restored art deco hotel which had everything that I look for in a room. Thermostat- a great bed- and most importantly a wonderful night sleep. We spent the money on the whirlpool- i made the mistake of showing my wife a picture of the room. My god- that room was great. The only negative- its right by Marquette- and on a Friday night- people drink- and we were woken up by a drunk guy running head first into the elevator. They should probably walk the halls on weekend- but that was a quick occurrence. I will be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimEbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

Lack of a pool area and small rooms make this Hotel a 3.5 star. Good service from the maid,front desk, bartenders and restaurant were big plus's. We paid $85.00 per night so I thought it was a great value. It just is not 4 STARS.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minnyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

I only stayed at the Ambassador with my husband for one night. Our room was very large with a seating area. The bathroom was small, but there was a second sink outside the bathroom. Free parking in hotel garage is a definite plus. Did notice some stains on the rug and the blanket in the closet was stained as well. The elevators are really neat and you open a door to get in and out of the elevator. Location was far from the "downtown". Area seems a little shady, but we walked to and from Real Chilli without a problem. Lots of students around this area too. If you want to be around the downtown "action", this is not the hotel for you. But it is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salukisue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#4 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,571 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#2 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#10 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#16 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A shining example of true Art Deco style, the Ambassador Hotel provides an urban oasis near the heart of downtown Milwaukee. Discover a remarkable blend of modern amenities and 1920's Art Deco design. From the original marble floors and bronze elevator doors to the ornate plasterwork, every detail of the Ambassador Hotel is a testament to the bold beauty of Art Deco. Our spacious guest rooms share the same level of sophisticated decor. Guests enjoy luxurious bedding, HD smart elevisions and complimentary Internet access. Savor sumptuous global American cuisine in an upscale yet casual atmosphere at Envoy Restaurant & Lounge. Chef Michael Long crafts globally inspired innovative dishes made using fresh, local ingredients. But first, work up an appetite with a visit to our well-equipped fitness center that features cardio equipment with individual TV screens. Ready to explore all that downtown Milwaukee has to offer? Our complimentary shuttle service provides front door, red carpet service. Host your next social gathering in our Art Deco designed Embassy Room or host a corporate meeting that takes advantage of state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment in our Attache' Room. The Ambassador Hotel offers a variety of intimate event venues that can comfortably accommodate 20 to 80 people. Perfectly located on the west side of downtown Milwaukee near the Marquette University campus, our stylish hotel offers the perfect base for exploring the best attractions in the city. Catch a ball at a Milwaukee Brewers baseball game under Miller Park's retractable dome, attend a show in the Milwaukee Theatre District, tour the Miller Brewery or explore the Harley-Davidson Museum. If you have any questions about area attractions or need assistance arranging tours, please don't hesitate to ask our Guest Experience Manager. Reserve a room at the Ambassador Hotel during your next visit to Milwaukee and experience legendary customer service in extraordinary Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing