We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ambassador was great!!”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2008

We booked a weekend get.away so that we could do Summerfest and a Brewer game. Every employee that we encountered was pleasant and helpful. Room was very clean and nicely appointed. The shuttle service to both Summerfest and Miller Park were ideal! We parked our car in their lot and did not move it for 2 days. The neighborhood is not bad as others have written. It is an urban neighborhood. People who have written with objections to it must not get out of suburbia much!
Breakfast at the Envoy was great and the Bloody Marys should not be missed. It was a really great weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat1519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,623 - 1,629 of 1,711 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2008

At check-in I was asked if I had booked my room via Priceline. We had and they must have given us the special "Priceline" room. Small, Small, Small. The area of Milwaukee was not good either. Several different friends of ours booked rooms at different hotels in the downtown area and I would have picked any of those hotels over this one.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank emmvogel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights on business in May 2008. Having never been to Milwaukee before I didn't have the highest expectations but it was a decent trip and decent hotel.

The basic room was only $89/night so I decided to upgrade to a King Jacuzzi Suite. The hotel decor was art deco funky but I liked it. It gave the place a little flavor versus the typical Marriott or Hilton Hotel decor. The room was very big and the bed was nice and comfy.

I ordered room service twice while I was there. The menu is pretty limited but I like the fact that you can order something at midnight if you wanted. I also liked how they would call when the order was ready to let you know they were coming upstairs to deliver the food. The staff always seemed professional to me.

I also ate at the lounge bar and it was pretty lively with a few sports game going on the multiple TV's.

The free shuttle that they have is an extra bonus. They will even make arrangements to pick you up at a specific time if you need it. The shuttle drivers were all very nice and full of information on the city. I decided to go to the casino one night, and even tho I lost I still had a fun time. Just don't expect Las Vegas!

The only complaint was the jacuzzi in the room was located in a weird corner. I could never get the temperature right for me. Next time I would pass on the Jacuzzi room.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bebe624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

This is a very mediocre hotel with overpriced rooms and unprofessional service. The only excellent service was from the bellman. The hotel's decor is charming and historic, which we liked very much. The restaurant, Envoy, also had good food and top notch dessert. Sleeping, however, was a different story. We stayed one night and were woken up at 7:15am by a member of the staff knocking on our door. Apparently he had the wrong room for something. Then, a few minutes later, the fire alarm began going off intermittently until about 9:30am. When I called down to the desk, the staff member stated that the fire marshal showed up to test the alarms and they couldn't do anything about it. Well, that was understandable, but when I went down to check out and told them about the unpleasantness of being woken up early by the person knocking on our door and the irritating fire alarm, I was told that "there isn't anyone on staff here that early that would be knocking on doors." After convincing them that I wasn't crazy, the staff members finally conceded that there may have been one person there that early that could have mistakenly knocked on our door. Hm. Might want to check room numbers before knocking. I didn't complain excessively, argue, or anything of that nature, and I guess simply stating that our experience was unpleasant didn't do much to improve the customer service. I got about 10 rehearsed "I apologize" remarks and frozen smiles. It's a sad situation when one is apparently required to throw a fit - which I don't do- in order to get what I consider to be the basics of good customer service.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chippy224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

We stayed at the Ambassador when in town for a Brewer's game. We loved it. We opted for a bigger room which was clean, cozy, and had plenty of space. There was a king sized bed with a soft comforter and SIX pillows. There was a desk, couch, large tv/dvd and bathroom with two sink areas. They provided Aveda shower products and clean robes to use during your stay. We did walk to downtown and it is a bit of a walk. There are tons of city busses that run up and down Wisconsin however. The shuttle to the game was very convenient! We had coffee and bagels at the coffee shop and drinks in the lounge. The lounge was intimate and offered tons of delicious, interesting drinks. The decor is cool. They have menus/photos for the 20's and 30's on the walls. I live in Chicago and wish we had a hotel/lounge like this. I would only stay here when we go to Milwaukee, it was so much better than your typical chain hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2008

I was initially concerned with the hotel's location in "super sketchy neighborhood" and amenities based on prior reviews from tripadvisor. However, these concerns were unfounded. The hotel is very safe (gated parking lot). I drove around the neighborhood (east/west/north/south) and found nothing "sketchy" about the area. The location's only weakness is its distance to downtown. Seemed a bit too far to walk, as it was about 1 mile west of the downtown. (see free shuttle)

My room was very large (room 408) and had everything I needed. Bed was extremely comfortable. Room was kept very clean. Free safety deposit box in the room. DVD players in the room the as well.

The hotel's dinner menu was very good (a bit pricey) and the cafe was excellent. Make a note of stopping at the cafe for a cup of coffee or espresso. Its very quaint and a nice retreat from starbucks/caribou-type cafes, and an excellent way of starting the morning. I did not visit the bar, but it looked like a classy place to have a few night caps.

The decor was wonderful. Particularly the marble reception area and the old-school elevators. The rooms were freshly renovated within the past few years and looked more modern than most chain hotels.

Staff was very helpful and fulfilled my every need. I felt more welcome there than any chain hotel i've ever stayed in. Although most of the staff appeared to be college students (Marquette perhaps?) they were always professional, recognized me on a daily basis, and maintained an aura of service that made me feel like I was back in the 1920's.

I stayed for business purposes and, therefore, did not have a chance to take the shuttle to the city or see many sites.

I had also trouble receiving LAN internet and there is no WiFi in the rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mach411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

Not sure why other reviewers were attacking the decor so much, but I found this hotel to be quite attractive throughout the entire facility.

We booked our hotel on priceline and got an extremely good deal. We called ahead to make sure we had a room with 2 queen beds and found they had upgraded us to a room with 2 queens and a pull out couch.

When we arrived the staff was more then helpful and early check in was a breeze. The room was amazing. Huge even with three beds, two sinks, large TV and dvd player, canned lighting, and great decor. Great beds, great linens, and the room was spotless. Could not have been happier.

I've stayed at other old hotels that had been "fully renovated" and left a lot to be desired. The Ambassador obviously spent a great deal of time and money on making this a truly great place to stay.

The neighborhood seemed a little sketchy but I never once felt threatened or felt my car could be in danger. Marquette University is right at your doorstep so there never seemed to be too much of a threat. Good location between downtown, Miller Park, and the Miller brewery and with the free shuttle, this really was the ideal location for the attractions we wanted. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for an affordable quality hotel with extremely friendly staff. Thanks again for a great stay!!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank grfan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#6 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#30 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,116 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53233-1890
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#10 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#16 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range: $69 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A shining example of true Art Deco style, the Ambassador Hotel provides an urban oasis near the heart of downtown Milwaukee. Discover a remarkable blend of modern amenities and 1920's Art Deco design. From the original marble floors and bronze elevator doors to the ornate plasterwork, every detail of the Ambassador Hotel is a testament to the bold beauty of Art Deco. Our spacious guest rooms share the same level of sophisticated decor. Guests enjoy luxurious bedding, HD smart elevisions and complimentary Internet access. Savor sumptuous global American cuisine in an upscale yet casual atmosphere at Envoy Restaurant & Lounge. Chef Michael Long crafts globally inspired innovative dishes made using fresh, local ingredients. But first, work up an appetite with a visit to our well-equipped fitness center that features cardio equipment with individual TV screens. Ready to explore all that downtown Milwaukee has to offer? Our complimentary shuttle service provides front door, red carpet service. Host your next social gathering in our Art Deco designed Embassy Room or host a corporate meeting that takes advantage of state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment in our Attache' Room. The Ambassador Hotel offers a variety of intimate event venues that can comfortably accommodate 20 to 80 people. Perfectly located on the west side of downtown Milwaukee near the Marquette University campus, our stylish hotel offers the perfect base for exploring the best attractions in the city. Catch a ball at a Milwaukee Brewers baseball game under Miller Park's retractable dome, attend a show in the Milwaukee Theatre District, tour the Miller Brewery or explore the Harley-Davidson Museum. If you have any questions about area attractions or need assistance arranging tours, please don't hesitate to ask our Guest Experience Manager. Reserve a room at the Ambassador Hotel during your next visit to Milwaukee and experience legendary customer service in extraordinary Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing