We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were attending a tradeshow at the Wisconsin Center and the two hotels adjacent to the convention center were sold out. We were pleasantly surprised by the Ambassador Hotel! They completely spoiled our group! All participants of the tradeshow were put on our own floor and a Welcome Reception was provided for our group, special amenities were left in our rooms and a grab and go breakfast was provided on our departure day. The staff was excellent and extremely helpful getting us to and from the convention center. We ate in the lounge and the Jerk Scallops were delicious!!! Room service was great as well! The Ambassador Hotel is a hidden gem! I definitely recommend the hotel and will return next time I am in Milwaukee.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Ambassador! We were happy to serve you and the guests from Connect and look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again real soon! Aren't those Jerk Scallops amazing? Thank you for choosing the Ambassador!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    350
    113
    60
    55
See reviews for
208
407
71
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had two nights at the Ambassador and really enjoyed it. The staff were very friendly and helpful, they have a great shuttle service that will take you wherever you need to go. We ate at the restaurant one night and had a lovely meal. Our room was quite large and very comfortable. The bathroom was a little small, but adequate. The foyer and restaurant are art deco and very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 57Babs57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We are honored you chose to stay at the Ambassador and dine in Envoy. It was a true pleasure to have you with us. We do offer some of the largest rooms available and our staff is the finest team of hospitality professionals in Milwaukee. We look forward to having you stay with us at the Ambassador again when your travels bring you to Milwaukee!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I had the misfortune to stay at the Ambassador for two nights. While the lobby (the size of a postage stamp) may have been renovated, the guest rooms leave much to be desired.

The basic room itself was large but carpeted with basic industrial carpet you'd find in an office building. Aside from a single lonely side chair there was nothing the least bit "art deco" about the bedroom. The furniture was mismatched and ugly, with cheap finishes and a clashing range of styles. And yes, as noted by other reviewers the room had a musty, unclean smell.

The bathroom, while possibly the most "redone" part of the room, was dirty. A dried yellow stain covered the base of the toilet. Pulling back the shower curtain revealed a moldy shower head. I've uploaded photos of both.

The beds (I was put in a room with two double beds) were little better. One duvet cover bore stains I decided it was better not to investigate and the other other had black streaks across it that looked like shoe polish. The bed linens were thin and worn. And yet, despite these basic failures, a card on the desk trumpeted the availability of a "Pillow Menu" like you would find at a luxury hotel. I didn't bother with it.

For the most part staff worked hard to be friendly and helpful and to make the stay as pleasant as possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollowsquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your visit with us. Our guest's usually rave about the hotel, its Art Deco detail, the spacious guest rooms and meticulate attention to details. We are currently reviewing your comments with our housekeeping and maintenance staff to ensure we continue to exceed guest expectations. Our staff strives to provide the cleanest and freshest rooms in Milwaukee to each and every guest. The Art Deco lobby is the most talked about area of the hotel with all of the original flooring, fixtures and orante elevators doors. Our General Manager would welcome the opportunity to discuss your recent stay with you further and we look forward to the opportunity have you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our room was very nice. Beds comfortable. Quiet, restful place to sleep. We really enjoyed relaxing in the cafe in the morning. Breakfast was delicious and reasonably priced. Great shuttle service!!!! Friendly and helpful staff. We will return next year for our annual Milwaukee trip!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelover553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your sharing your great experience at the Ambassador! Caffe Deco is our coffee shop and serves Starbucks coffee and specialty drinks. In addition, made-to-order breakfast & lunch sandwiches, pastries and desserts are among the items you can enjoy each day. It is a great place in the mornings to begin the day either in the bright atmosphere of the coffee shop or on a nice day, the patio is open to our guests. Our staff strives to exceed the expectations of our guests and we are delighted your experience will bring you back again next year. We look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and I had a very pleasant two night stay at the Ambassador. It is an older hotel, but seems to be well maintained. Our room was comfortable and ample in size, though the bathroom was a little cramped. The elevator is a bit old-fashioned, but worked well. We ate in the hotel dining room the first night. Be sure to ask about the very appealing special for hotel guests - $19 for dinner if I remember correctly.. The food was good, though not special. By far the most attractive feature of the hotel is their shuttle which seemed quite happy taking guests most anywhere downtown, and will pick you up when you call and request it. The only catch is that you must leave and return at the times specified, which they inform you about at check-in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank batesczsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
The Ambassador is located on the west end of downtown in the Marquette University neighborhood. The location provides a convenient home base to see many of the area's events and attractions. The complimentary shuttle service is a perfect way to leave the hassles of driving and parking behind and provides front door service to your destination. The shuttle schedule is important to ensure the highest level of service to all of our hotel guests and our drivers are consitently complimented on their service. The Ambassador's Art Deco charm is evident throughout the hotel. The elevator doors are a major focal point and topic of conversation among our guests. Thank you for sharing your experience on how well maintained the hotel is. The housekeeping staff works hard to provide our guests with the cleanest rooms in Milwaukee. Thank you for choosing the Ambassador and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Overall the Ambassador Hotel is fine however the musty smell was overwhelming in our room on the 8th floor (room 813). At first we weren’t sure if the musty smell was coming from the carpet or the air vent system but the next day we discovered the new wallpaper was peeling away from the wall with a layer of black mold behind it. Yuck.

Obviously this is an old hotel that they have tried very hard to renovate. And it was very clean in the lobby and common areas. They have done a nice job with the art Nuevo décor. Our room was large, had lovely furnishings, and was nicely decorated but it smelled like mold.

The hotel was located close enough to the downtown area/city sights and offered free shuttle service to anywhere you wanted to go. There are inexpensive college diners located nearby if you are comfortable sharing the walk with questionable local characters.

You can tell the hotel is trying to be first rate with things like a “Pillow Menu” for people who are particular about their pillow (hypoallergenic, down, etc.)

I was a little disappointed that they didn’t offer a complimentary continental breakfast with their room charge like the Hampton Inn. However the Hampton Inn is a chain and the Ambassador Hotel is unique and part of the community.

Room Tip: Look for peeling wallpaper and mold near the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve221B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have resolved the issue with this guest room to ensure the comfort of our guests. We apologize we fell short of your expectations on your visit. The Ambassador is Milwaukee's Premier Art Deco Hotel and the staff prides itself on exceeding guest expectations. Our dedicated houskeeping team provides the cleanest rooms in Milwaukee. We look forward to the opportunity to have you back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Accommodations were great. Shuttle service is a great plus as they provided service not only to Miller Park but also to the Art Museum. My only disappointment with the Shuttle Service was they did not go to the Zoo. The Zoo was one place I really wanted to visit as my first trip there was shortly after they opened. Envoy staff were great. The hostess had my friend's breakfast taken off bill as not as ordered. Front desk staff was helpful in providing names of places to eat. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Our complimentary shutle service is a very popular amenity of the hotel. In order to accommodate all of our guests, we do have a specific shuttle map and schedule. Unfortunately, the Zoo is located outside of our downtown service area. Our Guest Experience Manager is readily available to assist our guests with alternate transportation options for destinations outside of the downtown area. Thank you for your great praise of our Envoy and Hotel staffs. Our staff takes great pride in providing personalized service to each of our guests. We look forward to your return to the Ambassador!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#3 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,576 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#2 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53233-1890
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#10 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#16 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A shining example of true Art Deco style, the Ambassador Hotel provides an urban oasis near the heart of downtown Milwaukee. Discover a remarkable blend of modern amenities and 1920's Art Deco design. From the original marble floors and bronze elevator doors to the ornate plasterwork, every detail of the Ambassador Hotel is a testament to the bold beauty of Art Deco. Our spacious guest rooms share the same level of sophisticated decor. Guests enjoy luxurious bedding, HD smart elevisions and complimentary Internet access. Savor sumptuous global American cuisine in an upscale yet casual atmosphere at Envoy Restaurant & Lounge. Chef Michael Long crafts globally inspired innovative dishes made using fresh, local ingredients. But first, work up an appetite with a visit to our well-equipped fitness center that features cardio equipment with individual TV screens. Ready to explore all that downtown Milwaukee has to offer? Our complimentary shuttle service provides front door, red carpet service. Host your next social gathering in our Art Deco designed Embassy Room or host a corporate meeting that takes advantage of state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment in our Attache' Room. The Ambassador Hotel offers a variety of intimate event venues that can comfortably accommodate 20 to 80 people. Perfectly located on the west side of downtown Milwaukee near the Marquette University campus, our stylish hotel offers the perfect base for exploring the best attractions in the city. Catch a ball at a Milwaukee Brewers baseball game under Miller Park's retractable dome, attend a show in the Milwaukee Theatre District, tour the Miller Brewery or explore the Harley-Davidson Museum. If you have any questions about area attractions or need assistance arranging tours, please don't hesitate to ask our Guest Experience Manager. Reserve a room at the Ambassador Hotel during your next visit to Milwaukee and experience legendary customer service in extraordinary Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing