We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely Art Deco Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #13 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Art Deco Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I always stay at this particular hotel when coming to Milwaukee to see a concert at The Eagles Ballroom across the street. The rooms are spacious, clean, and very comfortable. Room service is very nice and prompt. The Envoy Lounge has good drinks, but the food and service leaves something to be desired.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshleyB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    372
    123
    70
    62
See reviews for
231
438
74
233
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This lovely restored Art Deco hotels has it all--central location, ample parking, free shuttle, spacious rooms, attentive staff and fine dining. The Envoy serves delicious fare and the bar has a unique happy hour. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for accommodations when visiting Milwaukee. It is also a great stop for anyone simply looking for a place to eat dinner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Ambassador is my favorite hotel in Milwaukee by a long shot. I've only visited the hotel twice, in 2012 and 2013. The free shuttle to and from downtown is great. The cafe is very good. I have not dined at the hotel or used the fitness center

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renault5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

What a great hotel that is hopefully part of a neighborhood comeback just west of Marquette University. Lovely room (hope the hotel does not go years between upgrades/refurbishments) Ate @ the bar twice, wonderful food and quite inviting. A quick free shuttle downtown . . .fabulous. I also took the bus, a quick cheap alternative. A bit more attentive house keeping staff and this would be 5 star. A lovely cheap diner is across the street . . .cheap & diner but wonderful to have a bite and to help the neighborhoods rebirth ! Will stay again.

Room Tip: Sadly, an apartment was erected in the 60's that now blocks what would have been lovely eastern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charioteer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I've stayed at The Ambassador many times over the years and thought I should do it the decency of a review. It's great value - I've stayed here on a corporate rate but today I checked the price on LastMinute.com and for three nights they are charging £70 a night! - which for someone used to European hotel prices is a steal. The hotel is in the Marquette area - by the various University buildings and halls of residence. OK - it's not the classiest of areas, and I wouldn't recommend a yound lady walking the local streets late at night... but given that everything in this town is done by car it's absolutely fine. The only downside is if you sit on their pavement cafe for an early eveing beer you ocassional get a asked for a dollar or a cigarette... but that's pretty universal these days in cities.

The hotel was built in the Thirties and has many Art Deco features. The hotel rightly plays on this heritage and while it was refurbished some years ago still has a great authentic feel. The gust bedrooms are big, well appointed and quiet - I've often spent the day working in my room and they are plenty big not to feel trapped. The bar is fun, and a nice place to have an early evening drink. the restaurant serve a great breakfast... way above the standard Hilton fayre. Dinner, and I've eaten there a few times, is also pretty good to excellent. the staff are super friendly and efficient... from both a leisure and business visitor perspective.

It has safe secure parking... and if you are on a budget or want to have dinner out and drink, a very efficient FREE shuttle bus that will take you Downtown and pick you up.

Overall it's my favourite hotel in Milwaukee and for a business hotel, one of my favourite hotels when visiting/working in the US.

Room Tip: The 03 rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota USA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Ambassador has managed to renovate to modern standards and retain the character of the 1927 hotel. The registration desk and bell staff are very helpful and professional. We loved the renovated elevator doors and light fixtures. We had 3 King rooms, which were large, well furnished and very clean. Nice mattresses and pillows. There is covered free parking. The hotel is on the edge of the Marquette campus but is very quiet. We would stay here again. There are a few glitches. The lobby and hallways smell overwhelmingly of disinfectant. Our experience in the restaurant was of very poor organization of staff and a very rude hostess...that being said the food was delightful. The fitness center has only one treadmill.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wayzata1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The front desk employee, Eric I think, was so polite, friendly and helpful. He was so helpful with all the information. He asked what brought us to the area and even printed out directions for us to our destination. We didn't even ask!!! The elevator door was held open for us by another employee which I thought was so nice. The rooms are spacious and clean. Free wi-fi and aveda products were a perk! The parking ramp is close to the building. Only downfall is not many channels to choose from which isn't a big deal. The neighborhood is scary but like all the reviews say use common sense. If we come back to Milwaukee I would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,627 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#4 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53233-1890
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#10 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#16 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A shining example of true Art Deco style, the Ambassador Hotel provides an urban oasis near the heart of downtown Milwaukee. Discover a remarkable blend of modern amenities and 1920's Art Deco design. From the original marble floors and bronze elevator doors to the ornate plasterwork, every detail of the Ambassador Hotel is a testament to the bold beauty of Art Deco. Our spacious guest rooms share the same level of sophisticated decor. Guests enjoy luxurious bedding, HD smart elevisions and complimentary Internet access. Savor sumptuous global American cuisine in an upscale yet casual atmosphere at Envoy Restaurant & Lounge. Chef Michael Long crafts globally inspired innovative dishes made using fresh, local ingredients. But first, work up an appetite with a visit to our well-equipped fitness center that features cardio equipment with individual TV screens. Ready to explore all that downtown Milwaukee has to offer? Our complimentary shuttle service provides front door, red carpet service. Host your next social gathering in our Art Deco designed Embassy Room or host a corporate meeting that takes advantage of state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment in our Attache' Room. The Ambassador Hotel offers a variety of intimate event venues that can comfortably accommodate 20 to 80 people. Perfectly located on the west side of downtown Milwaukee near the Marquette University campus, our stylish hotel offers the perfect base for exploring the best attractions in the city. Catch a ball at a Milwaukee Brewers baseball game under Miller Park's retractable dome, attend a show in the Milwaukee Theatre District, tour the Miller Brewery or explore the Harley-Davidson Museum. If you have any questions about area attractions or need assistance arranging tours, please don't hesitate to ask our Guest Experience Manager. Reserve a room at the Ambassador Hotel during your next visit to Milwaukee and experience legendary customer service in extraordinary Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing