We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great stay on a winter day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Elburn IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great stay on a winter day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Had the opportunity to stay at the Ambassador on a snowy New Year's Day and really had a great experience. Our room was spacious, spotless and comfortable. Everyone we encountered went out of their way to meet any requests or questions we had. At check-in we were informed that a courtesy shuttle was available to take us where we wished to go, and our room request was honored. Our shuttle driver took us straight to the nearby Potowatami Casino and came back to get us when we called. We then visited the Envoy lounge on the property and had a very engaging and professional bartender who was terrific. We ordered some appetizers and an order of butternut squash ravioli in pesto which was really outstanding. A quiet night and a good night's rest were all we needed to want to come back again, which we will.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dnicoletto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    350
    113
    59
    55
See reviews for
208
406
71
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

This particular hotel is impressive in both design and quality. The beds are superb and lighting, decor, and overall look is of it is classic but not stuffy or outdated as many high end hotels can appear, I was very impressed with how well the vintage charm was still retained even though the rennovations were obviously new.

The amiable front desk attendant checked me in promptly. There was a bit of a problem with my key, but he corrected it right away. Now for the best part: FREE parking and WIFI! How often does a 4 star establishment offer anything free?

I read some comments regarding the location. Frankly, I saw absolutely nothing wrong with condition of the area. Sure, there are some mom and pop businesses nearby and perhaps some older residential buildings, but nothing that looks remotely dangerous of menacing. If there were a perfectly situated Starbucks across the street or a Banana Republic next door, perhaps some reviewers would approve of the location...

All in all; a great experience! I'll definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms are different sizes so try to ask for a large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prettipetite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

You know how they say, "Location, location, location"? That's the Ambassador's blessing and curse.

This is an awesome hotel with all the modern conveniences at a great price, located in a sketchy neighborhood that is convenient to wherever you need to be. Situated blocks from Marquette University, the hotel's setting isn't the best; however, it's pretty close to downtown and the riverfront. A free shuttle helps with that as well.

The rooms are pretty sweet -- I have a huge king room with a couch, flat panel HD TV with multiple inputs (HDMI, etc.), minibar, etc. Bed is very comfortable. Shower water pressure is great, although the temperature can vary.

There's definitely an art deco thing going on here, but I really don't care about that. I care about a quality hotel with a great, friendly staff and an outstanding price. For under $100, I've got a 4- to 5-star room, with free breakfast vouchers at the Envoy restaurant downstairs. (Oh, and free wi-fi, although it can crawl at times.)

Great find!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank texasbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I was able to get a room for $50/night on Priceline and I'm glad I didn't pay any more than that, but the hotel fit my needs for the weekend just fine. Check-in was fast, but the first room I checked into had a broken safe, so I called the front desk. They sent housekeeping to me with a key to a new room on the same floor, that safe worked so I stayed. The hotel has a decent fitness center I used each morning and they have ample free parking. The free internet access and the TV programming was great as well. I did find it necessary to clean the bathtub myself before bathing the first night I was there, as there was soap dried to the side of the tub and the walls didn't look clean. I did not make a complaint to the hotel, as it was easier to to do it myself, so I can't comment on how they might have made that right. The bedspread had several obvious stains on it and the pillow cases appeared dingy, but the bed was comfortable. The were plenty of electrical outlets readily available and easy to reach to plug in cell phones, laptops, etc. The climate control system was easy to use, but it only works when you're in the room (some environmentally friendly thing) so it was often cold until I had been in the room a while, this is unfortunate given how cold it was the weekend I was there. It would have been wonderful to walk into a warm hotel room.

All in all, I would stay here again and bid even less on the room, but if cleanliness is important to you, it might be good to check the room on arrival and have housekeeping make the necessary adjustment before settling in.

Happy travels!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidwestGuy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
We take pride in having some of the cleanest hotel rooms in the city. We did not receive a complaint during this guest's stay and leaving a guest in a less than perfect room would never be acceptable to us. It's unfortunate that we were not made aware of the situation, as we could have ensured an enjoyable stay for this guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton
Level Contributor
135 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Probably my fifth stay at this wonderful art deco gem. Rooms are large, baths small. Very comfortable bed and excellent media center. Hotel is a bargain at $89 AAA. Restaurant is outstanding. Good menu and value.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlsonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
157 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

A very nice hotel. 20 blocks west of river so the shuttle is important - and very good and responsive. Rooms are comfortable. Restaurants are a shuttle ride away.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VanVlietTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Ambassador. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We've stayed here several times, each experience less enjoyable than the previous. I'm done with this place. The rooms are small, closetless and the walls are tissue thin. For the price you pay (and it's NOT cheap) I expect certain level of service and amenities. Not worth the out of the way location (in a not terrific part of Milwaukee).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjossart, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
We pride ourselves on delivering award-winning customer service and exceeding guest expectations. Please know we have no complaints on file during your recent visits to the hotel. Nonetheless, the hotel's General Manager is anxious to hear about your experiences, as he would like to remedy the situation to your satisfaction as soon as possible. Thank you for your business and for your post. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#4 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,573 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#2 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: 2308 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#10 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#16 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A shining example of true Art Deco style, the Ambassador Hotel provides an urban oasis near the heart of downtown Milwaukee. Discover a remarkable blend of modern amenities and 1920's Art Deco design. From the original marble floors and bronze elevator doors to the ornate plasterwork, every detail of the Ambassador Hotel is a testament to the bold beauty of Art Deco. Our spacious guest rooms share the same level of sophisticated decor. Guests enjoy luxurious bedding, HD smart elevisions and complimentary Internet access. Savor sumptuous global American cuisine in an upscale yet casual atmosphere at Envoy Restaurant & Lounge. Chef Michael Long crafts globally inspired innovative dishes made using fresh, local ingredients. But first, work up an appetite with a visit to our well-equipped fitness center that features cardio equipment with individual TV screens. Ready to explore all that downtown Milwaukee has to offer? Our complimentary shuttle service provides front door, red carpet service. Host your next social gathering in our Art Deco designed Embassy Room or host a corporate meeting that takes advantage of state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment in our Attache' Room. The Ambassador Hotel offers a variety of intimate event venues that can comfortably accommodate 20 to 80 people. Perfectly located on the west side of downtown Milwaukee near the Marquette University campus, our stylish hotel offers the perfect base for exploring the best attractions in the city. Catch a ball at a Milwaukee Brewers baseball game under Miller Park's retractable dome, attend a show in the Milwaukee Theatre District, tour the Miller Brewery or explore the Harley-Davidson Museum. If you have any questions about area attractions or need assistance arranging tours, please don't hesitate to ask our Guest Experience Manager. Reserve a room at the Ambassador Hotel during your next visit to Milwaukee and experience legendary customer service in extraordinary Art Deco style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing