We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A steaklovers dream” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Milwaukee Steakhouse

Milwaukee Steakhouse
Ranked #158 of 1,502 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A steaklovers dream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Good old school type steak house. From the warm from the oven bread, nice little relish tray, to the entrees that actually include sides (so many places are ala carte these days) this was a really good experience. Service was attentive, but not overboard.

My husband, the carnivore, who usually enjoys a good charred steak was even happy with his medium steal - cause they seer the bleepers out of it.

A particularly cool feature of this place was the art, which are all photos on canvas of Milwaukee's jewels. I like the homage to our fantastic home town.

The one disappoint was the desserts, they seemed really ho=hum. I also find it quite odd that they package up take home food in plastic bags, that was a turn off.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CeeTeeCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaBorda, Public Relations Manager at Milwaukee Steakhouse, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you and your husband were pleased with the steaks you ordered. Please know that we always welcome comments on how to improve what we serve. Your thoughts will be taken into consideration. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    23
    5
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartland, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would not go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Because of all the great reviews I read I thought this would be a great place to get a steak. I never write reviews, in fact this is my first. Our meal from beginning to end was entirely too salty. We left the restaurant an hour ago and I still can't get the taste of salt out of my mouth. The soup was inedible and my date had to trade it for a salad. The mashed potato's were good but the gravy was pure salt. And last but not least the juice the steak was served in was again way too salty. I could not even taste the steak due to the saltiness of the juice. The meal was $124.00 and for my money Texas Roadhouse would have been 100 times better. I hope this was some kind of fluke but I will never find out. The saving grace for the evening was the server was extremely pleasant and the service was good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaBorda, Public Relations Manager at Milwaukee Steakhouse, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Milwaukee Steakhouse. I am very sorry to hear of the experience you had while dining with us. Please rest assure that we do all we can to make sure you are happy with everything you order. We take reviews such as this one to heart and try to better ourselves from it. Thank you kindly and again, we apologize for your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Now in my top 3 steakhouses!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were there last night for his birthday. He ordered the 16oz filet, I had the 8oz filet Oscar style. Both steaks were amazingly tender and cooked to perfection (we ordered medium rare plus) with a nice charred outside without the taste of char, which could also be because the steaks are served sitting in their own delicious au jus with buttered mushrooms. Yum!
Our garlic bread app and starter salads were simple but good. Our martinis were perfectly dirty.
Great service. Excellent value (it's always nice when the price of the steak includes starters and a side, which is uncommon in newer steakhouses).
My husband was formerly a Coerper's fan but said this was way better and actually bumped Coerper's down on his list.
We'll be back again soon!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jjrtp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaBorda, Public Relations Manager at Milwaukee Steakhouse, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear that you and your husband were satisfied with your meal. Please be sure to join us again soon! Once again, thank you and a happy (but belated) birthday to your husband.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
301 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Always Excellent Meat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Consistently excellent steak; not cheap but worth it; casual or formal - your choice as anything goes; make reservations during prime times

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaBorda, Public Relations Manager at Milwaukee Steakhouse, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank You! We are very pleased you enjoyed your meal with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Fresh ingredient, delicious preparation and professional presentation. Water, cocktails, relish tray, bread, salad, stuffed mushrooms, shrimp and steak was all perfect. Thanks to our server Wendy who is a pro.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiquitaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaBorda, Public Relations Manager at Milwaukee Steakhouse, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Steakhouse back in May. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself while dining with us. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milwaukee Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Milwaukee Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing