We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value, BEAUTIFUL room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #18 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Rock Hill, SC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent value, BEAUTIFUL room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2009

I cannot say enough about this hotel; great downtown location and wonderful rooms. Look for this property on Hotwire; I got this room for less than $70 per night. Residence Inn is a good brand, but the Milwaukee Downtown property is truly excellent.

Note: Odd numbered rooms have a view of the Milwaukee River.

Also, Mo's Irish Pub, Cucina and Steakhouse are across the street; great food.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristi11876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    158
    37
    13
    4
See reviews for
92
146
17
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marquette, MI
Level Contributor
276 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2009

We stayed here in a 2 bedroom suite that we shared with another couple. We just wanted to visit Milwaukee and see the art museum. We loved this place! The suite was very large and comfortable. Each couple had their own bathroom. We had a large living area with a small kitchen (but quite adequate). The staff were especially nice and fun. The location is wonderul for just parking your car and walking everywhere. We walked to art museum (a must see), many restaurants around and of course bars (hey, it's Wisconsin!). We walked down to Historic Third District and really like that area. We will definately be back to Milwaukee and will ceertainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizardMarquette_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2009

We headed off to Milwaukee for Valentines Weekend and I booked this Residence Inn for the Friday and Saturday night. Very pleased with the room and its amenities even down to the popcorn. Bed was comfortable, TV and Lounge are fit the bill and bathroom OK if not a little small but this was offset with the large vanity unit outside the bathroom.
It is the first time I have stayed in this brand and it was good. The breakfast was well supplied and the staff friendly. Fintess and Business centre, again not large but did the job. For the price I paid and its location I didn't have any complaints during my stay.

Let me however give the readers some food for thought....Remember your key card if you are going out onto the riverwalk, if you smoke or want to take in the views. This also applies to the business centre. Get to breakfast early on a Sunday, the place goes from quiet to busy in a NY minute. The parking is overpriced compaired to lots nearby and REMEMBER the card with the bar code for the parking lot. It is required for in/out and using the elevator! This was not made clear.
The last point is my Card was debited for $40 which I presumed was for incidentals (eg parking) and on check out the card was debited for the two night parking also. I thought the original amount was going to be refunded.

One week after emailing Marriot customer services there is still no answer to the Curious Case of the Credit Card Charges.............Failing that I would recommend to a friend on the grounds they check their card statements!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spiderpig41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2009

Checkin was quick and easy, moved our car from the front driveway to the heated garage about a block away (cheaper parking than other hotels I researched). Got an 'upgrade' to river view room. The room itself was very large, high ceilings, very clean. Girlfriend appreciated the candy dish by the sofa. We could even see down the street to lake michigan (7th floor). Wireless internet in rooms was free and connection was fast (no password needed, very nice).
Location was exactly where I wanted, walking distance to bars and restaurants I had planned to visit. Right on the river walk (probably nicer in summer but winter was still fun).
Concierge suggested a diner for brunch as we had slept passed the free breakfast, exactly what we wanted.
Overall a great value and would be perfect for extended stay (room has kitchen/utensils) or as we did a one night trip.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingherroncom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2009

I had no expectations for this hotel as I got a great deal on hotwire... $54 per night.

We arrived late at night and check in was easy with a friendly gentleman.

The room was very spacious with a full kitchen, two bar stools, lounge, large flat screen tv, bed, closet, bathroom. Free wireless internet.

We called the front desk for recomendations on where to get a bite to eat and menu's for local delivery places were brought to the room.

The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The tv had many channels.

The bathroom was clean, shower good, towels plush.

The breakfast buffet had everything to get you going in the morning.

This was the most fantastic value for money.

Great stay!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TheHuckleberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2008

This is such an awesome hotel with great staff, clean rooms and real nice views, decent price...

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank TriptravelerUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2008

I had the occassion to stay at this hotel for one evening. The hotel was once a Gimbel's department store and the cavernous rooms feature 14 foot ceilings. My room overlooked the Milwaukee River with a view of Lake Michigan. Rooms also feature 50" plasma tv's, a well stocked complimentary hot breakfast buffet. The staff was extremely courteous and professional. I rented a conference room and requested a speaker phone and it arrived within 5 minutes. Try John Hawk's pub for a drink (1 block), with great blues and jazz over the sound system and Mo's Steakhouse for dinner. Call for res. (1/2 block.) Highly recommended!!! ( I travel 20-30 weeks a year.)

  • Liked — room comfort, staff
  • Disliked — parking may be difficult for seniors
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#19 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#17 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 648 N Plankinton Ave, 648 N. Plankinton Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203-2900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#12 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#17 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the historic Marshall Fields building, the Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown blends old-world splendor with modern amenities. Recently renovated, our downtown Milwaukee hotel is an all-suites hotel offering an incredible location. We're connected to the Shops of Grand Avenue and within walking distance to Midwest Airlines Center, the theatre district and Bradley Center. Whether relocating to Milwaukee or looking for a Milwaukee extended-stay hotel, you'll feel right at home. Choose from studio, one- or two-bedroom suites with full kitchens, luxurious bedding, flat-screen TV, wireless Internet, and separate living areas. At any time, visit our market, business center, and fitness center, all open 24-hours. Enjoy a complimentary daily breakfast buffet and social hour with food and beverages (Mon-Wed). Surrounded by many businesses and cultural attractions, the Residence Inn offers first-class service and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing