We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“First time in Milwaukee, great hotel to stay in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
miami,FL,USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First time in Milwaukee, great hotel to stay in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I stayed during 4 night for Summerfest, the hotel was sold out, and they gave me an updated suite as an elite gold member, corner view high ceilings, with a great riverview view, I was in the 5th floor the hotel is really big and nice, and the noise of the train tracks and boats didn't bother .
the breakfast was really good, the service and the people attending were very professional and nice. the location of this hotel was awesome, we walked everyday to summerfest 1 mile walk great excersize. great time, the lobby had a nice tv area where we were able to watch the FIFA soccer games, the service of the front desk was really god they were able tio get us taxis and make sure to get us other taxi to pick us up from The horny Goat which is a great restaurant. the location is very good you could walk thru inside the buildings to the mall, and avoid the noise of the traffic, I went while it was hot. I recommend this hotel because of the location and service.

Room Tip: go in a higher floor to avoid any train or traffic noise, it didn't bother us but some people ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    149
    33
    12
    3
See reviews for
84
137
17
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My gf and I went here in January to enjoy a weekend stay in Milwaukee. I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of space in the room (Studio, 1 King Bed With Sofabed). The kitchenette in the room was convenient and the view of the river closeby was fantastic too. There are enough restaurant and bars nearby to visit as well as the mall. Overall this is a great place for the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We just returned from our 2 night stay here and were really happy we chose this place, the room was very clean, we had no problems with noise, we had a river view room on the 6th floor where we could also see some of the lake, the kitchen in the room was very convenient and the buffet breakfast was good, the location was perfect, we walked to everything and never took our car out of the garage. The bathroom could use some updating, there was a crack in the sink, and the towels are very thin and scratchy, but overall I do recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Just back from staying here for a girls trip to Summerfest. Hotel is very clean. Bed was comfortable. The shower was very nice as were the fluffy towels. It was nice that the sink area was separate from bathroom so 1 could get ready while other showering--nice Paul Mitchell products too. Full size fridge wasn't needed for nite but handy to have. Breakfast was crowded even with some taking it back to the room. Good selection altho it was going quickly due to the holiday crowd. Some noise could be heard down the hall but not too much. The extra high ceilings give the room a more spacious feel. Parking is $15/24hrs in garage directly across the street. Friendly staff. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Also, walkable to fest and other downtown locations.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cdwchgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

For our son's wedding in Milwaukee, we needed about 15 rooms for out-of-town guests. Residence Inn's sales staff was extremely accommodating, per-room group price was better than just about any in or around downtown, rooms were big, sales staff made adjustments without complaint in run up to the event ... a very positive experience and I would recommend to anyone needing a group rate and home for a family event. We will visit Milwaukee often in the future, and will certainly consider the Residence Inn for our own weekend stays.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayWeiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
146 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

For the most part, a wonderful hotel in a great location, better than many of the higher end hotels with respect to both. Large spacious rooms with wonderful windows. Air conditioning was quiet and worked great. Breakfast was nicer than many other Residence Inns. Did not get to enjoy the evening receptions. My only complaints are minor. My Marriott elite status wasn't recognized, not even a bottle of water. Did not get a room upgrade or a river view. Either would have been appreciated. The walls are very thin, so previous reviewer must have had quiet neighbors. I heard every single word of the adjoining room's TV as if it were in my own room. Same for the showers and sinks. It sounded as if it were in my own room. I did not appreciate this as I was here to work and needed to be up at 5A and had a very hard time sleeping with all the adjacent noise. Passes to the adjacent Planet Fitness would have been nice as the hotel exercise room is very spartan.

Room Tip: River view would be preferred
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fcrane35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed at the Residence Inn Downtown Milwaukee for a week in June, and my family and I were pleasantly surprised. The 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite was very spacious and clean. Not sure why the large bedrooms didn't have king beds rather than queens though. They do have king-bedded rooms, just not in the 2-bedroom suites. That was definitely a minus. Large living room. Kitchen did not have pots and pans which are only available from the front desk if you ask.

The parking garage was not that easy to access as you have to walk out of the hotel lobby through another common lobby shared by the hotel and a business, then it's an elevator ride down to the underground parking. Once you get used to it, it's quite convenient and very secure. The complimentary breakfast was edible - typical Residence Inn fare. Self-service laundry and an adequate exercise room are hidden away on the sixth floor.

The hotel is located right on the river, and is close to several of the city's attractions. The charming Milwaukee Public Market, superb Milwaukee Art Museum, and Riverwalk are all close by.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCforFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andi S, General Manager at Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review in regards to your recent stay at the Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown.

We appreciate your feedback and have notified the proper departments.

We hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Milwaukee.


Sincerely,
Andi Salmon
General Manager
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown
asalmon@csmcorp.net
414-289-3501
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#18 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 1,248 reviews
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#17 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#4 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 648 N Plankinton Ave, 648 N. Plankinton Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203-2900
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#12 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#17 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the historic Marshall Fields building, the Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown blends old-world splendor with modern amenities. Recently renovated, our downtown Milwaukee hotel is an all-suites hotel offering an incredible location. We're connected to the Shops of Grand Avenue and within walking distance to Midwest Airlines Center, the theatre district and Bradley Center. Whether relocating to Milwaukee or looking for a Milwaukee extended-stay hotel, you'll feel right at home. Choose from studio, one- or two-bedroom suites with full kitchens, luxurious bedding, flat-screen TV, wireless Internet, and separate living areas. At any time, visit our market, business center, and fitness center, all open 24-hours. Enjoy a complimentary daily breakfast buffet and social hour with food and beverages (Mon-Wed). Surrounded by many businesses and cultural attractions, the Residence Inn offers first-class service and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing