We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location-comfortable beds” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Freeport, Illinois
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location-comfortable beds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Next to the river within walking distance to fine dining. Lot's of shopping without going outside! The suite was comfortable and well maintained. The underground parking was especially nice on the very cold weekend. Plenty of choices on the breakfast buffet, great coffee and wait staff. Great value!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkcollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    154
    36
    12
    3
See reviews for
89
141
17
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
milwaukee, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

This hotel is tucked away in downtown Milwaukee, and it's a gem.
Beautiful lobby, everyone was so accommodating from the Valet guy to the Registration person, to my waitress, Selena.
The cooked-to-order breakfast was also delicious.
My room had this high ceiling with floor to ceiling windows, a view of Lake Michigan, and the Calatrava Art Museum (if in Milwaukee, that has to be one of your stops, along with ComedySportz if you like clean comedy) full kitchen, couch, and really comfortable bed.
I am going to recommend it to my friends (and enemies) who are coming to Milwaukee.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

My production crew and I stayed here on one of the coldest days of the year and were warmed by the unique beauty of this gracious hotel. The staff was friendly and perceptive. They granted us extra time to manage our cumbersome equipment, a process that was made more complex by the cold. They recommended a restaurant that was one of the best, affordable and authentic dining experiences ever. The adjacent River Walk is beautiful. This Residence Inn is also near the Milwaukee Public Market [a MUST GO place], putting it for me in the beating heart of a hip and historic city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Been_There150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed here for a family weekend (weekend after Christmas). Hotel was nice...building used to be the old Marshall Fields I believe. Hotel was clean but oh my gosh was it warm. The thermostat turned down did not help. I am not sure what they can even do about this but plan wardrobe accordingly. One complaint is housekeeping did not show up until after 4 which was really inconvenient. Location was good...some downtown shopping. Walked to restaurants and bars. Staff was very nice including breakfast staff. I enjoyed my stay and was a good value for the price we paid.

Room Tip: I would try to stay on a lower floor in the winter due to the temp. It got so hot in our room even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlmIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Before booking this hotel, check out the shows playing at the next door Riverside Theatre. It'll make all the difference. (Also note right off the bat that this hotel does not have a pool.) We stayed here two nights when a very rowdy band was playing at the Riverside and the hotel crowd was much the same - people throwing up in the bathrooms, broken glass, yelling, etc. The management seemed to regret the crowd as much as the other travelers, but not much they could do. (BTW, I just asked my daughter if she wanted to add anything to this review and she said "You mean the really loud place?")
The other irritating thing is that I was told on the phone (4 month prior to my stay) that they did not offer rollaways, yet when I got there I saw several of them which the manager told me they did indeed have, but they were reserved and I couldn't have one. We did use the foldout sofa but the mattress was dirty. My parents stayed as well and their room was cleaner except for the cigarette burns on the carpet.
On the upside, the hotel is charming, parking was acceptable and felt secure (card entry garage - get your access card after checking in). The room was a good size and had a full kitchen, which we did not use. They had a mini market in the hotel which had snacks and ice cream.
Location was convenient to the nearly empty Grand Ave mall across the street and walkable to John Hawks Pub for a good dinner. The view from the room was of the city/freeway but it was in the distance so minimally scenic and not loud at all. Breakfast was good, several hot items and make your own waffle with toppings. Front desk staff was pleasant as was the housekeeping staff, with the exception that our room wasn't cleaned until 4pm on our second day and the front desk just said "Well, we were booked last night so it'll be a while" No apology.
If we need to be downtown again we would consider giving this hotel another chance but I would certainly check the showings at the Riverside venue first.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KikisDeliveryService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed at the Residence Inn for a weekend getaway and were impressed with the location and quality of the rooms. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. The hotel even had easy to access HEATED parking under the building, which was nice on a cold winter day.

The breakfast buffet was good and had plenty of items for our family.

Only complaint, the sheets on the beds weren't the highest quality and that’s a bit of a pet peeve of mine.

The staff was very polite and professional.

Room Tip: Check out the Milwaukee Public Market which was just two blocks down the street. It’s a great place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

It was a place wherein you can call it your home, big rooms, nice area , the ambience is so good. I came back twice in the hotel and will come back again if I need to go to Milwaukee. I will not reconsider another hotel...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank randy661966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#15 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#19 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 648 N Plankinton Ave, 648 N. Plankinton Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203-2900
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#12 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#17 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the historic Marshall Fields building, the Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown blends old-world splendor with modern amenities. Recently renovated, our downtown Milwaukee hotel is an all-suites hotel offering an incredible location. We're connected to the Shops of Grand Avenue and within walking distance to Midwest Airlines Center, the theatre district and Bradley Center. Whether relocating to Milwaukee or looking for a Milwaukee extended-stay hotel, you'll feel right at home. Choose from studio, one- or two-bedroom suites with full kitchens, luxurious bedding, flat-screen TV, wireless Internet, and separate living areas. At any time, visit our market, business center, and fitness center, all open 24-hours. Enjoy a complimentary daily breakfast buffet and social hour with food and beverages (Mon-Wed). Surrounded by many businesses and cultural attractions, the Residence Inn offers first-class service and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing