We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2013

As mentioned in other reviews, the location of this hotel is about as good as it gets in Milwaukee....Literally walking distance from all of the downtown culture.

Rooms are nice and clean, and appear to be about 10yrs old....Solid 3.5 star hotel in my book

Room Tip: There is plenty of free, street parking...don't pay for valet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BfromChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 485 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

Excellant location to all downtown venus, as well as all of the Resturants in the area. Walking distane to everything that is needed, even a shopping mall. Public transpertation is on almost every corner. Nice and clean downtown area.

Room Tip: any room will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travel1962-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We were in town for the OSU basketball game and booked a night here, so glad we did. They upgraded us to a one bedroom, the high ceilings, huge windows overlook kin the river and city were great. Perfect location and very friendly staff. We will book here for our next trip to Milwaukee for sure.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank PizzamanMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Great location, good breakfast, hospitable staff. In an older very well maintained building with lots of charm. The high ceilings in the rooms were a great feature. Within walking distance of the beautiful riverwalk as well as many restaurants and nightspots.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

excellent downtown location with nice view of the river. Clean, large room with high ceilings. Convenient to convention center and many restaurants. Short cab ride from airport. Small kitchen was an added convenience. Free breakfast was fine. Very thin mattress on sofa bed is my only complaint.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank cuatroninas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I was really surprised by this hotel. It is in the Old Gimbels department store, so it has that grand old feel. The location is really nice, right along the river and great views to boot. You can go right out the back door of the hotal to get to the river esplanade.
Like all residence inns, complimentary wifi and breakfast. However, I must say the Wifi worked great and excellent speed, this is highly unusal nowadays and they should be commended. I have stayed at other places recently where the complimentary wifi was so slow I would tether my computer to my 4G phone instead. Absolutely NOT the case here
Exercise room was ok, not great. Would be awesome if it had a pool

Room Tip: Get a river view if you can, was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgold10529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Travelled to Milwaukee for the first time for a 3-day business trip. Hotel was the perfect location! Right on the river walk! Staff was very helpful and friendly, especially Jordan. He always greeted us with a smile and helped with directions to nearby restaurants. Another staff member arranged for a van to pick us up and take us to a nearby steakhouse. Clean hotel with great views of the river. Good breakfast selections.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candacesue82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#19 of 56 in Milwaukee
287 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 648 N Plankinton Ave, 648 N. Plankinton Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203-2900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#12 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#17 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range: $129 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the historic Marshall Fields building, the Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown blends old-world splendor with modern amenities. Recently renovated, our downtown Milwaukee hotel is an all-suites hotel offering an incredible location. We're connected to the Shops of Grand Avenue and within walking distance to Midwest Airlines Center, the theatre district and Bradley Center. Whether relocating to Milwaukee or looking for a Milwaukee extended-stay hotel, you'll feel right at home. Choose from studio, one- or two-bedroom suites with full kitchens, luxurious bedding, flat-screen TV, wireless Internet, and separate living areas. At any time, visit our market, business center, and fitness center, all open 24-hours. Enjoy a complimentary daily breakfast buffet and social hour with food and beverages (Mon-Wed). Surrounded by many businesses and cultural attractions, the Residence Inn offers first-class service and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing