We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One night stay”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Great location, good breakfast, hospitable staff. In an older very well maintained building with lots of charm. The high ceilings in the rooms were a great feature. Within walking distance of the beautiful riverwalk as well as many restaurants and nightspots.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    159
    37
    13
    4
See reviews for
96
149
17
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

excellent downtown location with nice view of the river. Clean, large room with high ceilings. Convenient to convention center and many restaurants. Short cab ride from airport. Small kitchen was an added convenience. Free breakfast was fine. Very thin mattress on sofa bed is my only complaint.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank cuatroninas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, or
Level Contributor
193 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I was really surprised by this hotel. It is in the Old Gimbels department store, so it has that grand old feel. The location is really nice, right along the river and great views to boot. You can go right out the back door of the hotal to get to the river esplanade.
Like all residence inns, complimentary wifi and breakfast. However, I must say the Wifi worked great and excellent speed, this is highly unusal nowadays and they should be commended. I have stayed at other places recently where the complimentary wifi was so slow I would tether my computer to my 4G phone instead. Absolutely NOT the case here
Exercise room was ok, not great. Would be awesome if it had a pool

Room Tip: Get a river view if you can, was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgold10529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Travelled to Milwaukee for the first time for a 3-day business trip. Hotel was the perfect location! Right on the river walk! Staff was very helpful and friendly, especially Jordan. He always greeted us with a smile and helped with directions to nearby restaurants. Another staff member arranged for a van to pick us up and take us to a nearby steakhouse. Clean hotel with great views of the river. Good breakfast selections.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candacesue82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethalto
Level Contributor
160 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here last weekend and loved it. Room was huge with a King size bed that looked so small because room was so large. Our room overlooked the Riverwalk, beautiful at night, the view was terrific. We were on the 7th floor, elevators very efficient. Breakfast good in morning, staff all very friendly and willing to do whatever was needed to make our stay great. We visited the happy hour once for about 5 minutes while we were here, Ok, but we wanted t visit one of the Brewery restaurants. Would gladly stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardzfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here last weekend and loved it. It was roomy and light. The bed was comfortable and the views from the room could not be beat. We had a corner room on the 7th floor with a great view of the river and a far view of the art museum by the lake. Really enjoyed the area and being able to walk to restaurants and along the river.
The staff was friendly and welcoming. We did not take advantage of the happy hour or evening meal but it is a very nice perk. Breakfast was good although the line does back up at the waffle maker.
I'd stay here again gladly!

Room Tip: The corner room on the 7th floor had great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjsTwinCities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terryville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights while on business. The location is within walking distance to many different restaurants along the canal. Parking is located underground and is very safe. Your roomkey is required to enter and exit the building. Breakfast and happy hour were great and free! The rooms were very nice and large.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upgrade when you check in. The manager at the front desk was very willing to help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 550Jefro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,834 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#15 of 56 in Milwaukee
266 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 648 N Plankinton Ave, 648 N. Plankinton Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203-2900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#12 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#17 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the historic Marshall Fields building, the Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown blends old-world splendor with modern amenities. Recently renovated, our downtown Milwaukee hotel is an all-suites hotel offering an incredible location. We're connected to the Shops of Grand Avenue and within walking distance to Midwest Airlines Center, the theatre district and Bradley Center. Whether relocating to Milwaukee or looking for a Milwaukee extended-stay hotel, you'll feel right at home. Choose from studio, one- or two-bedroom suites with full kitchens, luxurious bedding, flat-screen TV, wireless Internet, and separate living areas. At any time, visit our market, business center, and fitness center, all open 24-hours. Enjoy a complimentary daily breakfast buffet and social hour with food and beverages (Mon-Wed). Surrounded by many businesses and cultural attractions, the Residence Inn offers first-class service and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing