We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   648 North Plankinton Avenue, 648 N. Plankinton Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel is located on the Riverwalk,beautiful view of the water. The inside maintained the old world beauty with modern upgrades. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food was good it included wine or beer. It is best to buy the parking package, it is located under the hotel so weather is no problem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We read the reviews of this property and were convinced to try it. We were not disappointed. We had a 1 bedroom suite overlooking Wisconsin Avenue with the beautiful Milwaukee Art Museum in the distance. Although the weather was very cold and windy, we were within easy walking distance to the Historic Third Ward. We enjoyed lunch at the huge Public Market and dinner at our favorite Milwaukee restaurant, Karl Ratzsch's. The Residence Inn staff was very friendly and the buffet breakfast was delicious. We will definitely return in warmer weather.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetogo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My best friend and I both came to milwaukee to attend a concert so we needed a hotel in the downtown area. This location was perfect in every way! The rooms were far superior to every expectation I had, as a Marriott member I am used to having fine service and experience. This staff took the experience and service to a new level. Sou, who was still training, mandy and Kim were all helpful, professional and sincere in there desire to help and accommodate! I could go on forever about my experience, but I'll end with saying that this location has pleased me to no end. Whether it be the fully stocked kitchens, ornately decorated rooms, beds or staff this location is the perfect choice for any traveler visiting the downtown Milwaukee area!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gnrguitar1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Had a "King Studio" room that was actually pretty good sized, and the 14'+ ceiling height made it seem even larger. it was clean, quiet, and priced right. The only quirk of this place is that the parking facilities are located about 75 yards away, and you're forced to park on the upper deck of a ramp. Your car is out in the weather. It was near zero degrees, so the walk to the ramp wasn't pleasant, but we would stay here again.

Room Tip: No real need for anything larger than the King Studio if you're a couple or traveling solo - sav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreginIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hotel is located in the historic Gimbels Department store building downtown, with spacious rooms, 18 foot ceilings with easy parking and central to all downtown activities. The room amenities for the price were a great value, and quite frankly unless you want an old style experience like the Pfister, then there is nothing really else you need. A must stay for business or pleasure

Room Tip: request upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

As a frequent traveler to Milwaukee for business purposes, I would definitely recommend this hotel primarily because of its central downtown location, walking distance to many restaurants, free morning breakfast buffet and overall size/cleanliness of rooms. But most importantly, I select this hotel because of the underground parking garage access with security - you don't have to clear the snow off of the car in the mornings (and in Milwaukee, that can be priceless!) and a woman travelling alone, I feel very safe.

Notes: Call ahead on busy days to secure parking in the underground parking garage vs. the overflow lot across the street (in most cases they are accomodating for Marriott Rewards members).

Also, two different key cards are required - one for the room, one for the garage. I sometimes forget one key card, thus not allowing me access to garage.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lobby/entrance circle (vs. street side) for a quiet evening. Also, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VABeerLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mia B, Manager at Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review. We do have a safe and secure location for those who might be traveling alone. The views from our city view suites are very nice. All of our rooms have large picture windows and the location is ideal for a weekend getaway, vacation spot to visit Milwaukee, business travel and small meetings. We hope to see you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel is tremendous. We have stayed there many times and will keep coming back because it has a great location. Also the ambience is like one I have never seen because it once was a department store and thus has some enormous windows and exquisite floor plan. The happy hour Monday through Thursday is great. The free breakfast in the morning is very ample with wonderful selections. The staff is attentive professional and helpful. We simply would not stay anywhere else if we are going to downtown Milwaukee.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imanaveragejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mia B, Manager at Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are very glad to have you return back to our property. We look forward to when you return again. You have a choice to stay anywhere and returning back says alot about our wonderful staff and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#4 of 53 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#3 of 53 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#31 of 53 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 648 North Plankinton Avenue, 648 N. Plankinton Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#12 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#17 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the historic Marshall Fields building, the Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown blends old-world splendor with modern amenities. Recently renovated, our downtown Milwaukee hotel is an all-suites hotel offering an incredible location. We're connected to the Shops of Grand Avenue and within walking distance to Midwest Airlines Center, the theatre district and Bradley Center. Whether relocating to Milwaukee or looking for a Milwaukee extended-stay hotel, you'll feel right at home. Choose from studio, one- or two-bedroom suites with full kitchens, luxurious bedding, flat-screen TV, wireless Internet, and separate living areas. At any time, visit our market, business center, and fitness center, all open 24-hours. Enjoy a complimentary daily breakfast buffet and social hour with food and beverages (Mon-Wed). Surrounded by many businesses and cultural attractions, the Residence Inn offers first-class service and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing