We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My First Negative Review - Very poor service and no response from the owners” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport
Ranked #30 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My First Negative Review - Very poor service and no response from the owners”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I booked this hotel to be near the airport for a very early flight. My AMEX reservation system and contract guarantee the room with my credit card (and they will charge me the full amount if I do not show up). I am also a gold Priority Club Member. After a long drive I arrived at the hotel only to be informed that they had "overbooked" and had a room for me at a Holiday Inn Express (see above about the 'contract'). Even though they had my contact information I received no phone call. The desk person told me the Holiday Inn Express was "a few minutes away." It was 30 minutes away. I asked that I be called by the owner. At this point, no phone call. I ended up never getting to sleep at all and find this completely unacceptable. Am I getting any compensation for my time due to the default of the contract with this hotel? I highly doubt it. I find it disappointing that IHG allows this owner to maintain one of their franchise.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Sean D,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Member and for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    56
    31
    19
    9
See reviews for
41
36
14
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This hotel is very convenient for my family. My mom lives in a senior center near by. We stayed on July 3rd and were pleased with everything. Restaurant, staff, pool....it was all good. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jjkard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Okay, so a hotel right by the airport should have be thing going for it, it's close by the airport so their shuttle service should be great! And yes, this hotel's shuttle service was pretty good. The van itself was a lil rugged and beat up, but it got me there and they picked me up from the airport at midnight. Thumbs up there. The room was v clean and the king size room was great. Biggest disappointment was the curtains didn't close and the solitary street light shone straight into my room - v annoying. Breakfast was good, not hearty, but you get what you pay for. And given that, I paid a good tip for the great service from the dining staff - excellent and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofixena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I live only a mile away from this property. I was "forced" to stay here because my AC went out, it was 104 degrees outside & no repair person could come for days. I had to find a nice affordable place that would allow me to bring my well behaved 45 lb dog with me. The staff were friendly and professional, the room was clean, cool, quiet, nicely decorated and well appointed The bed was super comfy too. They also have a nice swimming pool & a good bar/restaurant. I may just take some more micro-mini vacations here. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdieMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mediapolis, IA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed two nights in this hotel. The property was beautiful. Very clean rooms and hallways. Nice pool and restaraunt/lounge. Convenient location. Friendly staff. Large free parking lots.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 216 & 214. Located directly above the exhaust vent for the pool water heater. When...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mepo_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland Center, wi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The hotel is nice, the rooms are nice, the location is close to every thing I needed. The food was good. But the very best part of staying at this hotel is the staff. They are excellant, they respond to any request, they are helpful and they always smile. Stayed there two weeks for work and just really enjoyed everything about this place......

Room Tip: I did not use a spa if there was one, and breakfast was in the restaurant.......can't make the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DPnMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The location couldn't be better. Even though the entire Milwaukee area interstate system is under construction the hotel is easily accessible from the major freeways and and is close by to restaurants. The airport is just around the corner as well. The staff were friendly and very accommodating. (At some points so friendly it made me feel uncomfortable) But I slept great, felt safe and will definitely stay there again if needing a hotel close to the downtown area. An added tip - if you are looking for somewhere close to Potawatomi but don't want to pay downtown prices this might just be a great solution for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dabears-mv81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Milwaukee Airport
Courtyard Milwaukee Airport
#33 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#23 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
2.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Milwaukee Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Milwaukee Airport Hotel & Conference Ctr.
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Milwaukee Airport
0.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Airport
Clarion Hotel Airport
#29 of 55 in Milwaukee
3.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport
Address: 545 W Layton Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53207-5931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NEWLY RENOVATED Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport is the finest full-service hotel in the Milwaukee airport area. Our NEW look is sure to impress, the entire hotel was updated from top to bottom! We are sure you will enjoy our upgraded furnishings, design and decor. Located just one mile from Milwaukee's General Mitchell International Airport, the Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport offers unparalleled convenience & service for all travelers. With such great amenities as 24 Hour complimentary airport shuttle service, in our new shuttle, you'll see why you have need to look anywhere else. The Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport is easily accessible from Layton Avenue to I-94 East and West, the I-894 Bypass, and Hwy. 38 (Howell Ave.), all within 3 minutes of the hotel. Travelers will not only find our airport location convenient, but The Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport is less than 10 minutes from downtown Milwaukee. This area provides great entertainment such as Miller Brewery Tours, Milwaukee Bucks NBA Basketball, the Bradley Center, the Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson museum, Henry Maier Festival Park, Potawatomi Bingo & Casino, and the Marcus Center for the Performing Arts for starters. The Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport is ideally situated to numerous corporations and business offices in the Milwaukee area. These include Rockwell Automation, Harley Davidson, General Mills, Caterpillar, Krones, Patrick Cudahy Inc., Rexnord, USBC, Signature Flight Support, General Electric, and Johnson Controls to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Milwaukee Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Milwaukee Airport Hotel Milwaukee
Milwaukee Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing