We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“GREAT ZOO!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milwaukee County Zoo

Milwaukee County Zoo
Ranked #7 of 160 things to do in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“GREAT ZOO!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Is an amazing big zoo. Strongly recommend going to it. A little pricy but worth it! Always a great zoo to come back and visit!

Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    721
    343
    97
    30
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, CT
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

It's a medium sized zoo with smaller crowds. Very low key but has everything you'd want to see. I'd rather bring a family here than somewhere like Chicago.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank loudizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Family Fun, Day or Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We went so often when the kids were little that we had a season pass. they offer kids programs throughout the year. Special evening events during the summer are always fund. We love Milwaukee Ala Carte in August. I believe there are discounts for Milwaukee County residents which makes this a very affordable family outing.

Helpful?
Thank jcaeiouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I live in Milwaukee so I pretty much go to this zoo every summer. I think if you're visiting Milwaukee, the Milwaukee County zoo is definitely a place to see. There are animals of every kind, a really good variety. There is also a petting area where there are coats and the little barn is very interesting too, you can see baby chicks and see how milk is made. The zoo was very clean and alot to see. You might spend a whole day and not cover the entire zoo, which is the best part in my opinion.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ismail E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bonobos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Every bit as nice as Chicago's Lincoln Park Zoo or Brookfield Zoo and those are world class institutions. Only Milwaukee has Bonobos (similar to Chimpanzees but they literally make love not war).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milwaukee County Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Milwaukee County Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing