We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to eat, and close to the Zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue's Egg

Blue's Egg
Ranked #5 of 1,504 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Blue's takes a fine dining approach to classic American brunch, all week long. Old World ingredients and techniques inspire modern breakfast and lunch dishes. Blue's is available for private events in the evening.
Chicago, NW burbs
Level Contributor
108 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A great place to eat, and close to the Zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

For me, this was a toss-up between 4 and 5 stars, but for what this place is, for the excellent service we received, and for the overall quality of the food, I guess 5 stars is deserving.

The place is deceivingly large (there's outside seating, the front area, as well as a back room), and was surprisingly crowded at the time we went (10am on a Tuesday) - always a good sign.

Our waiter we attentive, did an excellent job explaining the menu, answered all questions, and made a couple great suggestions.

While bringing-out our drinks, he brought a plate with butter, home-made jam, and some grapes - a nice, simple touch, that helped push this to 5 stars.

The food was excellent, with very large portions. Even though a couple orders in our group were for 'regular' fare, they were far from regular - the pancakes were huge, the extra-thick bacon was excellent, and the hash browns (a specialty) were plentiful and also delicious.

Service was pretty quick, but this isn't the kind of place you'd hit if you're in a hurry - take an extra 5-10 minutes, and enjoy your food - I know we did.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gewf631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    143
    50
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Spot.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Not only was the food good, the service was also. The host were very pretty and easy on the eyes. No complaints here. Although be sure to wait this spot is busy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
134 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“WOW!! This is a must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

It took us a while to find Blue's Egg (discovered it listed on Trip Advisor)...but, we finally found it and had no regrets. Everything was fantastic! Farm fresh eggs, fluffy blueberry pancakes with lemon sauce, crab cakes with poached eggs.... the has browns are out of this world. I was thinking how good and different can has browns be....well, let me tell you there is no comparison anywhere to these hash browns and the food at this little place in a strip mall.. They bake their own english muffins. They had specialty cookies of which we bought one each and they, too, were fantastic. Our waitress was excellent. She knew the menu inside out and was extremely helpful with suggestions. Very pleasant, cordial, etc... I would travel the 3 hours from my home to eat there again....it is that GOOD!! You will not regret stopping there on your way out of town. Excellent!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank goodboysammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stopped here on the way out of town due to the reviews on Trip Advisor and the restaurant did not disappoint! I had the Blueberry Pancakes and they were delicious! The other people in my party had the basic breakfast (eggs, meat, hash browns, etc) and the crab cakes. Both meals were excellent! I have to say the basic hash browns are the best I have EVER had! Hash browns are usually greasy but these were not and they had such great flavor. Everything we had was so good and we were stuffed when we left. We did end up getting cookies for the road which came in flavors like lemon/rosemary, maple/bacon, and triple chocolate/peanut butter. The cookies were just the right size and packed with flavor and goodness! This place is a MUST in Milwaukee!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank baileysmom1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Monkey Bread!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Be sure you get them monkey bread. It's delicious! Just about anything that was delivered to the table for our group was met with rave reviews.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elseygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue's Egg also viewed

 

Been to Blue's Egg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing