We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't know why it's so popular.”
Review of Blue's Egg

Blue's Egg
Ranked #4 of 1,520 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Blue's takes a fine dining approach to classic American brunch, all week long. Old World ingredients and techniques inspire modern breakfast and lunch dishes. Blue's is available for private events in the evening.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“I don't know why it's so popular.”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

It seems overrated. We came here on a Saturday morning and waited a long time since it was completely busy. Even though it was busy, our waiter, Justin, did a good job and was friendly. The place was clean and welcoming. We ordered 2 eggs over medium, bacon, wheat toast, a large fresh OJ, classic eggs Benedict, and a pancake for a total of $22.81 which seems pricey. The food was average. I believe we also had the hash browns which were nothing special but claimed to be great. My wife was disappointed in the eggs Benedict. Our waiter did give us fruit to eat while waiting on our order. Overall, the place seems nice but the food is not good enough or of value to come back here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vacacritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    154
    54
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Modern home cooking”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

What else can you say but outstanding in all area's. Menu selections , tastes satisfying, large portions so some to take home. Worth the wait.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jfm70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Creative, yet traditional breakfast/brunch”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

As someone who loves to dine out but doesn't always love the standard omelette and pancake options, I was very pleased with Blue's. The menu had plenty of choices, sweet and savory, some "breakfasty" and some not so much, made with fresh local ingredients. We tried their stuffed hash browns- I had the ham and cheddar, hubby had roasted mushroom with leeks. With a bowl of fresh fruit on the side, the hash browns were more than enough for a meal. They were crispy and brown, not too greasy, and the pulled ham was much more tasty than a typical ham steak would have been. Our server was very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. We will definitely return on our next trip to Milwaukee and recommend to friends in the area!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank julestravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So worth it.”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I recently had a business meeting/breakfast here and was not disappointed. I suggested it to the other two guys and it was the first visit for all three of us. The service was top notch and the food was even better. My coffee cup was never empty which is a good sign of the service. The pulled ham and homemade hashbrowns are worth the trip alone. One suggestion would be to get here before 8:30 as the wait looked pretty sizable when we left around 9:30.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IAtraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Best breakfast”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Outstanding breakfast items. Might have to wait as it's pretty popular. Food andd sevice are excellant.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue's Egg also viewed

 

Been to Blue's Egg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing