We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”

Old German Beer Hall
Ranked #55 of 1,503 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Sharpsburg, Georgia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

As others have mentioned, this restaurant offers a lunch special M-F 11A-2P whereby if you buy any HB beer, root beer, or cocktail you get a free sausage (your choice from several listed on their menu), sauerkraut, and side dish (choice of German potato salad, cabbage, or spatzle).
We followed the bartender's suggestions and got the smoked bratwurst which was very good.It was a like a long hot dog and not the large fat type of sausage. It had a little bite after the fact but the beer quenched any thirst! Three sizes of beer are offered ranging in price from about 4.00 for a 0.3L, 6.50 for a 0.5L, and 11.00 for a 1.0L (you'd best be very thirsy to order this big boy). We also got the pretzel which was huge (6.75) and the Bayerische Obatzter (Munich beer cheese spread consisting of Brie, cream cheese, and creamery butter) (3.75). With the pretzel and spread and smaller beers, our lunch bill ran around $20.00. Bartender was very friendly as were other bar patrons.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    64
    19
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Mi
Level Contributor
124 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Place -- A "Must Visit" when in Milwaukee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

While in Milwaukee, we wanted to have dinner one night at a German restaurant. Initially we were going to go to Mader's, then we saw the prices and decided that for our family of six, there had to be better (read: less expensive) alternatives! We read about the Old German Beer Hall on Tripadvisor, and upon arrival found that it was just down the block from Mader's! While the Old German Beer Hall is much less fancy than Mader's, much of the menu is similar, and it was EXCELLENT! Every entree we enjoyed was priced $10 or less, including schnitzel, sausages and smoked pork chops. And the pretzels on the appetizer menu were the best we've ever had, served with mustard and a beer-cheese dipping sauce. To keep this review reasonable in length, I won't to into too much detail on the beer, but suffice to say it all comes from Hofbrauhaus in Munich and is outstanding!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IrishAyes8490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
269 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Didn't eat here, but awesome German beers and above all, Hammerschlagen!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We ate next door at the Milwaukee Brat house but came in here to partake in a German drinking game known as Hammerschlagen. It was a fun environment and a lot of folks came in to play. It was a cool friendly environment. You purchase nails for the game from the bartender, .50ea. Play the game and loser buys a round. The decor is all very German as well as the neighborhood, I think they called it old world or something, but lots of bars and nice vibe in the heart of the city and riverwalk.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snipe49445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
151 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Backup plan was a success!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We tried to eat at Mader's for dinner on Saturday. That didnt pan out so we needed someplace else that had a German feel. We ended up at the German Beer Hall and had a riot!

The waitress was fast, very friendly and helpful. We tried sausages, pretzels and fries for our dinner. Everything was delicious!

It was fun to watch the other patrons try to hammer the nails into the log. Just a fun atmosphere and if in the area we would gladly come back!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank budbrlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Milwaukee trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

enjoyed the free lunch served between 11 -1 just had to pay for the drinks bartender was very helpful in finding directions for our next stop came back later to catch the eurocup game and the bar was packed with people would highly recommend this place coming back again next year

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old German Beer Hall also viewed

 

Been to Old German Beer Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing