We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holy "Hot Tub Time Machine!"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Milwaukee Athletic Club
Taylorville
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Holy "Hot Tub Time Machine!"”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I booked this hotel for my husband and me to stay for one night while we attended an event at Miller Park specifically because their website contains the sentence "The MAC offers an evening shuttle for guests staying in house to help them navigate the city." Valet service went smoothly (parking is $15), got to the the front desk, checked in, asked what time the shuttle would be running and got told "oh we don't have a shuttle, but there is a restaurant about 3 blocks away that you could walk to that has one." Hmm, great start. Got to our room and felt like we were in a time warp. 1980s furniture and carpet and a bathroom straight out a Mad Men episode (see my pics). Don't forget your toiletries because there is not even hair conditioner or lotion in the bathroom, just a small bottle of shampoo and body wash. Speaking of showering, the water has scorching hot bursts every now and again and if anyone else comes in and uses the sink or toilet, same thing. The funniest thing was, our cell phones would not work in this black hole, I guess because, well people in the '60's didn't have phones! We went to the rooftop for a drink and had one can of beer and one margarita which cost $12. The bar staff was cutting oranges for the evening but was eating most of them which looked very unprofessional. Next, we walked by the front desk and inquired if a taxi could be called for us later in the evening. We were told that no one was answering the phones at the taxi company, but here's the number so you can call yourself. We called twice and got right through both times. The next morning my husband called to the front desk to ask where the vending machines are. The hotel rooms are on floors 10-12, yet the soda machine is on the first floor and he had to be led there by an employee who described it as "a dungeon." I have never encountered such poor and disappointing service and would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I certainly would NOT have booked this hotel had I known about the shuttle, I just took their website as truth.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kristy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    51
    33
    19
    16
See reviews for
16
50
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel rooms are terrible, yet they charge standard rates! Stayed for 3 nights to attend a wedding. While the room was large, the AC did not work (told by mgt. it is an old building and it is what it is) the carpets are old and badly stained, and the bathroom was barely clean. The grout in all the tile is so old and dirty--it is nasty. Shower was very difficult to turn off-- the water keeps running no matter how tightly you shut it off.

The public, reception rooms are very nice! Ballroom is gorgeous and perfect for a wedding, or party. But go around the corner to the new Marriott or any of the other hotels in the area for Lodging!

Room Tip: Don't bother, spend your money at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCD0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milwaukee hotels

georgia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This beautiful historic building with lush carpets and lobbies led the way to average but very clean and comfortable basic hotel rooms. We enjoyed our stay here and were able to walk just a few blocks to the water front in the historic 3rd ward to great restaurants and an evening stroll along the waterfront. There was a band playing in one of the lobbies and as a guest we were able to use all of the athletic facilities. I would definately recommend this hotel to those who want to explore the city and walk to the water front and are not very picky about having a modern hotel room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollymc028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Throughout the week, the Koss Lunar Series was being promoted as a free Friday night concert with a view at the top of the Milwaukee Athletic Club. It was advertised in the Journal Sentinel, the Shepard Express, Koss Corp ( the sponsor), Newaukee.com to name a few as an event free and open to the public. The Alex Wilson Band ( Blues) was performing tonight. The public started showing up at the event only to be stopped by a person and told to leave. No explanation. The staff at the MAC front desk were directing people to the event. And the manager on the roof was sending the public away! The event was not overcrowded. When I inquired a the front desk, they were clueless. We left and I called and asked to talk to the manager to express my disappointment. The clerk would not do so. The response was that all of the sponsors and free advertising they received all week long got it wrong and they were clueless until tonight. Really? Hard to believe. Someone wanted this changed to a members only exclusive after the fact. This event could have been an opportunity to attract new members. Instead management just told people to leave this event immediately. I would not recommend supporting this club in any manner. There are plenty of other venues that have better customer service. As far as an opportunity to hear Alex Wilson- we'll see him at Summerfest- with happy people who have manners and good customer service skills.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyHomeMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is a hidden gem of a place: minutes from most attractions, a beautifully restored building right in the middle of the downtown area. Although at first glance it appears it is only open to "members", anyone can book a room for the night (often around $100 for a double).
The lobby is beautiful and first class. It offers free coffee 24hours (always a nice touch!)

The rooms themselves (and the hallways) are a bit dated. They look and feel a bit like a time warp to the 80s. No complaints on the cleanliness, but they do feel a bit "industrial", particularly the bathroom. But for a night or two in downtown Milwaukee (and at this price!), this is certainly not a cause for complaint.

One note of caution as well, the walls are EXTREMELY thin. Less than 10 minutes after we entered the room, we made the unfortunate discovery that we had neighbors on both sides of us. We could hear both rooms' televisions and phone calls. Granted, this could be a bad combination of circumstances, but with noisier neighbors, this could have been a problem.

Overall, this is a great hidden gem in the middle of Milwaukee. There are a few things that could be improved upon in terms of the rooms themselves, but the price and location can't be beat!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerpetualN0mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

You would be hard pressed to find a better value in any major city in the US. Good excercise facilites that are free to hotel guests (warm olympic size indoor pool was nice on a cold winter night!), walking distance to lots of theaters and restaurants. Friendly, low-key vibe to the place. And I had a nice massage at a reasonable price to top off a long day. The decor of the room is dated as other reviewers have mentioned but it was clean and big with a very comfortable bed. It's not big on frills or frou frou, but is long on the stuff that counts and with a touch of history to the place. I'll definetly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAKEHOUSE_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I spent the evening at the Milwaukee Athletic club in downtown Milwaukee while in town to see a show at the Marcus Center for the Performing Arts. The hotel is located a short 5 minute walk away from the Marcus Center and within a short walk to many highlights of downtown Milwaukee. The restaurant at the hotel featured a nice menu and the bartender provided us with good drinks. The valet parking was nice, $15 per night per car for hotel guests. We did not use any of the athletic facilities but the hotel was very athletic oriented for their members and guests. The room was amazingly large, the bed comfortable. We didn't sleep all that well do to the noise of the city and some strange banging on pipes at 3am. The bathroom also hadn't seen updating for 2 or 3 decades. Overall the price and location were great, and we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Av8ir2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,834 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#26 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#15 of 56 in Milwaukee
266 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milwaukee Athletic Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milwaukee Athletic Club

Property: Milwaukee Athletic Club
Address: 758 N Broadway, Milwaukee, WI 53202-3654
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Milwaukee Athletic Club 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
only available to guests attending a sponsored event ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Milwaukee Athletic Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milwaukee Athletic Club Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing