We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Milwaukee!”

Best Place at the Historic Pabst Brewery
Ranked #2 of 135 Nightlife in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Best Place, located at the heart of the former Pabst brewery, celebrates the history of Pabst with historic Blue Ribbon Hall (which can be rented for banquets), a vintage gift shop (featuring vintage items that were partly recovered from the original brewery), the Sternewirt guest center and two beautiful courtyards. In the tavern and adjacent beer garden, local and Wisconsin-brewed beers are served in an authentic, German atmosphere.Guests can participate in historic tours through the refurbished parts of the building. Tours are Mon., Wed. & Thu. At 1 & 3pm, and Fri., Sat. & Sun. 11, 12 & 1Pm. Cost is $8 and Military Personnel receive a $2 discount. The tour fee includes a pint of Pabst, Schlitz or soda.With the closing of the Pabst Brewery in 1996 came the opening of an opportunity. After many years of blood, sweat, and beers, the "best use" of these buildings has fermented into Best Place at the historic Pabst Brewery -- taking its name from the founders, Jacob and Phillip Best, and its spirit from the Captain, Frederick Pabst. In December 2009, the vintage gift shop re-opened its doors and since May 2010, beer is served again at the bars in historic Blue Ribbon Hall and the Sternewirt Guest Center.
Upstate NY
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Welcome to Milwaukee!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Arriving from the airport, we had no idea what this tour was all about, but we immediately were made to feel welcome and the enthusiasm was infectious. We learned a ton about the history of the brewery, Milwaukee, and the future of the property. Got to see some fun historic commercials, learned some trivia, all the while drinking a PBR and a Schlitz. The fun of getting to poke around the corporate offices, seeing Captain Pabst's desk, and soaking in the history made it a great experience. I wish Jim and the crew the best on their upcoming adventures.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank UpstateNYLawchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    45
    18
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“The Best Place helped make our wedding the absolute "Best" day of our lives.”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I had our ceremony and reception at the Best Place. The weather was iffy and we switch from outside to inside to back outside in 18 hours. Needless to say it was a little chaotic, but the staff was very accommodating and helpful. Our wedding coordinator through the Best Place (Kimberly) was so nice and friendly it helped my wife and I relax through the stressful day. The bar was very affordable, the place has so much character, and we received nothing but compliments from our guests. I would recommend this to anyone looking to get married in Milwaukee.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JDavis7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Beyond Excellent tour of a beer brewery”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a must see!! We have toured many beer breweries over the years & while we have enjoyed them, this one is by far the best. The actual factory is gone so it isn't your typical tour filled with how the process goes. It is more of a historical look at the Pabst family, Pabst beer & the brewery. Our tour guides were absolutely wonderful - funny, interactive, really engaging.

Make sure you go online to find out the times of the tours. They don't have many during the day but those that they do have last longer & are well worth making sure you arrive on time. They discussed some of what their future plans are so I can't wait to go back again in years to come to see how the progress is going.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JessPem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun history of Pabst”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Enjoyed the history of Best & Pabst brewery as well as the lively tour guides! They showed videos and pictures of the past. Served one beer and pretzels. They were engaging.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank spunkyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Brewery History at it's Best”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

After doing three breweries on our Wisconsin vacation; we ventured to the Best Place at the Historic Pabst Brewery. Even though the brewery is long gone and the area is being preserved, we weren't disappointed. The history of the place and Pabst beer was great. If you are tired of the some old brewery tour, take a trip into history. Also, stop by the hotel close by that use to be a part of the brewery. Actual vats are in the lobby.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JandJ539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Best Place at the Historic Pabst Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Best Place at the Historic Pabst Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing