We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Mitchell Park Horticultural Conservatory (The Domes)
Ranked #21 of 160 things to do in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Conservatory's Arid Dome houses a fine collection of cacti; the Tropical Dome features plants from the rainforest and the Floral Show Dome hosts a number of changing themed blossom displays throughout the year.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

If you like flowers, you'll love this place. Bring your camera too. Throughout the year they have different displays, but in the early part of the year they have one dome set up with a very large model train display during which a number of running model trains are running on tracks. Kids and Grandkids just love it! Parking is very easy and at no cost, although there is an admission fee to the Domes.

Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn0448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    144
    62
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awesome Afternoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We took our 1 year old to the domes on a cold February afternoon. To our delight it was also model train weekend, so we had a bonus! The domes are a great way to get a dose of warm weather and sunshine on a cold winter day. My favorite was the desert dome - amazing cacti and flora. My daughter's favorite was the rain forest dome - amazing trees and flowers. The whole facility is just so much fun. I highly recommend it for an hour or two of exploration.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank NewEnglandGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Flora all year round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Where else are you going to see fresh flowers in Milwaukee in winter? Where else can you see cacti at anytime in Milwaukee? Great for photographers, brides, families, and anyone else.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zelda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Domes Under Glass”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Overall the three separate domes with the different climatic conditions feature plants and flowers that adapt to those conditions. We especially like the Thursday evening entertainment during the colder months that feature various groups (for example; Blues Brothers, Elvis Band etc.) It's a fun time and you can dance to the tunes. Just get there early to get a seat, or you'll be standing. They do charge a fee, extra break for residents of the City. They do have a seating area that you can grab a bite to eat or drink. Plenty of parking spaces at no charge. Check out the different venues on the Milwaukee County Parks website for what's featured.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
117 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A Gem especially in Winter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Domes are classic to Milwaukee. It really is a must do if you enjoy plants, flowers, and trees. Young and old can appreciate it especially if they enjoy nature and outdoors. In the winter (and throughout the year) check the Domes for special exhibits, one being the train exhibit in the show dome. Each year is a new theme. The other domes are tropical in nature and the desert. For both nature/outdoors and photograpy enthusiasts in particular this is a great place to stop. It's economical and doesn't take long--breeze through in less than an hr. or spend a little more time there. There's a small gift shop on site with a variety of things from books, jewelry, to educational toys and more. The lobby area is nice and open and there's a coat rack for your jackets and tables/chairs, restrooms, etc. We never tire of our time here there's so much beauty and variety contained here.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank hatchpal4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitchell Park Horticultural Conservatory (The Domes) also viewed

 

Been to Mitchell Park Horticultural Conservatory (The Domes)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing