We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horticulture Fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mitchell Park Horticultural Conservatory (The Domes)

Mitchell Park Horticultural Conservatory (The Domes)
Ranked #17 of 166 things to do in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Conservatory's Arid Dome houses a fine collection of cacti; the Tropical Dome features plants from the rainforest and the Floral Show Dome hosts a number of changing themed blossom displays throughout the year.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Horticulture Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I've been going to the Domes since I was a kid, it is always a neat place to see. Each dome is a different climate, and different types of plants and flowers. I always enjoyed going to photography reasons. It is something worth seeing if you are into horticultural type outings.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Becki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    158
    64
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muskego, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
120 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Always nice in winter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We like the Domes. The current train show was only ok. The trains were nice but they didn't give any effort to the flowers in the show dome. Usually regardless of the theme the flowers are fabulous. This time the had only one kind of flower in about 4 colors. Hmm could it be the budget. We will wait to see the next show when it opens to reserve judgement. Still on a cold day in Milwaukee it is worth the trip.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
298 reviews
170 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“The Domes, Milwaukee”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

The Mitchell Domes are made up of three Dellums would contain flowers and plants from around the world. It is an interesting place for adults probably more so than children. I was there with my six-year-old son and seven-year-old daughter. It was a quick walk-through of each dome & the children really enjoyed the scavenger hunt. It is any place that will not take up a lot of your time.

Helpful?
Thank DKISS76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great place to visit, especially during the winter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

The Mitchell Park Domes are a great place to take your young children during the winter to get some respite from the winter blahs. My 21 month old granddaughter had a blast! The show dome had a trains and circus theme that was just the thing to keep her interest. There were members of the local train club there to interact with the children and they had a thomas the tank engine that the children could actually touch. I cant tell you how many laps she made around that dome, but we finally had to scoup her up and take her home, otherwise she would still be there!

Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice break from winter.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

These domes are a MKE tradition. We visited during the Chinese New Year celebration. Very busy! The domes are well-maintained with alot of interesting foliage to observe. An ideal place for birthdays, weddings, photos, etc. Will eventually visit during the Thursday night colored domes with music.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitchell Park Horticultural Conservatory (The Domes) also viewed

 

Been to Mitchell Park Horticultural Conservatory (The Domes)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing