We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice evening out.”
Review of Brocach - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Brocach
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Lower East Side
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice evening out.”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The place feels like an Irish pub top to bottom, I wanted to call friends and order drinks. My shepherds pie we great, my wife's steak was a little tough but very tasty. Even though we were full, we had to one of the desserts, awesome. We are hoping to return in summer to try the outdoor seating.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nw indiana
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Positives: they took reservations and there was ample street parking in the area. We were seated immediately, and the server showed up promptly to take our drink order, despite the fact that the place was packed on a Saturday night. Drinks were served quickly, and our entrees were served in a very reasonable amount of time. My Shepherds Pie was good.

Less than positive: the noise level was what you would expect in a small, cramped pub environment on a Saturday night, but it did make conversation very difficult. My spouse was disappointed in his corned beef sandwich. The pretzel roll was good, but the corned beef was shredded rather than "thick sliced" as described on the menu, and he's pretty sure there was no horseradish suace that was included on the menu description. Finally we had to wait about 10 minutes to get our check because our server was having to cut and serve birthday cake for a large party nearby.

It was an average evening, but I doubt that we'd make a return visit the next time we're in Milwaukee.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hoosier46NwIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Had appetizers and drinks here. Both were very good. Servers were fast, friendly and fun! Decor inside is very unique. Would recommend this place for sure. It's just past the busy area of Water street, a great location. Will go here again soon.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seanyy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great brunch”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We went for brunch. We tried the corned beef hash, the biscuits and gravy and eggs Benedict. All the food was very good. The gave us complimentary Irish soda bread which was tasty, and the meals were nice sized and well prepared.
The outside patio was a surprise, we had been there before and never sat outside. It's lovely, it's covered so when a light rain came we were good. Service was good as well.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank funmidwestmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, virginia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Average Food”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Friends and I had an early dinner here. It's your typical Irish Pub with traditional Irish fare. The restaurant was not crowded at all when we arrived. Our waiter was just so-so...he was also manning the bar. The food was good...nothing spectacular, but good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jmukurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brocach also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing