We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great Central Hotel-Funky and Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #25 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Toronto
1 review
“Great Central Hotel-Funky and Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

This hotel was very clean and has a real urban feel. The bar at night seemed to have a nice sized crowd. The staff at the hotel were super friendly.
We stayed on the 2nd floor and at night it got a bit loud with the cars on the street below.
My girls loved that fancy elevators with floors that have heat sensitive tiles that turn colour as you walk.
The hotel seems to be the perfect place for the business crowd. Enough cupboard space for a short stay. Lovely Bliss bathroom products and a stocked assortment of coffee and tea.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4nansi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    208
    91
    45
    20
See reviews for
72
217
36
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Everything was great about the stay here except parking. It's costly for valet and there is no on-site parking so if having a car is important to your stay, it's something to think about. Other than that, it's basically perfect. The decor is very modern, colorful, new. Room was small but top-notch as far as cleanliness/convenience is concerned. There are good amenities: the pool is indoor/heated which is great, the gym is nice and standard needs like ice/towels, etc... are available. Location is also very good; there are many attractions and good restaurants/bars nearby within easy walking distance. It's close to everything and all major highways (94/41/45). Very helpful/friendly staff as well. I don't say this about most hotels, but I'll definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snickers0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

We stayed at the Aloft while we were attending a wedding in Milwaukee. The staff was helpful and knowledgeable, very clean and attractive room, however remember to request an even numbered room which will have a view of the river or courtyard and not the street or empty lot. This was our only disappointment. Overall it was an excellent hotel, very chic and hip. Bathroom was very nice, shower head was the only issue which was too high to reach and not enough water pressure.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mommy2oneonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
86 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

My husband & I love to travel with our standard poodle, Chloe, so we seek out pet friendly hotels.The staff is fabulous about making you & your pet feel welcomed; they bring dog bowls, treats and a bed to the room. Location was great, on the river walk, great selection of restaurants and bars within walking distance. The hotel is contemporary hip with the WXYZ bar area, indoor/outdoor fire place and a pool table with funky blue felt. We didn't use the workout room (it was a get-a-way weekend) or the swimming pool, though there were guests utilizing those facilities. This was our third stay in six months and we are looking forward to returning in the future. S, N and CZG

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharondelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wausau, wi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

I do not disbelieve other reviewers and can only speak for our stay, but it completely exceeded our hopes and as I stated...will be our Milwaukee hotel choice from now on.
Check in was quick, painless and most pleasant.....the valet on duty....Vlad was courteous and quick to assist with a luggage cart....front desk..."Just Jay"....and a darling girl whose name I did not catch were profesional yet warm and helpful beyond
words. Between directions, arranging transportation and just general banter, we could not have asked for two better reps of the Aloft.
Beds were "comfy beyond belief" according to my husband...I would agree..and we never heard a peep from our floor or passersby for the duration of our Saturday night stay.
Although our corner room had a great view of the river.. I think next time we will request a higher floor just to enhance the view....Loved it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schatzi8364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

I'm a former Milwaukeean who travels home frequently. In the past my wife, dog, and I have stayed at the Iron Horse Hotel. A beautiful place that we love but one that has been getting increasingly more and more expensive so we decided to try the Aloft. We'd stayed at Alofts previously in National Harbor and Portland so we knew what to expect: modular rooms, friendly staff, comfy beds, and a hip atmosphere. Milwaukee's Aloft didn't disappoint. Unlike the PDX and DC Alofts this one is in the heart of one of the city's nightlife scenes on Water Street where there are great bars and restaurants all within walking distance. We had a great room overlooking the river with a large flat screen TV, free wifi, a refrigerator, and NO additional charges for allowing our dog to stay with us. I read below about the hotel being a way station for drunk kids partying all night. Well, we were there over Halloween weekend and the city was going crazy with costumed revelers but I didn't hear a peep all night. We only stayed for a night because of a last-minute travel change but next time I'd like to stay longer. I'd also like to give a shout-out to the friendly front desk and especially to Jay who made us feel right at home.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pastoralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Five friends and I stayed at Aloft as part of a Bachlorette Party. Aloft is in the perfect location downtown - right off the freeway and close to all of the most popular nightlife, restaurants, theater, etc. It is very a very modern hotel, and extremely clean! They have a bar right on-site, and you can even visit their hot tub 24/7! I will most definitely be staying here many more times!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmepretty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,600 reviews
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#18 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Property: Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 1230 N Old World 3rd St, Milwaukee, WI 53212-4034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#24 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown is a modern boutique-style hotel near the business district, Bradley Center arena, Milwaukee River, Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, and is 15 minutes from MKE Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Expedia so you can book your Aloft Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing