We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A step below Ikea!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #25 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Lakeville, MN
1 review
“A step below Ikea!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

Online the Aloft hotel looks, clean, fresh, hip and fun...the room reminded us of a compact cruise ship cabin or train cabin. It was very clean, but very confining and made with very low quality materials, no real wood, all particle board with vinyl and neon lights! The so called closet is covered with a curtain and it is only the top half with drawers below, if you have a dress or long coat, it won't hang down. The sink is a round bowl with the only outlet on one side, the same as the sink and not on the right side where there is more counter space to put your make-up and curling irons. The bed was not comfortable, even to my teenager, who can sleep anywhere. From a distance it seems nice, but is very cheaply made for the price you pay.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ballamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    207
    91
    45
    20
See reviews for
72
217
36
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

when we booked this hotel we asked for a joining room to our friends. when we got to this hotel, the woman at the desk said this is not possible. a loft does not have joining rooms for king suites. there was no hot tub, the pool was very small, the drinks at their lounge were very expensive. We asked for more towels(you only get 2) and a new duvet (because the one on the bed was filthy.)No ice machine on our floor. No continential breakfast offered.Parking costed 23.00. we waited 41 minutes for our vehicle!The rooms were very loud, we could hear everything from the room next to us.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nevaeh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

My wife and I stayed for the nights of Oct. 22nd and 23rd. The hotel is located within a block of the bar district. Boy did we find that out the hard way!
The hotel is striving for the look of a new loft--lots of concrete, steel, and modern furnishings. It has been open for less than a year. As a result, the facilities are still in pretty good shape. The front desk help seems very young and friendly--maybe too nice when came to dealing with unruly patrons. The rooms seem small.
Apparently, many "twenty somethings" stay Fridays and Saturdays to party nearby. I think Sunday through Thursday you'll probably be O.K. I definitely recommend staying on the highest floor possible and as far from the elevators as possible. Starting at 1 a.m. we had wave after wave of loud(try screaming) young "adults" come out of the elevator and stagger down the hallway. A couple of them thought it funny to bang on the door. We also got to hear the tears and trauma of a young lady who had probably just broken up with her boyfriend. This continued until 4:30 a.m. We did call the front desk at around 3:00 a.m. and five minutes later someone came up and whispered loudly at the offenders "the people in room ___ complained about your noise". Needless to say, that resulted in more door banging and someone dumping a bag of beer bottles in front of our door. Then things quieted down for a few minutes and we fell asleep. Suddenly the phone rang. "Hi, this is the front desk calling. Did the noise get any better?" NOT HELPFUL. At 4:30 a.m. the last group came by--escorted out of the hotel by two security guards or police--couldn't tell which.

The only reason I give the hotel any positives is that they were helpful in moving us to a different room the second night. We were only woken by one pack of drunks that night.
One last thing--there was a live jazz band in the lobby until 11 p.m. and they were LOUD. Keep that in mind when picking your room location. If you were hoping to go to bed early, forget it.

Finally, we travelled with our dog. The hotel only has you sign a waiver--no fee. Our dog has gone with us to many hotels. He is very quiet and well behaved--the product of lots of training. There was one dog in the building--a terrier by the sound of it--that barked non-stop every hour that it's owners were gone. It's owners were gone 18 hours a day. We could here it even though it was on a different floor and way down the hallway. These people deserved to be thrown out just as much as the drunks did. People, please don't travel with badly behaved(poorly trained) dogs! The poor thing did not want to be alone all day and night. The result--at least 50 rooms could hear it and hear it and hear it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacation-is-goood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

I wasnt sure what to expect....went out of my comfort zone and tried something new. So glad I did. Becky and Jay at the front desk were most helpful.
Wasnt real thrilled with the food options at WXYZ...could enhance that a little more, I arrived late and wasnt up for going out to dinner so I opted for that.
I will definately stay at this hotel in another location should the occasion arise.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkKary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We had a very enjoyable trip and would definitely come back and recommend to others. The hotel was very clean, staff was awesome and our room was cool! Especially pleasant was Erica and Jay...Great customer service skills.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

I was in a wedding in Milwaukee this weekend and the couple chose the Aloft Milwaukee as the "group" hotel. As soon as we pulled up to the hotel I was impressed. It has super cool and creative decor and I loved the look and feel of it, and even the smell of the lobby was this refreshing, citrusy fragrance that made me want to hang out there. But the thing that impressed me the absolute most was the level of service we received. From the valets, to the bartenders (John and Jackie? I am forgetting their names now but they were FANTASTIC!) to the customer service desk to the maids...EVERYONE who works at this hotel is SO nice and helpful and really seems to like their job, and that made for a fantastic stay. I didn't want to leave. Everything about this hotel impressed me, but as I said, the service is bar none some of the best service I have ever received in any service-related situation. Thank you to the staff at the Aloft for making my stay superb!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sophieloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Yes, the walls really ARE that thin. I totally get the concept Starwood is going for with Aloft. I like the concept. But the execution here is terrible. Paper-thin walls and uninsulated windows in rooms that surround a courtyard adjacent to the hotel bar are just a recipe for disaster...and this was a disaster. We got not a wink of sleep the first night as the bar patrons sung college theme songs in the courtyard at 3am. The beds were marginally comfortable, the bathroom door does not seal all the way which leads to uncomfortable moments for everyone, and the shower door leaked like crazy. Great concept, cool idea, and very workable if done right. But the Aloft in Milwaukee was NOT done right. Too bad.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tevansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,597 reviews
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#18 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Property: Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 1230 N Old World 3rd St, Milwaukee, WI 53212-4034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#24 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown is a modern boutique-style hotel near the business district, Bradley Center arena, Milwaukee River, Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, and is 15 minutes from MKE Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Orbitz so you can book your Aloft Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing