We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be prepared for noise and rude staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Be prepared for noise and rude staff”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Right after pulling up there were concierge service, this was nice. Then we were told it would be $25 to park our vehicle. We normally did not have to pay to park at our hotel. Then we arrived at our room. We could hear every conversation in every room as we walked past. Then the real noise started, children yelling and screaming and our room was next door. We walked in the hear a body slamming against the wall and laughter. Seems the children were left alone. I immediately called the front desk to get another room. The front desk seemed to accommodate us but was in no hurry to send up or new room key. We stood there and listened to these children disrupt the entire floor. I called back down about our keys and the front desk told me they were sold out and that "I had to realize that there were going to be other people around us"! I flipped a switch and explained that I didn't mind other people, what I cared about was these children going wild next door! She acted as if she did us a favor. The walls are as thin as paper, the décor is going for some kind plastic vogue look and BREAKFAST IS NOT PROVIDED. We will never stay in an Aloft Hotel again.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leahPeoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear leahPeoria,

Thank you for trying to stay with us and allowing us an opportunity to take care of you. You obviously did not care for the atmosphere or the concept of the hotel at all. We could have done a better job as far as taking care of you in regards to the room move, though we were busy, we should have given you notice as to the length of time it would take to get you accomodated. For that we apologize and we will make sure we discuss this in order to improve. A quick suggestion for future bookings would be to do a little research before booking. You can easily find out what hotels offer free breakfast and if there are additional charges such as parking. We hope that you find a more suitable option the next time you visit downtown Milwaukee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    226
    97
    53
    24
See reviews for
87
233
39
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The Aloft Milwaukee is a newer hotel in downtown Milwaukee, overlooking the river and within walking distance of many of Milwaukee's attractions. There are several great Milwaukee restaurants within walking distance. The hotel offers a shuttle that can ferry you to other locations downtown.

One very big advantage to travelers is that this is a pet friendly hotel with no pet fee. I've stayed at the other hotels in Milwaukee and each requires a $50 or $100 fee per stay. You are still responsible for any damage the pet causes, but as a frequent traveler with a well behaved dog I think this is a commendable step by the chain. Visitors with dogs are all kept on the 2nd floor providing other visitors with quiet.

The hotel is one in a chain that offers a contemporary feel. The lobby is a mixing place with a pool table, casual seating and a bar. It's filled with people each night. There is a small pool and workout facility with treadmills and light weights.

The rooms are smaller in size than a typical hotel, but they are very efficiently designed. You won't notice a lack of space. A partial wall separates the bed from the bath. The bath area features a walk in shower and toilet, separated from the remainder of the room by a sliding door.

The bed is my one complaint. It's not the most comfortable bed, but I've definitely slept in worse. It's a fairly standard mattress, but I've come to expect more from Starwood properties.

This is a downtown hotel, so you will pay for parking. This goes for all the hotels in downtown Milwaukee. Your options here are valet ($23/night), a nearby lot ($15/night) or somewhere on street.

One other item that I appreciate is that if you don't require housekeeping they'll give you a $5 coupon that can be used for beverages or snacks. It's a small item, but it's nice that they reward people for this.

Tips:
1. Do use the shuttle to get to nearby locations. It's within walking distance to many things, but venus like the Third Ward and Summerfest are a bit of a walk.
2. Ask for corner rooms. They'll give you a little more space.
3. Dog biscuits for your pup are on a shelf by the elevator.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room. These offer a bit more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midwest_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to let us know about your experience! So glad you enjoyed your visit and were able to bring your four-legged companion. Just a couple of quick notes- the hotel runs a shuttle just Monday thru Friday in a 3 mile radius to business offices and is not available on weekends or evenings. Also There is no self-park option affiliated with the hotel. There are multiple lots around the hotel, however they are not operated nor controlled by the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

What a great hotel! The room was spacious, comfortable and in a great location. Everything was within walking distance for us. The lobby and bar area was a cool place to hangout. The pool was decent, bummed there wasn't a hot tub though!

The best part....the people!!! The front desk team were so friendly with every request or question we had. The valet guys were absolultely great! They were very accomadating to our special requests and pulled our car around a few times simply because we left stuff in there that we needed before our concert. All in all, the people, decore, and location made this a very enjoyable stay for our girls weekend!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words about the experience and the team! We always enjoy gettin gfeedback, but of course we absolutley love hearing great feedback about our team! We will make sure to share this with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I had been leaning towards two stars, but most of the issues had to do with other guests' behavior, which I know is hard for a hotel to control. Other reviews have noted that this is a party hotel. I had hoped that wouldn't be true for us, but we were stuck on a floor with a bunch of college students who appeared to be on spring break. It was extremely loud until almost five in the morning. Well, the kids left at 11 so we slept until 2, but between then and 5 as they started coming back it was terrible. At one point a security guard was on the floor but even that didn't help much. I believe that the location of this hotel near nightlife plus it's low cost probably attracts the party clientele, as others have noted.

Also, the hotel is just built loud. The floors almost seem hollow, so that even someone walking by in the hallway creates a soft thudding sound. The room doors close hard and loud unless you guide them softly shut with your hand (how many people are actually considerate enough to do that? Apparently, not many). Be aware that there is no privacy in the room. Like others have stated, the sliding door that separates the shower and toilet area has a good 1-inch gap all the way around, so you will hear whatever is going on the bathroom.

Despite that, we still had a good time. The rooms and common areas are all extremely clean and updated. Beds very comfortable. Rooms were neat with their high ceilings, different feel than the average room. The staff could not be friendlier. The location is great. Perhaps the hotel would consider a policy of not renting to anyone under the age of 25. That might help a lot.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunLvr101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear SunLvr101,

Thanks for letting us know about your experience. We appreciate the feedback and we do apologize for the experience you had with other guests. As much as we work with the security team, we do rely on common courtesy from all of our guests. We appreciate the comment about an age policy, unfortunately, we have found it not just the "younger kids" that are always the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I was able to secure a room for one night for a great deal considering the price of this hotel come summer time, especially during Summerfest. The room was very comfortable and certainly funky and modern. Bed and shower were both great. Sliding door to the bathroom provides minimal privacy if you have a mix of people in the room for any given reason. Valet parking is pricey so I was able to secure parking for a much more affordable rate a couple of blocks away. The walk, although chilly on the weekend day, was worth the savings. I would stay here again but not sure I can swing or justify the huge price jump for summer days.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msr63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thanks for letting us know about the experience. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the design and concept of Aloft. Hopefully, you enjoyed your time in Milwaukee just as much! So glad to hear that you were able to find parking accomodations that better suited your needs. We always encourage those that do not want to valet their cars to use the multiple city lots in the area. Hopefully we can have you back, whether it is in the summer (when the rates do become pricey) or in the fall and winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My girlfriend and I booked a room at this hotel for a conference at U Wisconsin Milwaukee in Late February, 2014. We loved Milwaukee- great architecture, famously great old breweries, tasty brats and sausages, and cool night life.

Unfortunately, we did not exactly love Aloft. The funky aesthetic is okay, I suppose, and best part about it is the clock in the room. The clock is cool. The lack of stairs from ground floor to floor 2 is not cool (and, really, is it safe?). It was 10 degrees out and mobs of <23-somethings were routinely gathered at the elevator to wait several minutes to be effortlessly lifted up one or two floors. ONE OR TWO FLOORS! Wait, there must be a stairwell, right? NOT SO FAST! One must go back outside and navigate a labyrinthine path in 10 degree weather- and don;t forget your room key card! -to get to a stairwell that you can scale to floor.......TWO!!! This is about the most dystopian sign of end times that I have encountered. And while still waiting at the elevator, you are treated to an earful of the trashiest of trashy pop music. If that's your thing, you'll be in heaven.

Then, late at night- and I am a night person, so I mean after 2 AM- you are treated to <23 somethings running around and giggling like school kids acting like the kids-that-need-elevators-to-get-to-the-second-floor might act. They won;t let you down, trust me. So, if you are REALLY young and restless and perhaps looking for the trashiest side of Milwaukee, this may just be your place.

And if you don;t believe me, just see this 'positive review' in the TripAdvisor que for Aloft Milwaukee by 'Anne' entitled: “Great location and accommodating staff.” I need only quote the lines: 'My friends and I can get a little rowdy on a girls night, but the staff handled us really well and was incredibly accommodating to fit our needs...even the security guard was extremely friendly and understanding when he had to give us a heads up for being too loud. .'

How about the others in the hotel? 'What? Other people? What am I supposed to be...AN ADULT?' So, if your average age is 20 (and your emotional age 13-14), the good news is, you've found your home-away-from-home! My bet: Aloft has a half life of 4-5years or less.

Room Tip: If you want a classy place or, really, just a place to sleep: choose elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicagoflats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your stay, as much as you disliked it, we do appreciate the feedback. We do apologize as one of our elevators were out of service due to a mechanical defect which we worked with the service provider to get resolved as qucikly as they could. Unfortunately, that was not completed for a couple of days and we were left just as frustrated as most of our guests. Of course, this happens in the dead of winter and subjects those that cannot or do not want to wait for one elevator to service our 5 floors to use our stairwells which do exit outside the buidling and regulated by key card access. Both features obviously for guest safety and security. Because of the weather and the elevator being out, it was a tough weekend for all those that stayed with us. We do apprecaite those that were understanding and tried to make the best of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed here with my Mom and sister for a quick overnight/staycation. Loved the spaciousness of the rooms and the big comfy beds. There was some confusion about where the ice was, but easily solved with a call to the front desk. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWHoffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Hope you and the family had a great visit to Milwaukee. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and allow us to take care of you. Appreciate you letting us know about your experience as well and can't wait to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,551 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#27 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 56 in Milwaukee
803 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Property: Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 1230 N Old World 3rd St, Milwaukee, WI 53212-4034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#24 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown is a modern boutique-style hotel near the business district, Bradley Center arena, Milwaukee River, Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, and is 15 minutes from MKE Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Aloft Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing