We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place! will stay again!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Milwaukee
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place! will stay again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful, modern, clean hotel. Easy check-in. We stayed in room 2047. It faces the river. Let me start off by saying the bed and pillows were the BEST! So comfy. I had the best night's sleep in a long, long time. A little noisy but the comfy bed made up for it. There is a constant humming from cars on the bridge. Complimentary water and coffee in the room was nice. Breakfast options were a bit pricey but had a nice selection. Awesome location. We walked everywhere we wanted to go. Will be our hotel of choice.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are so happy that you had a great experience! The next time you come, call ahead to see if we can get you in a part of the building you may enjoy more. We look forward to taking care of you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    215
    95
    47
    20
See reviews for
77
225
37
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger
Level Contributor
178 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Good location and service. Large and modern rooms with coffee and water available. Comfortable beds. Minus for simple lobby and bar area and limited availability of breakfast. And expensive parking. Plus for being modern and delicate.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wgjedrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We appreciate you choosing to stay with us on your visit to town. Thank you for letting us know your thoughts on the hotel and we are happy that you thought of us as a good option for your needs. In regards to the parking being expensive, we understand that the extra charge is just that, an extra charge. However, if you were to price us out around town, we believe that you would find us to be one of the cheaper options in downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was my first experience with the Aloft Hotel chain. I liked it for the most part. The valet was quick to offer us service, and the front desk personnel were helpful with early check in, as well as finding a nice place for Sunday Brunch. My wife and I found ourselves sharing the elevator with cleaning staff, and their carts, on multiple occasions, and they were all extremely friendly and outgoing.

The "public" areas of the hotel are all quite modern, with the music pumped in, nice flat screen tv's, and even an area to shoot a game of pool. I did not use the swimming pool or gym areas. I also did not eat anything at the hotel, or go to the bar, so can't comment on those.

The room itself was modern, stylish, and clean. There's a nice (46"?) wall mounted tv with HD service, and a comfortable queen sized bed. on the bed were 2 long cylindrical body pillows, and three standard pillows. Not sure why the odd number, but the pillows weren't my favorite anyway. The were pretty flimsy. There's also a little "charging station" on the desk, to plug in all of your portable devices. Nice touch.

The bathroom area was split between an outside area with a sink and mirror and small closet behind a curtain, and toilet and shower behind a sliding door that comes no where close to closing all the way. The shower was nice, with a smoked glass wall that let in a lot of natural light. The supplied shampoo and body wash were fine. The toilet was a toilet, but it was a cramped area.

My main complaint about the hotel is the noise. Maybe it's the construction. The walls seem paper thin. Hallway noise, outside noise and noise from the floor above were prevalent throughout our stay. There's a sort of echo in the room that makes the quality seem a bit cheap as well. Combined with the bathroom door that doesn't really close, and well, you can imagine that everything that happens in the bathroom is not private.

The hotel has wi fi, but if you miss the log on screen on your device, you may not know how to connect. Navigate to aloft.com, and you'll be given a second chance to agree to their service, and connect. We stumbled upon that by luck.

There are a lot of bars and restaurants in the area as well as the arena, so the location of the hotel is great! We returned our rental car and walked all around the area. Definitely a benefit of staying at the Aloft Downtown Milwaukee. For the price and location, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience here with us! We always like to here from our guests no matter what the circumstance. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here and hope to have you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed at the Aloft for business for the first time as most of the other Hotels I typically stay at in Milwaukee were booked solid. The hotel appearance is nice and polished like a new night club, inside the staff appeared to be all under 25 and music is piped in everywhere like a night club. The room was clean and again new and polished. On the other side the rooms and hallways were not well insulated from all of the parting going on and the price was a little steep and $23 for parking, the wireless internet was consistently good. The staff were all in all very nice but I would not stay here if you are here for business.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWhiteCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for takling time out to let us know about your experience here with us in Milwaukee. We are sorry that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay with us, but we always like to hear what or where we need to improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Mn
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

They didn't make it very clear if breakfast was included or was an extra fee.
Otherwise the hotel was beautiful and in a great location. Loved the 47" TV and the set up of the room. Was within walking distance to everything downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your experience with us here in Milwaukee. We appreciate the opportunity to take care of you on your travels. Sorry about the breakfast situation, but glad other than that you enjoyed your time with us. Hope to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the aloft hotel and had a great time there…. I would like to use this chance to praise the great job Vicky and Jonnie are doing at the front desk- I travel a lot but these two have been above my expectations: very attentive, quick, friendly and always supportive with no matter what request I had. Even the nasty, formal invoice statement requirements from my German company were fulfilled at once. I like the concept to award talented team members, this is why I gladly agreed to share my experience on tripdavisor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoneSTU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your experience. So glad you took the opportunity to recognize Vicky and Johnnie! We will make sure to recognize them for providing you with a great experience. Hope to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This contemporary hotel has well designed rooms for the space and is in a good location to walk to many bars, restaurants and local attractions. We stayed for two nights and the room was very clean and well serviced. The bed was also quite comfortable. Our room faced the courtyard, however, and there was a party going on until almost 4am creating enough noise to wake us up--on the 4th floor-that the front desk did little to address, despite three phone calls starting at 3 am asking them to do so. Also, the room design is very compact and there is a sliding door, that doesn't fully seal, for bathroom privacy. I was traveling with a friend and it was a bit awkward when either of us had to use the bathroom since the sounds were heard very clearly throughout the room. We will return to Milwaukee, which is well worth checking out, but will look elsewhere for our lodging.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coachlmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
THnak you for letting us know about your experience here in Milwaukee. We are sorry that others on your floor ruined your experience with us due to noise. More importantly, we apologize for not better addressing the situation and helping to solve the issue for you. Certainly, we will address wit hthe team and hope to learn and improve from this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#18 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#15 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Property: Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 1230 N Old World 3rd St, Milwaukee, WI 53212-4034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#23 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown is a modern boutique-style hotel near the business district, Bradley Center arena, Milwaukee River, Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, and is 15 minutes from MKE Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Aloft Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing