We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fun, clean, friendly - great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Milwaukee
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fun, clean, friendly - great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This Aloft is a terrific hotel in a great location in Milwaukee. The sociable, friendly bar in the lobby is not to be missed - great cocktails, a decent bar menu (wouldn't kill them to add a few more choices to it!), and a mix of travelers. The staff are fun, hip and Wisconsin-friendly and contribute to the quality of the stay. Rooms and amenities are budget-W but the beds are super comfortable. Good value too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thelivingjuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on this trip to Milwaukee, glad you enjoyed your experience with us! We appreciate your comments and hope to have you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    213
    95
    47
    20
See reviews for
74
225
36
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a terrific hotel. If you've stayed at an aloft you know what you're in for-which is a modern chic place with a polite, courteous and helpful staff. Location is good-walking distance to a bunch of places. Usually here for business so don't spend a whole lot of time wandering around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank craig c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your experience with us. We are so happy that we were able to take care of you on your business visit. We hope that we continue to provide you with the expectations that you deserve when traveling. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Although Aloft is often touted as a business person's hotel, I stayed there recently and enjoyed the modern architecture, fireplace and friendly bar (they serve lattes, too) in the lobby, adjacent parking (not always available in big cities) and very service-oriented staff. We even had a philosophical discussion with an intelligent valet parking attendant. The room was small, but large enough for a king-size bed and dresser space.

Prices vary tremendously. I was offered one price on the phone by the hotel and later offered the same room at half the price through CheapTickets. When I called the hotel to tell them, they gave me the CheapTicket price!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank memoirs_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca G, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and letting us know about your experience. We are sorry that you experienced this pricing issue, but yes, prices do fluctuate frequently. As the date approaches, the price can go up or down depending on the the season. We are glad that you had an opportunity to stay with us and to hear that our staff took care of you while you stayed. Hope to have you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I love the Alofts! Cool hotel. Great location (close to the Bradley center and close to a street with all the bars) rooms are nice and big. Very trendy! The pool is open 24 hours, which is pretty cool. They are also one of the cheaper hotels in Milwaukee and you def. get your money's worth! They also allow pets! We brought our dog and they brought up a dog bed, water dish and treats for our dog.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aschmidty22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
So glad you were able to bring your dog with you on this trip. We understand that sometimes the hardest part of traveling is being without your full family. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us! Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

The location is great we walked to the Bradley center for a concert and easy back. But the noise o my god. From 1am to 3am the hallway was constant noise of loud people slamming doors. We were having the best hotel experience ever until then. This experience was definitively not worth the money I paid for this room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smey2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca G, Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Aloft. I am glad you loved the location, and I am very sorry that the noise was not controled during your stay with us. We will address your concerns right away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I just stayed two nights at the Aloft in Milwaukee (Yay - a SPG property in MKE!). The Aloft is like the W's little brother. Stylish, chic, and efficient for a great price. I have stayed at the Pfister in the past and much prefer the Aloft for the fun vibe and cool decor, and the SPG points. Very helpful and friendly staff! Good location within walking distance of whatever you need downtown.

Small indoor pool and a good and new gym with cardio, swiss balls, free weights and a nautilus-type weight machine. Free wi-fi. The lobby is large and I have spent a few afternoons comfortably working there on my laptop. Valet parking was $23 and self-parking (one block away) was $15.

Food - there isn't a typical restaurant or room service. But - in the morning they make breakfast sandwiches and sell pastries, cereal, coffee drinks, fruit, yogurt, etc. Good selection of snacks and morning made salads and sandwiches all day. In evening, the bar opens at 5 and serves drinks and appetizers. There are many restaurants within walking distance as well.

Rooms/noise - Very comfortable beds and good desk space. Big showers which share a room with the toilet and is separated from the sink area with a pocket door. Small refrigerator to store snacks and beverages. I stayed on the 4th floor looking over Juneau and the river towards downtown. Noise was not an issue at all. I think overlooking the river facing south is the best since you have a good view and are not facing the courtyard where there may be guests hanging out, drinking, talking, etc.

Ladies - bring your own conditioner. The Bliss products are nice, but the shampoo and conditioner 2 in 1 needs a bit extra oomph.

Room Tip: For views and quiet, ask to overlook the river facing south, away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valerie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca G, Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
I am so glad you had a great time with us, and that all of your experiences with us were pleasant. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captiva Island, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed at Aloft for a getaway weekend. Contemporary design, friendly service. However, get outside room to avoid boring courtyard view. Riverview rooms are available but you need to ask. Valet parking available. Modest breakfast service available in lobby, also small bar available for a nightcap. Located two blocks from historic Mader's restaurant, 3 from the Bradley Center, and surrounding entertainment district. Riverwalk is outside back door.

Room Tip: Ask for south side river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rojamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca G, Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and I am so glad that you had a great time while in Milwaukee and that we were a good location for you. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#19 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#15 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#24 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Property: Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 1230 N Old World 3rd St, Milwaukee, WI 53212-4034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#24 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown is a modern boutique-style hotel near the business district, Bradley Center arena, Milwaukee River, Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, and is 15 minutes from MKE Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Starwood so you can book your Aloft Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing