We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel and location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #25 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have found our new favorite hotel in Milwaukee - they even won last year's Trip Advisor award. We loved the room, the staff and the location. We will certainly be back again and again.

The location of the hotel was within walking distance from many restaurants and Pubs not to mention the Pabst Theater. We parked our car and never needed to get it out while we were there.

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to get the top (5th) floor with a great view. I think the staff is willing to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramandlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are very proud of the Trip Advisor award we won last year for top 10 trendiest hotels in the US. Thank you for allowing us to take care of you on your visit to Milwaukee! We aprpeciate you taking the time out to let us know about your experience and hope to have you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    208
    91
    45
    20
See reviews for
72
217
36
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is now my regular place when I come up for a show at Turner Hall. It's a short walk to the venue, and you can get a room for $99 plus tax when you book with AAA or advance purchase. Cool modern rooms, a couple of bottles of complimentary water, nice bar downstairs. It's not the Pfister but it's half the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2RollingStoned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hope the show at Turner Hall was everything you expected, they do great events over there! So happy to hear that we will be your choice when traveling to downtown for events! You are absolutley right, we are not the Pfister! Two very different hotels and styles, glad you recognize that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Not only are you greeted by a friendly staff here, but the location puts you within a short walk of fun Old World 3rd St. and Water St. bars and restaurants as well as entertainment and theater. Plus, your pet can stay with you FOR FREE! Very comfy and clean rooms and beds; decent-sized rooms; in-house bar and indoor pool; inexpensive for downtown lodging; security keeps you feeling safe in an area that is always busy. Have stayed in Alofts in MKE and Montreal and loved both. I like the $5 in-house credit for each day (on multi-day stays) you don't use room service, which is actually more convenient for those with pets. We used ours for lattes each day. Also got bonus points for drinking at the bar. Only negative at all Alofts seems to be the HVAC system which can be temperamental and a bit noisy. Otherwise, the rooms are very well insulated from noise considering the downtown location.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river which runs alongside. Walk the river walk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AARPWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
What can I say, we love our four-legged companions! Thank you for staying with us on your visit to Miwlaukee, we appreciate having you as our guest. Sounds like you took advantage of all the options to earn some easy extra bonus points, which is a great way to quickly add up to free things such as gift cards or free stays. Hope to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Great location in the heart of Milwaukee.

Can easily walk to bars and restaurants on either Water Street or Old World 3rd. My wife and I walked to Wisconsin Cheese Mart/Bar for Beer Flights before dinner on Water Street. After dinner we headed back to the lobby bar which was a lot of fun.

Our SPG membership paid off as we were upgraded to a suite looking over Juneau ave. and the River. The room was clean and and the layout was as expected.

The Service from the staff was very good from beginning to end.

Note that this is a place where people have fun. They offer a Sleep Aid Kit (at no expense) which has eye mask, ear plugs, aromatherapy body patch, and herb tea. We heard folks coming in at 2am+ and still having a good time.

Overall, very cool hip place and can't beat being able to "walk" home from a late night with friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
From the sounds of it, you had a good time while here and we appreciate you staying with us. Glad the service was excellent for you during your stay. We just started offering the sleep kits as a way of hopefully getting you the rest you need. Sorry about the noise, it is something that we are continually trying to improve on and it takes a combinde staff effort as well as guests having courtesy as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Very modern rooms, everything is updated, and very close to the downtown bars/restaurants. Also, the lobby has a free pool table and a nice lounge bar area. The only complaint is that there was no fan in the bathrooms and the door to the shower was a simple sliding door. Other then that, the room was really nice!

Oh and the pool is open 24 hours!

Room Tip: I got a great deal through priceline on this hotel and would definitely stay here again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We appreciate you letting us know about your experience with us and we are so happy that we were a good fit for you while in Milwaukee. We hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
150 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Lower priced hotel option that is really a slightly better Hampton Inn. You could group Fairfield Inn in there as well. Throw in all the "Inn's". Quirky, and I guess, cool touches throughout hotel. A small convenience store in the lobby, low grade Bliss products in the bath, open bathroom, shower, no bath, no chair other than the desk chair. Very functional if nothing else. Foam pillows, which I loathe. Windows that seem designed so that you're looking into someone else's room.

Room Tip: Usually on a busy street so stay on the other side. But,depending on temperature outside, there'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Houston3214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks for taking the time out to share your experience and thoughts with us. Glad we were able to have you stay with us on your travels. Though we wish we stood out more, your review is accurate in the amenities that we do have. The concept and design are really dependent on what a traveler is looking for when they stay at a hotel. The pilllow situation is weird, because you should have had feather pillows (we carry foam for requests) and we will look into it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I was very impressed with this hotel from top to bottom. The staff, location, facilities were all perfect for the business traveler. The rooms were particularly well set-up and very clean. I'll be certain to stay their again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rp0625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to take care of you on this visit to Milwaukee. We appreciate you taking time out to let us know about your experience and are happy to know that we took care of you on this visit. We hope to have you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,600 reviews
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#18 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Property: Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 1230 N Old World 3rd St, Milwaukee, WI 53212-4034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#24 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown is a modern boutique-style hotel near the business district, Bradley Center arena, Milwaukee River, Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, and is 15 minutes from MKE Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Aloft Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing