We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #25 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This place was a lot cooler than I thought. My wife, I and two of my cousins stayed here for summerfest/ my birthday. The hotel is very modern and the room was great. It was somewhat small but the way it is laid out works. The bed takes up a big portion of the room and the TV is wall mounted in front of the bed, under the bed was a padded bench and off to the side was a desk. The bathroom is a fair size and the there is a frosted glass window in the shower looking out into the room. The lobby and bar are pretty cool. They stick with the modern style. You can help yourself to water and a couple options of water with fruit in it. There are chips and sandwiches to purchase in the lobby and the bar was pretty nice. The pool is open 24/7 but is pretty chilly. It's downtown and there are local businesses around and its about a 20 minute walk to the summerfest area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jawkurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Summerfest, always a good time of the year! Hope you had a great birthday while you were here with us. We apprecaite the opportunity to take care of you for such a special trip, hope to have you back again this year if you choose to come back to Milwaukee for your birthday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    204
    90
    44
    19
See reviews for
70
214
36
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gages Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed the night here for a basketball game. Perfect location to walk to food, drinks, and the Bradley Center. The hotel was very modern and great for meeting new people in the lounge after the game. No garage but they do have valet for a price. I would definetily recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheeba831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for letting us host you while you were here for the basketball game. Hope you enjoyed your stay here in Milwaukee. Thank you also for taking the time out to let us know about your experience, can't wait to have you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I am a long-time Starwood member, but this was my first stay at an Aloft and I can see how this brand is popular to many. I was in town with friends and we had a fun time at the hotel bar. We also used the gym and it is good for a quick workout. We all thought the hotel was clean and the front desk was pretty good as well. We think this is a good spot for individual travelers and friends who can handle a more lively atmosphere, but probably not the best spot for families (small pool and noise).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAHAWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Glad you were able to stay with us while you were in town! We are glad you enjoyed the time with us and thank you for letting us know how it went. We always appreciate when our travelers provide insight to others regarding our hotel. Hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Pines, CO
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I also thought the Aloft was lovely at first look. Very modern interior with creative use of space. Upon closer look though, it was not as clean as I would have liked, dirt in the corners and tattered and worn towels. The freshness and crispness had worn off. Wish they had a hot tub, they do have a pool but warming up in a jacuzzi would have been nice. And the choices of food for purchase for breakfast was very lackluster and standard. So make other plans for your breakfast unless you're in a hurry and need to grab something on the go.

Room Tip: Make sure your room isn't over the conference rooms, we had karaoke going on until midnight righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbielb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us while you were here. We apologize for the cleanliness not being up to what you expected, we will address those issues immediately and get that resolved. We are in the process of replacing the towel and terry, so those should be revolved out of stock shortly. Hope to have you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed here for all of 9 hours having arrived at around midnight and left just after 9am the next morning.

All the Alofts are the same with a bar area, reception, etc The rooms are not so big so although great for me traveling on business I'm not sure I'd want to stay in one for 3 nights with my wife.

All the alofts I have stayed in have a great desk in the reception/bar area where you can work with others an there is plent of power sockets, etc.

My only complaint is the not so good food. There is no resturant here and although you can get food items, it's nothing special and sometimes I like to have a good breckfast as I don't know when I'll have a chance to eat next.

Room Tip: the parking was valet only so be prepared.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin_Welwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your experiences and staying at Aloft when you travel for business. We value your feedback and opinions and hope that we continue to be your choice when traveling. We understand your feelings towards the room space when traveling with another as well as your food options. Food options are something we are always looking to expand upon and while we don"t have any plans for a sit down style restaurant, if you have ideas on quick food options you would like to see, we are always open to trying new ideas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Aloft in Green Bay, WI this past April and overall had a great experience (aside from an issue with the bartender leaving early even though wedding parties were to arrive, it sounds like this is a common issue at other Aloft locations, so beware if you are booking a block of rooms with Aloft that the bartender will likely NOT be there after midnight, even if the people helping setup the block say they will be). So, when I received tickets to an event in downtown Milwaukee as a Christmas gift, I booked a room at the Aloft in downtown Milwaukee expecting at least to have comfortable, clean accommodations. We had no issues with parking, as others have, it is $15 a night to park yourself across the street. When we checked in, we were greeted by a friendly employee at the front desk. Overall, the 3 employees we dealt with were all extremely friendly. After checking in, we went to get on the elevator and were greeted there with, no joke, diarrhea all over the floor of the elevator. Now, I understand that this isn't necessarily the hotels fault, but how did NO ONE notice this was in there before we opened the doors?!?! It was 4:00 in the afternoon!!! So, after fumbling with the elevators forever while trying not to pass out from the smell, we finally were able to get on the one that wasn't disgusting. When we got to our room, as soon as we sat on the bed, the sheets popped off of the corners. After fighting with the sheets forever (turns out the sheets were on the wrong way, how did whoever make the bed not notice this and take 30 seconds to flip it around?!), then we noticed that the comforter isn't even attached to anything, it's just a sheet under it and a sheet over it, so halfway through the night you are likely to be snuggling with a comforter without a cover. This wouldn't be a HUGE deal, except that the comforter is all stained and looks like it hasn't had a good wash in quite a while. But, the beds are SUPER comfy aside from that! We visited the pool after the show we attended and were very happy that it was a 24 hour pool! We were disappointed that there wasn't a hot tub, but obviously missed that when we were looking through the amenities. Our excitement for the pool quickly diminished when we got in and realized the pool was slimy and kind of thick, and full of clumps of hair. After that, we were kind of happy there wasn't a hot tub, can you imagine how gross it would have been?! Overall, it was a very disappointing experience. It seems like the hotel does a great job of keeping things looking trendy, but cuts as many corners as possible. It's all about the image. So, if you are looking for a place to stay so you can take pictures to post on Facebook to show your friends you're trendy, it's a great pick! But, if you are looking for a comfortable, clean, and well-run place to stay, look elsewhere. There are lots of options in the downtown Milwaukee area!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
157 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

At first glance this place is awesome. Then once you settle you find the odd problems.

We stayed in the basic room with a king bed. The room is very ikea (aka modern) and clean. The bed is firm and fairly comfortable.

Issues:
1. There is only 1 set of switches for all the lights in the room. This is located at the front door. yes, this includes the lights for the bathroom. So if you need the restroom in the middle of the night you must walk around to the front door.
2. The bathroom door is a sliding door that provides very little privacy. Anybody else in the room will hear everything going on in the bathroom.
3. The water in the shower did not get above warm. I did report this issue to the front desk when checking out. The front desk did ask what they could do to make up the discomfort. I was not able to think of anything.
4. There was a very cold draft coming from below the heater. The unit did not appear to be properly sealed. We forgot to report this issue to the front desk.
5. The price is high. For this price there are a few very nice hotels available. I would choose to stay at one of the other hotels in this price band.
6. You get 1 tiny bottle of lotion. Hotel rooms are typically dry, especially in the winter. We quickly went through this 1 tiny bottle of lotion. Luckily we had brought lotion with us.
7. The wireless is only free for 8 hours only. The clock starts ticking once you register.
8. You can hear the road outside.

The lobby is interesting.

We enjoyed the bar and pool table. The bar poured generous drinks and was very pleasant. The pool table was a plus. We loved the furniture in the lobby. Very comfortable to lounge.

We did not use the pool or the fitness center. We did visit both. The pool is very small and was crowded (which prevented us from use). The fitness center looked very clean and was large for a hotel. If we stay here again we will use the fitness center.

The location of the hotel is good. There are breweries and a number of decent restaurants near this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the hotel thoroughly and we will look into the areas that we can correct. There are some points that i wanted to address for you though. The light switches are confusing because one of the switches is a master switch. As long as that master stays on, you can control the rest of the room independently, something we are already in the process of trying to fix. Secondly and more importantly for all travelers these days, the internet. The internet is completely complimentary for the entire stay. The system just logs people on and off after useage of 8 hours so that the network doesn't get clogged with poeple that have already left the building.
As to the issues in the room with the door, water and sealing of the heater, if you could contact us to let us know what room you were in, we can look at addressing that immediately. We apprecaite the feedback and hope that you can help us improve on these deficiencies for our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 598 reviews
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#3 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,576 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#21 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Property: Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 1230 N Old World 3rd St, Milwaukee, WI 53212-4034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#24 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown is a modern boutique-style hotel near the business district, Bradley Center arena, Milwaukee River, Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, and is 15 minutes from MKE Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Aloft Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing