We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Uber-trendy riverwalk hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #25 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Wheaton, IL
Level Contributor
183 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Uber-trendy riverwalk hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We spent the Memorial Day weekend at this trendy hotel in the riverwalk area of downtown Milwaukee. This is an excellent hotel.
The lobby had a fresh smell to it at all times. It is located in the riverwalk area and many places are a short walk from the hotel. The lobby has trendy bar and a pool table. There is a very hip and trendy feel to this hotel.
The rooms had a unique design to them and made maximum use of space. They were decorated in a sleek Ikea style which highlighted the unique trendy style. The hotel allows pets which just made the weekend great for our Cavalier King Charles who loved the courtyard.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnyhotcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for spending your Memorial Day holiday with us and for taking the time out to let us know how it went! Hope you and King Charles had a great experience and hope that you come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    208
    91
    45
    20
See reviews for
72
217
36
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wheaton IL
Level Contributor
322 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Great place for young couples and they take pets! Our puppy was the hit of the hotel, people here are friendly, staff is great! Lobby is fun and savvy, great courtyard to relax and let the puppy run. Only issue is customers being loud in the hallways in the wee hours! Love the bliss products in the bathroom! You can hear the street noise but it's not constant and if they had a huge parking lot you would not hear it that's what I found about all downtown hotels in any city. Love aloft hotels!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank zimrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
thank you for taking an opportunity to let us know about your experience with us herer in Milwaukee. We apprecaite all the feedback we can get from our guests! It's great that you were able to bring your puppy along for the journey, we absolutley love our animal friends here. Hope to see you again the next time you have a chance to come up and visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by the great location and recently updated amenities. My only compliant is that it was more money than I wanted to spend. On the higher end for just Milwaukee..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you for writing your review of the experience you had with us. Glad that you felt that we were worth the money even though it was a little more than you wanted to spend. Did you sign up for Starwood Preferred Guest? Great deals through our loyalty program, but also keep an eye out for specials running in Fall and Winter, we would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Aloft is a retro, modern hotel in downtown Milwaukee with a hip vibe. The hotel lobby bar and sitting area are very cool and the lobby scene is hopping w/ activity. The elevator floor is a piece of interactive art that changes shapes based on your foot falls ---kinda like a mood ring. The room we stayed in overlooked the river. Loved the retro bedside clock, vinyl padded headboard and other authentic touches from the 60's. You can't hear your neighbors but you do hear every car that passes over the bridge North of the hotel. Plus the AC is very loud. But, otherwise a terrific place to stay and an authentic blast from the past w/ more modern day conveniences (flat screen, jack pack, coffee service, good bath products).

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizaRo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you for giving us your feedback on your recent stay with us here in Milwaukee! Glad you enjoyed the design and function features of the hotel. We hope to have you back the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed at this hotel because of proximity to Bradley Center. I was very happy with the rate. Arrived and was given parking options by the valet. And shockingly (in my experience), he didn't push hard for the valet option. We decided to valet anyway based on our schedule, and the entire valet staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Upon arrival, was happy with the bar and food selections in the take-and-go cafe. There is no restaurant or room service, but during breakfast and lunch,the kitchen is open and they cooked us up hot breakfast sandwiches to order. All the staff was exceedingly friendly and service was excellent!

Everything was modern and boutique-y. My wife liked the fact that the hotel was greenly using dispensers for soap and shampoo, and she liked the Bliss products. There are lots of cubby holes to store stuff and a safe in-room.

Great location! Need things to do and eat? Walking distance to Bradley Center, right on the Riverwalk and a couple blocks from the Edelweiss boats (we took the river cruise that went into Lake Michigan; great tour and much less expensive than Chicago equivalents). Lots of restaurants, but we loved Mader's so much that we went twice for wonderful German food!

We read complaints about construction noise and Fri night live music noise, and did not have either.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLoveys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
So glad you had the opportunity to stay with us while you were in town for an event at the Bradley Center. Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience here at the hotel and about Milwaukee in general! Hope to have you back the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

To get this out of the way, the standard rooms are small, and walls are definitely thin. I think the hotel more than made up for its flaws, though, with neat design and efficient uses of spaces. The ironing board, for example, was hidden in the giant multipurpose headboard of the bed. I understand this small, efficient room type might be a little European for some, but I thought it was all rather cool enough to work. The design is really cool, with nice bathrooms (no bathtubs unfortunately), big TV's, and even a nice bench for sitting in our room. The location is awesome, right by Water St and also the Bradly Center. Service was good (we had them bring up wine glasses and a corkscrew) and the room was very clean. I thought it was definitely worth the price (we paid 52 on hotwire) and probably even double that.

Room Tip: Ask about upgrading to a suite if space is a concern, although there were none available our night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your experience with us while you were in Milwaukee! Thank you for taking time out to let us know what you thought, feedback is so critical to us as we want to nkow what our guests think about us and how we are doing! Hope to see you again the next time you are in Milwaukee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

The Aloft is design similarly to other hotels of the same brand, which is in loft style. The location of the hotel is fine and its nice that they offer free wireless internet in the rooms that worked very well.

The only negative from my point of view is that the hotel does not have a full service restaurant, though they do have some self serve food options by the front desk. This was fine for me for the one night I was a guest, but I think for a longer stay it would not be adequate.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berm100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne M, Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We greatly appreciate all feedback from our guest. Our grab 'n' go style is unique and I am glad that it was helpful during your stay. Hopefully you have the chance to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,600 reviews
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#18 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Property: Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 1230 N Old World 3rd St, Milwaukee, WI 53212-4034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#24 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown is a modern boutique-style hotel near the business district, Bradley Center arena, Milwaukee River, Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, and is 15 minutes from MKE Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Aloft Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing