We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aloft got it right...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #33 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I met up with a friend for drinks a few nights ago in the lobby. I was amazed by the great atmosphere. I instantly felt comfortable and welcomed. I love the fireplace, comfy chairs/couches, music playing, people mingling, board games, friendly staff, etc. I felt like I was in a much trendier city (sorry Milwaukee)!

The bar has a great selection of items along with their own drink menu. The food looked great. Prices were normal for the downtown location. I'd suggest this spot for anyone looking to meet up with friends for drinks or even a date. It's in walking distance to a bunch of other bars/restaurants.

Can't wait to actually treat myself and stay here or another Aloft location!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WITraveler3353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

Glad you had an opoprtunity to stop in and check out W xyz Bar. Hopefully you will get to stay with us soon. Check back with us as we will be rolling out our winter bar menu shortly! We also throw great parties and have local musicians live every month, so make sure you come back for those!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 633 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2011

a little off the main drag but easy walking along the riverwalk to the main area or across the bridge to the main center, this is a funky modern hotel with a real belonging feel to it. the foyer area is the hub of action, lounge around as long as you like, make yourself at home, feet up on the sofas, play pool, watch TV, drink at the bar, chill out in the courtyard, its like living in an aprtment complex!
Simplistic help yourself, pay as you go, snack bar, good prices.
Rooms are small, compact but everything you need, modern and comfortable.
Very good gym, small pool, free use of computer and free wifi in lobby.
Nearby are several Irish pubs, mirco breweries and the German area 2 minutes walk. A good base for business and pleasure in milwaukee

Room Tip: really, all rooms are equal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2011

We appreciate you sharing your thoughts with potential travelers. You seem to encapsulate everything we are about in your review. Hope to take care of you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I've never stayed at this brand of hotel before so this was my first experience. I came with my sister for a wedding and received the rate of $119+ taxes. Given the quality and location (Milwaukee) I thought the hotel was overpriced; however, there was a convention in town and the Brewers were playing. The hotel offers a unique and modern concept. Flat screen tvs, mini fridge, and the bathroom sink outside the toilet/shower is a nice touch. I wish there was more convenient parking then leaving the car with valet. I didn't enjoy how one of the walls of the shower became the wall of the bedroom. I kind of felt like the room was a dorm room - I mean a lot classier but in a weird way it reminded me of a dorm room. The most impressive part of my stay was the customer service by the front desk. They were so friendly and helpful. It was a very pleasant stay because of them!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iheartworldtravel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2011

Hope the wedding went well and you had a great time. Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts with others. The staff here really enjoys taking care of our guests and glad to see it shows to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Aloft Milwaukee had great service. Dug up a loaner umbrella for several days of rain. Great front desk service staff.

Room Tip: Get a courtyard facing room that is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravCT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2011

Sorry the weather did not cooperate with you during your stay, but at least it was just rain! Glad you had a good time regardless and we hope to take care of you again - maybe during the summer when the weather is beautiful and there are more things to do outside like SummerFest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Having never stayed at this chain of hotel before, I really didn't know what to expect. The rooms are small but clean with lots of nice little amenities. I enjoyed having a small fridge for leftovers that wasn't already full of mini bar stuff. Each room has a flat screen and a media docking device that allows you to connect your computer or ipod to the television. The shower head was large and water pressure good.

They have a snack area in the lobby open 24 hrs that has chocolate cheese cake and a bar that serves drinks and small bites late on the weekends. The location is pretty central to downtown Milwaukee, you can walk to the Grand Avenue Mall and the convention center.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvonColoradoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2011

Glad you enjoyed your visit with us. Thanks for taking some time to share about our hotel. Hope to have the opportunity to take care of you again soon. We are going to have some great specials during the winter time, so check us out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

My headline is based on this hotel being noisier than average. There were two factors that contributed to this and will continue to do so. First is the fact that the hotel is located right next to a bridge that has metal grating. At all hours of the day and night you here the rumbling of cars going over it. The only way you could avoid this would be to stay in a room that does not face the river. The second issue, and this is true at many hotels, is that the door returns are so strong that they always SLAM when closed. This is enhanced by the fact that the doors and frames are metal. Lastly you should keep in mind that there is road construction going on immediately outside the hotel until November 2012 (although this is a municipal project so it's likely to take longer) and there will be construction noise from 7a - 430p M-F.
The rooms are definitely set up for temporary occupancy. There are no drawers to put your clothes away. There isn't really a closet (although there is a sort of hanging area where jackets and shirts can go. If you have something long, like a dress, you are out of luck. The bed is a platform but as long as you don't mind it being lower to the floor than a 'normal' bed, that shouldn't be a problem. One thing I found annoying about the room is that the desk is immediately adjacent to the LCD TV that is mounted on the wall. The wall mount is fixed which means the angle of the TV can't be adjusted so watching TV while you work at the desk means you are watching at a sharp angle which is not very good.
Otherwise I would agree with other reviews here in regards to it being clean, staff is good, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mainsail4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit. The bridge noise is definately worth pointing out. The good news is that the construction that you mentioned (while it is going to take a while) is going to solve that issue as the new bridge will be completely free of any grating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My friend and I stayed here for the Women of Faith Conference at the Bradley Center. It was a short walk to and from the hotel and the valet parking was great. The hotel was clean and had a chic atmosphere. The service desk was run quickly and efficiently. Really a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fdlfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Thanks for taking time to let us know how your stay was. Hope you had a great time at the conference, all of you are so much fun, we hope to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#31 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#15 of 56 in Milwaukee
319 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Address: 1230 N Old World 3rd St, Milwaukee, WI 53212-4034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#24 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range: $93 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown is a modern boutique-style hotel near the business district, Bradley Center arena, Milwaukee River, Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, and is 15 minutes from MKE Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aloft Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing