We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value, style and peek-a boo bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Ranked #29 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Value, style and peek-a boo bathroom”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

This was my first stay in Aloft hotel, a low cost version owned by the W hotel brand. For about $100 I had a king room with a comfortable bed, extra pillows, a large flat screen TV, free WiFi, and a great shower.
I have 2 complaints; noise transferred from the hallway into the room too easily and as someone else mentioned the bathroom is completely exposed when the door is opened. If the door was hinged on the opposite side a person walking down the hallway wouldn’t have a view of a guy in briefs shaving in front of the sink when his wife/gf opened the door, as happened to me while walking to my room.
Even with the peek-a-boo bathroom, I would return if I could grab a room for about $100 or so. Water street bars and restaurants are only a couple of blocks away and the hotel has a sense of style that’s appeals to me.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topitalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    227
    100
    53
    24
See reviews for
89
236
39
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, IA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Great location just north of Old World 3rd St. along the Milwaukee River. Within walking distance to everything in downtown and especially close to Edelweiss Cruise lines for a night on the river or Sunday Brunch cruise. Modern and trendy, so I would suggest it as a great place for an adults-only stay.

Room Tip: Cheapest rate would be the 2nd night 50% rate compared with other deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derodenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I stayed here twice for business and will definitely return. The location is great because it is surrounded by restaurants within walking distance and is easily accessible to the highway.
Everyone is friendly and helpful and the rooms are comfortable, clean and well appointed. I worked out the last time I stayed here and the gym did the job for what I needed.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCtravels15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you for the feedback. We enjoy being able to take care of our guests, such as yourself, that give us an opportunity to take care of them on every trip to Milwaukee. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Great location by the stadium. A very European Style. Smaller rooms and bath, but very functional. Great desk and avaliabilty of charger plugs. TV mounted high on the wall at the end of the bed. Small help yourself snack area with brunch in the AM in the lobby. Rocking bar.

Room Tip: SPG membership and book spg.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Glad you enjoyed your visit with us, always good to hear what our guests enjoyed about their experience! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We picked the Aloft for a short anniversary trip. I researched a lot, but chose the Aloft based on it being relatively new, unique and seemingly nice for a tight budget. We arrived to find that you had to pay $23 a night to valet park or $15 a night to self park, which seems ridiculous for Milwaukee. We moved to the cheaper lot for the second night, but the hotel still charged us for two nights, so my wife had to waste time trying to get the charge taken off of the bill. The hotel was clean for the most part, but it was very annoying to constantly see bits of stuff in the hallway carpeting, as if they never vacuum it. The pool is very small, so even with just us and one other family there was only a small amount of space to swim in. My wife was very disappointed that there was no hot tub. Overall a decent hotel, but we would likely not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you for the review, as always we appreciate any type of feedback especially those that we can learn from and use to get better in delivering a better experience. We are sorry that we did not live up to expectations for this visit, but we will definately use your feedback to get better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Stayed here for just a night with the family on a Saturday. I would go back without hesitation alone, with my spouse, or with friends, but probably not with the kids.

This hotel is really conveniently located in the downtown Milwaukee area. This is the 3rd aloft I've visited, so I'd say it's pretty standard as far as rooms, amenities, etc. Definitely positioned to be young/edgy design. The common areas are louder at night, to portray a nightclub atmosphere. That boisterous atmosphere spills to the room areas late into the night on the weekend; beware if you're looking for a quiet getaway or have an early flight.

On the negative side, this was perhaps the worst desk experience I've had at an aloft or even across all Starwood brands (with Platinum status). My room reservation needs, arranged in advance, could not be met, leaving me in a bit of a bind with a party of five including young kids. The desk agent just did not seem to care.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor and far from elevator or guest noise may be quite loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliff_rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryanmiy, General Manager at Aloft Milwaukee Downtown, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you for the review, we appreciate you taking time out of your day to give us feedback! We are so sorry that you felt that the team was uncaring as that is absolutley without a doubt not the image we care to portray. Feedback such as this allows us to go back and resolve issues with service, so thank you. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss further, we are always willing to listen to how we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I stayed four nights for a family reunion. The lobby was a perfect place for hanging out or for making plans. We could also gather there or in the courtyard after an evening out to wind down. The hotel is located well along the river. It is a little noisy from the street at night but
that really didn't bother anyone in our gathering of over forty members too much.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maginnisone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#26 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,082 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#11 of 56 in Milwaukee
832 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
Milwaukee Marriott Downtown
#15 of 56 in Milwaukee
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Milwaukee Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Milwaukee Downtown

Property: Aloft Milwaukee Downtown
Address: 1230 N Old World 3rd St, Milwaukee, WI 53212-4034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#24 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Milwaukee Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown is a modern boutique-style hotel near the business district, Bradley Center arena, Milwaukee River, Marcus Center for the Performing Arts, and is 15 minutes from MKE Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aloft Milwaukee Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Milwaukee Downtown Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing