We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Churches & Chocolate”

Milwaukee Food & City Tours
Ranked #3 of 28 Food & Drink in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Milwaukee's premier, original and award-winning tour company, discover the sights and flavors of Milwaukee’s most delicious & historic neighborhoods with Milwaukee Food & City Tours. Our Brady Street, Historic Third Ward, RiverWalk/Old World Third Street, Bloody Mary Brunch, and Villages of Wauwatosa and Cedarburg tours are each 1-mile walking routes that explore unique neighborhoods that are now districts filled with diverse eating opportunities. Our bus tours include Milwaukee's Pizza Bus, Custard Tour, Fish Fry Tour (Lent season), Churches & Chocolates, Historic Bar Tour, Christmas Around Milwaukee Bakery Tour, and our singing Christmas Lights & Delights Tour. Guided food tours include food samples that add up to a meal along with stories about Milwaukee’s rich immigrant history and the exceptional people who bring it to life. We also offer a Explore Milwaukee Sightseeing City Bus Tour with 4 convenient downtown hotel pick up spots every Friday, Saturday and Sunday! Join us for a narrated 60 minute tour of the city; hop-on and hop-off at any scheduled stops to visit Milwaukee's most popular attractions, then pick up the tour where you left off. For individuals and families, this is the best way and most inexpensive and convenient to learn about downtown Milwaukee and visit key attractions at the same time.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We went on the Churches & Chocolate tour yesterday and had a wonderful time. The tour was well organized and paced. The ginger muffins and coffee at Stone Creek Coffee (the meeting place) were really good. Then we loaded onto a bus and pulled away right on time. We stopped at 3 different churches and at each were welcomed by someone who knew many facts about the architecture and history of the buildings and congregations. Each was beautiful and interesting and well worth the stop. We then visited two independent chocolatiers: Red Elephant and Indulgence. At each, we received generous samples and learned how they got started. We had a great time and will definitely go on another tour with Milwaukee Food Tours again in the future.

1  Thank meyerinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa N, Owner at Milwaukee Food & City Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

So glad to hear that you had a great time on our Churches & Chocolates tour - thank you for choosing Milwaukee Food Tours and thank you for taking the time to write a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
There are newer reviews for Milwaukee Food & City Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

585 - 589 of 626 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

All of the grown kids are in town for Christmas and grandma is visiting - what to do with the whole group? We opted for a Saturday night Pizza Bus tour. WOW! We all had a great time and learned so much about both pizza and the city that we all have grown up in. Our guide was fantastic and the 5 stops were all unique and flavorful. Very well run tour with involvement by the tour owners as well as the business owners. I was thrilled that we went on this outing!

2  Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa N, Owner at Milwaukee Food & City Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

So glad to hear that you had a great time on our Pizza Bus - thank you for choosing Milwaukee Food Tours and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you out on a future tour sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

First of all our tour guide Beth was personable and friendly. Two of the four Bloody Mary's were unique and excellent. For $50 the "food" that went with the Bloody Mary's was more like snacks; pizza slice, panini, yogert and fires. Each at a different location. I think they should do more of the Milwaukee/Wisconsin foods like cheese and sausage since we were not from the area. Also I would have liked more details on the city and history and the architeture. There was some information but we needed more.

Thank 115degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa N, Owner at Milwaukee Food & City Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you for choosing Milwaukee Food Tours and thank you for taking the time to write a review about your Bloody Mary Brunch tour. We're happy to report that we're now serving even more brunch items, and of course focusing on always having more unique and tasty Bloody Mary's. You'll have to check out our new Bay View Bloodies & Beers tour next!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Robert, our tour guide, was from the Third Ward, and was very knowledgeable about the area, its history and the local businesses. He was charming and gracious, patient with questions and lead the tour a nice pace. All the food we tasted was wonderful, and ample enough. By the end of the tour you are quite full! Plenty of food, water and one beer sample is included. You can purchase additional drinks at each venue.

3  Thank egall45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa N, Owner at Milwaukee Food & City Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

So glad to hear that you had a great time on our Third Ward tour - Robert is one of our fantastic tour guides, always entertaining! Thank you for choosing Milwaukee Food Tours and thank you for taking the time to write a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had been dining at Casablanca for years on Brady Street and never even knew about the eastern end! Brian, the tour guide, was very knowledgeable about both the history of the area as well as the food. There was a good variation of samples across the 6 places we visited. So, for those of you who think you know your city...you may be like us and just scratched the surface. Take the tour!!

Thank Bubbagags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa N, Owner at Milwaukee Food & City Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

So glad to hear that you had a great time on our Brady Street tour - Brian is a great tour guide! Thank you for choosing Milwaukee Food Tours and thank you for taking the time to write a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milwaukee Food & City Tours also viewed

 

Been to Milwaukee Food & City Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing