We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at Smyth”

Smyth In The Iron Horse Hotel
Reserve with OpenTable
Smyth In The Iron Horse Hotel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 1,520 Restaurants in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $55
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Walker's Point
Cross street: 6th Street
Description: The quintessential experience in Rustic-American cuisine. From individual dining to groups of all sizes - lose yourself in the comfort of the finely appointed dining room, the warm and friendly service, and the beautiful Iron Horse Hotel.
Pittsburgh
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunch at Smyth”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Had lunch at the Smyth when I arrived the day before my meeting. I really recommend the cheese soup with popcorn. Sounds weird, but it was delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marva62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    87
    38
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I had breakfast here while staying at the Iron Horse. I ordered a Mimosa that was very good and had fresh squeezed orange juice. We ordered the Wisconsin Classic with the potatoes and the Waffle French Toast and split both plates. I liked the Wisconsin Classic but the French Toast was not the best I've ever had. However, I would recommend this place and would go back if I was in Milwaukee.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ducachic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Overpriced bad brunch”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

$50 for an adult on Mothers Day for a buffet where nothing rose above mediocre, and most fell well below. No seafood, tough prime rib, overcooked halibut.....a costly disappointment for what should have been a celebration.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW suburb Chicago Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch was fantastic!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Route 66 Brunch Buffet was a great start to our Sunday in Milwaukee. Mimosa's or Bloody Mary's to start and a great buffet including create your own omelet, carved ham and prime roast along a complete buffet of hot and cold selections... The Smyth also provided a menu to order unusual and tasty breakfast fare like; cranberry & golden raisin bread pudding french toast, triamisu pancakes, swordfish & wild mushroom risotto, huevos rancheros quiche, flannel hash (short rib, corned beef hash with sweet potato, red & golden beets, parsnips & sweet peppers)... the clear winner for us was fig biscuits & duck sausage gravy!

We dined the evening before and enjoyed cocktails with our dinner. Everyone enjoyed their selections of salad, steaks and seafood. The menu isn't widely varied but the offerings are well prepared and presented in a pleasing manner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MOMOsan_309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Nice breakfasts, great burger for lunch, nice cheese plates. Nice bar staff. A little pricey but portions were generous, and we split a number of items. Small, but nice wine list.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bobeana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smyth In The Iron Horse Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Smyth In The Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing