We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun!”

Lucille's Piano Bar & Grill
Ranked #17 of 135 Nightlife in Milwaukee
Attraction details
Racine WI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We went to Lucille's to celebrate a friend's birthday on a Friday night, and didn't really know what to expect. The piano players themselves were so much fun - they could sing/play just about any song you threw at them - throw a few bucks with each request as a tip. We put in requests with money, and without money, and all were played timely. Feel free to join in on the singing and dance in the aisles. There is a $5 cover, which makes this extremely cheap entertainment. Prices at the bar were fair, and the service was great - we didn't eat there, but the food prices seemed a bit high, with a limited menu. Someone made reservations for our group, but it seemed you could walk in at anytime and get seated.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RacineTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    5
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Time!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

After the Admirals Game, We decided to check out a bar in Downtown Milwaukee, and it just happened to be Lucille's Rockin Pianos. As we walked in, We got carded. Sat down, In about 2 minutes we were greeted with a very nice waiter. He suggested a Smirnoff Mixer since they were 3 dollars each. I got a few of those, listened to a man and woman play piano and tons of great songs that had the whole bar rockin and rollin. A great place to take a date or for single guys since they had a bachelorette party and lots of ladies at the place that night. Highly recommend to check this out if you are in Milwaukee.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Packerman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
131 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Had a Blast”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Great atmosphere and a good place to see great piano talent for a mere $5 a person. The piano players were amazing and really had fun with the crowd. They did not harass the customers for money to play songs like a couple other piano bars I have attended. The waitress was great and attentive. If your stuffy then you need to be warned that some of the songs could be a little harsh for your taste. If you go up to the piano for a birthday or any event make sure you are ready to be a good sport.

You picked a fine time to leave me Lucille! But I will be back!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelbugIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Will not be going to Lucille's again.”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We went to Lucille's for my good friend's bachelorette party. She was incredibly excited about our visit; hadn't stopped talking about it for the last month. We paid to reserve a few tables. We got there early for dinner, which was definitely the best part of the night (the mac and cheese [which is a portion for two] and the black bean burger were delectable) and then started getting drinks. We put in our request for the bachelorette to be brought up and sung to right when the show started. After an hour or so of all the other bachelorettes being brought up and sung to, we realized you had to put up some cash with your request. Apparently paying a reservation fee, buying dinner, and keeping the drinks coming are not enough. So we put up some cash with another request. A couple more hours went by and the bachelorette still hadn't been brought up. So we put up another request with more cash. Still nothing. We asked our waiter to please bring us the manager several times and got the run-around (which I'm confident was not his fault as he was absolutely fantastic). Finally, one of my friends and I went up to the front and demanded to see the manager immediately. He arrived quickly. We told him we weren't getting our song played and he said that the pianists play for tips, and they'll play for the biggest tips first. We said we understood that, but people were coming in for 5 minutes, putting down a big tip, being brought up, and leaving. Meanwhile, we'd been there for 5 hours, and had literally spent hundreds of dollars on food and drinks. He said that the pianists are independent contractors or something, and that he can't tell them what to do, but said he'd talk to them. Then he gave us some drink tickets. We went immediately to get the bachelorette and us our drinks, and while we were at the bar, she got called up to the stage. We definitely appreciated that the manager promptly took care of the problem, but we got out of there immediately after she got off the stage.

Basically, just showing up and spending lots of money on food and drinks at this place is not enough to get your song played. Neither is putting down anything less than a $50, apparently. The only reason I gave it a 2 rather than a 1 is because the food was good, our waiter was great, and once we managed to get a hold of the manager, the issue was quickly resolved.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank susticv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Level Contributor
372 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“A "must see" when in Milwaukee”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We were having dinner next door & just happend to find this bar. Glad we did! Not sure if every Saturday night is as crazy as that night, but I imagine it would be. Just a great atmosphere, loved the dueling pianos, and service was fine (even with a huge crowd).

Would definitely recommend this place for a 'night out' with friends.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MSkinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucille's Piano Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Lucille's Piano Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing