We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but stay somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Milwaukee City Center
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location but stay somewhere else”
Reviewed March 10, 2007

When you think of the Hilton, you think upscale. Not at this location. We stayed on the 10th floor which had a strong musty odor in the hallways. The bath towels were dingy and gray in color instead of being a crisp white color. We called the front desk two times and both times we were brought dingy, gray tinged towels. It took my husband bringing them down to the front desk of the lobby to have them exchanged for brand new pure white towels. The next morning, we followed the Hilton's direction on how to request keeping the same towels to "conserve water" but they didn't follow their own rules and we were back to having gray, dingy towels after housekeeping swapped them out. On our final day of stay, housekeeping did not clean our room until after 5 p.m. They left the toilet paper roll empty and pillows were left on the floor!

Skip the overpriced & undercooked breakfast in the hotel.

The hotel staff was nice & accomodating but if this Hilton is skimping on having clean bath towels, it makes you wonder what else they are skimping on.

We would recommend you stay at another downtown hotel. They are all close in proximity to provide an equally good location to all events.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twobings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    721
    282
    146
    62
See reviews for
337
433
111
904
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2007

We booked a special for $99 a night on Expedia, and I wasn't expecting much. After a REALLY long wait to check in (there were about 30 people queued up), we were pleasantly surprised by how nice the room was. The beds in this hotel are outstanding, and the rooms are decorated tastefully. My only problems were how long it took to check in (almost 45 minutes in line!!!!) and the fact that there's a waterpark in the hotel, so there are a ton of kids running around in the afternoon. The location is also great, but I'd suggest skipping the Miller Lite Bar downstairs- it's really smoky and they had some awful entertainment. There's also a full Starbucks in the lobby, which is awesome (read: not a coffee kiosk that sells Starbucks coffee). Overall, this was a pretty good bargain- I'd definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2007

OK I know it is Pres day weekend but come on, the wait to check in was 45 mins then the rooms were not ready. The waterpark was way overcrowded and good for 1-4 year olds very small. There were no where enough tables or chairs for the number of guests, the elevator wait was a good 10mins. We saw people in the waterpark without wristbands because you can enter from the snack bar upstairs, when my husband told the lifeguard they said they would take care of it but didnt walked right by without a word. We got coupons from the internet and left $25s worth on our table at the Miller Pub by accident, the waitress said she found them turned them in but they cant find them so oh well. After many chats with the hotel guest services they finally reissued the coupons. If you are going on business and want a nice old room this is the place for you. If you are going with your family for a waterpark, skip it and go to Blue Harbor or Timber Ridge way better parks and not nearly as overcrowded.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank chicagomomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2007

Beware of the charges for the bottled water which will appear on your credit card statement whether or not you open them. This happened to everyone in my travel group. They quickly agreed to reverse the charges when challenged. Otherwise a decent hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtotravel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2007

The Hilton Milwaukee City Center is an old friend - partly because of its beautiful and well-restored architectural decoration, partly because of the reliable service levels.

The common spaces range from elegant to splendid (the Crystal Ballroom is particularly breathtaking), and the guest rooms show signs of recent refurbishment. My room was clean and current with a crisp white comforter, lots of pillows, and up-to-date color scheme. In-room amenities were respectable. Shower had, thankfully, the curved rod so that the shower curtain hangs away from your body rather than trying to envelop you in other people's who-knows-what from previous showers. (Why every property doesn't install these rods is a mystery).

Front desk staff was a civilized, smooth and friendly professional and very gracious. Bellman was a young feller with not a lot of experience but quite friendly, patient and helpful with my somewhat scatterbrained requests.

Restaurants - the ChopHouse is dependable, warm, and delicious with a menu and service that can compete with any big-city chophouse experience. Service is thoroughly professional and knowledgeable, and menu is tempting and well-executed. The cafe for daytime dining continues to plop out uninspired food that resembles Perkins quality but with much higher prices. The contrast between the two dining experiences is an odd, schizophrenic disconnect. Eg: the Caesar salad from the Chop House had an exciting presentation and big, whole anchovy (people at our table oohed and aahed); in the cafe around the corner it was iceberg lettuce from a bag with some boxed croutons and bagged cheese thrown on top, anchovies promised on menu but left off, and added shrimp for $6.00 consisted of three medium shrimp.

If you have extra time, wander through the grand spaces on the 5th floor.

  • Liked — Competence of staff, elegance of common areas
  • Disliked — Cafe food
  • Tips/Secrets — Skip the cafe and go out to lunch, check out the ballroom on same floor as reception - wowee!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marge246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2006

We had to go to Milwaukee for an appointment this week (December 28) and thought we'd make a mini-vacation out of it with our 5 1/2 year old son, who LOVES waterparks!
The hotel itself was decent. The room was clean and nicely decorated.
The Waterpark was attractive, but small, which we expected. There were slides for most ages (toddler - 7 or 8) but nothing really exciting. The down side: The water was barely warm, to the point that we were all cold within 10 minutes. Also, my son was just short enough not to be able to go down 2 of the 3 "big" slides and they didn't allow us to go down with him. They did offer a swim test, which would have allowed him to go down the slides if he would have passed, which was nice. But again, after 45 minutes, we were all cold and ready to go. There was an arcade, too, but we play enough video games at our house, so we avoided it.
The choices for hotel restaurants were: The bar and grill (casual), the cafe (also casual - but no bar), and a steakhouse (expensive! and not kid-friendly). We went down and had a burger in the bar, which was enjoyable, and had breakfast at the cafe, which ended up being very expensive and the service was very slow. We were disappointed that there weren't any other family-friendly restaurant options, other than the over-priced fast food served in the waterpark. You could also order room-service or call for pizza delivery.
Summary: if you have to go to Milwaukee for some reason and want a nice place to stay that your small children will enjoy, this may be a good option for you. Just be prepared for a cold swim!!

  • Liked — The Location and the Waterpark
  • Disliked — The waterpark was cold
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelfiendsWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2006

I had a last-minute business trip to Milwaukee. I needed a hotel close to the company I was consulting for. The Hilton reviews weren't that great, but the other hotels were either sold out or out of walking distance. When I tried to book a room, only smoking rooms were available. But I booked anyway, since the hotel was only a block away from my client.

I was concerned about service since the hotel was fully booked. I was pleasantly surprised. I asked the young lady at the front desk if they happened to have any non-smoking rooms available. She said no, but she gave me free Internet access for the three days of my stay. She said to let them know if the smoke smell was particularly bothersome -- they could do some ionizing.

The room did have a smoker smell, but otherwise, it had a nice traditional decor with a great bed. The Internet access worked flawlessly -- I was connected in no time and there was only one very brief outage. The doormen were very friendly and helpful. One watched my luggage while I ran a quick errand. The bellman booked a shuttle back to the airport for me.

The room cost $199 per night, but it was well worth it, with the great service I got and since I didn't have to take cabs to my client location. I'd stay again, but would rather get a non-smoking room next time!

  • Liked — Friendly, helpful staff
  • Disliked — Only smoking rooms were availble
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MicroMiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,610 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#28 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,086 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#13 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Milwaukee City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Milwaukee City Center

Property: Hilton Milwaukee City Center
Address: 509 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203-2001 (Formerly Hilton Milwaukee City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Milwaukee City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 729
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, historic hotel is a landmark in downtown Milwaukee. Recently renovated guest rooms and suites provide modern comforts. The hotel is connected by skywalk to the Wisconsin Center and is in the middle of thriving downtown shopping, eating and theater areas. All of Milwaukee's great attractions are minutes away including Miller Park, BMO Harris Bradley Center, Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum and Discovery World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Milwaukee City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee City Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee City Center
Milwaukee Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing