We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, Outstanding Experience!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Milwaukee City Center
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Outstanding Experience!!!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I just want to put emphasis on the tremendous staff at the Hilton City Center!!! Upon our arrival, throughout our whole stay & departure we were always met by a smile! Our Bell Hop Ethan was just as sweet as can be! He made a point to ask us each time we passed how we were enjoying our stay & if we needed anything at all! This hotel is a beautiful piece of history & the staff do an excellent job maintaining it!! I look forward to our return! Thanks Again Hilton City Center!!!

Room Tip: Go for a King!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trisha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    893
    715
    277
    145
    62
See reviews for
332
430
109
897
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Old style hotel with beautiful lobby and ballrooms drops the ball when it comes to rooms. We booked the hotel through a competitive bidding website and did get a decent price. The hotel was at capacity yet check in was quick and efficient. Parking was onsite and cost $24 with in and out privileges. Parking on the street or across the street was free. We had been assigned a room with 2 twin beds. We requested a king but settled for a queen as it was ready immediately. The room was tiny. Tiny. It was clean, well decorated but was the smallest hotel room I have ever seen. I am so glad we didn't pay full price. Three restaurants were on site. On Sunday morning a brunch was offered. We looked and were not impressed for the price so we just ordered off the regular breakfast menu. It was delicious and the service was great. I think if we went again I would look into one of the newer offerings that might have more spacious and comfortable rooms such as the Hampton Inn or Fairfield Inn.

Room Tip: Ask the square footage. I'd rather have 2 beds and room for a nightstand or chair rather spend t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beth828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My son and I travel three to four times a year to see baseball games, often picking the games as much as a year in advance. We try to pick hotels that have amenities that we will enjoy before or after the game. So, when we were planning our September trip to Milwaukee last winter, we asked several friends about places to stay in Milwaukee. They pointed us to the Hilton City Center because they had an indoor water park and because they had previously had great experiences there. I booked the room in late January, early February, and anxiously awaited our stay to experience not only Miller Park, but also the water park the day after the game. Fortunately, I didn't tell my 5 year old son TOO much about the water park, because to my dismay, the Hilton had decided in early spring, to close the water park. Unfortunately, we were never notified of this change and in fact, the in-room materials for the hotel still advertised as if the water park were open and available for weekend use. Quite a disappointment for one five year old. Had I known the water park was not available (and no pool is in place in the hotel) I likely would have booked another hotel with at least a pool.

Good things: The hotel itself is beautiful. Our room was nice. We had a corner king suite. Staff was helpful. Despite being in a downtown area on a Saturday night with lots of weddings/parties going on in the hotel that evening, our room was peaceful.

Bad things: The guest floors aren't well laid out (probably because of the former use of the building), we were directed to the back elevators to access our room from the check-in desk, which put us in the wrong area of the floor. Without signs directing to our room, we wandered for several minutes until we found the front part of the floor and our room. I never did find the ice machine, despite the materials in the room which said ice was available on each floor. There were very few children in the hotel. $24/night for self serve parking seemed a little pricey.

If I returned to Milwaukee with my spouse, I'd consider staying here again. But, not with a child.

Room Tip: Corner room was very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlbrown77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Enjoyed our stay in Milwaukee; great old style hotel with a lot of charm. Toured Pabst mansion...very interesting; explored downtown. Ate at Rock Bottom Brewery; Mo's; Cafe Benelux; tried to stay away from chains. Visited casino; slots are tight so would probably avoid in future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Milwaukee was our second stop in the US. We took the Amtrak from Chicago to Milwaukee, and we didn't even need to take a taxi from the station to the hotel. It's a 5 to 10 minute walk from MKE station to the hotel. Our stay coincided with the Summerfest, and even walking back from the Festival grounds to the hotel was not that far. We actually made it back to the hotel before our friends did that waited for a taxi! We literally walked everywhere we wanted to go in Milwaukee. The Harley Museum is also only 15 minutes away by food.

The rooms are exactly what you'd expect from a Hilton. Spacious and classy. The service in every part of the hotel was top class. The hotel certainly is very Americana

The bar too was great fun, and it pumped on both nights that we were there. Some Footballer got married at the hotel on the Saturday night, and the after party was in the bar! Turned out to be a huge party for our traveling group.

I have to say excellent on every aspect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Henry, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel is fabulous and located in the heart of downtown near Marquette, the river and many shops and restaurants. We created a wonderful memory , with our friend's son and his new bride. Many great experiences!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmerco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for the first time on a business trip. I was very impressed with the staff (cordial and genuine) and the facilities (top of the line). Also very close to Art Museum (about a mile). I would recommend it to anyone visiting Milwaukee

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Francisco O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,860 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,592 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#26 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,083 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#13 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Milwaukee City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Milwaukee City Center

Property: Hilton Milwaukee City Center
Address: 509 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203-2001 (Formerly Hilton Milwaukee City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Milwaukee City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 729
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, historic hotel is a landmark in downtown Milwaukee. Recently renovated guest rooms and suites provide modern comforts. The hotel is connected by skywalk to the Wisconsin Center and is in the middle of thriving downtown shopping, eating and theater areas. All of Milwaukee's great attractions are minutes away including Miller Park, BMO Harris Bradley Center, Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum and Discovery World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Milwaukee City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee City Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee City Center
Milwaukee Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing