We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable bed and room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Milwaukee City Center
Ranked #13 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I enjoyed my stay. I found the room to be set-up a little weird. There were no glasses in the bathroom and no bedside table on the left side of the bed or any accessible light switch to control the lights once in bed. Shower was hot, room was quiet and on a corner which was great.

Breakfast was delicious, a very nice buffet. The monarch lounge has great beers to enjoy and the Miller Time Pub had tasty wings.

I would certainly return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Padge9281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,504 - 1,510 of 2,234 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

Family stayed here Friday and Saturday for Germanfest at Maier Park. Good Hotel, everything you need i.e. food and Bar located on premise. Hotel is great to take Fest's busses to Park on Wisconsin Ave. Bustop is in front of Hotel.
Parking was free for Hotel Guests in parking garage to the south of Hotel. Parking deck is connected to 2nd floor of Hotel by walkway. However there is no valet parking here. My 88 year old father stayed with us and it was quite a walk for him when he arrived and checked in. FYI
Would stay here again for Fests if price was right.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fyrfyter215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We chose this hotel because of it's location within walking distance to the Riverside Theater where we saw a show. It was also listed on the Riverside Theater website. By booking online through the theater's link, we saved $100 on our room. The room was spacious and clean with a comfortable chair and ottoman. We had a nice view of the city and a partial waterfront view. It's very close to the river, theaters, shopping and other attractions. It's easy to get to. We ate breakfast at the cafe the morning we checked out. We could have had the breakfast buffet which included an omelet station and non-alcoholic beverages for $16. We didn't feel like eating that much or spending that much $$, so we opted for a la carte. We were shocked when our bill was $33. They charged us $3.75 each for regular coffee and another $3.75 for orange juice. I felt ripped off. Find a nice cafe around the corner or get Starbucks. My only other complaint is the jack hammering that started at approximately 7am. We were downtown in the summer during the week, so it's not really the hotel's fault, but a room on the other side of the hotel may have prevented the noise.

Room Tip: Ask if there's construction. Try to get a higher floor facing East for a nice view of Lake Mich...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton City Center for the weekend. The building has tremendous character and the common areas are beautiful. Numerous excellent restaurant options. The breakfast buffet is well worth the price with a large number of hot, cold, and custom-order options. I was in a king room, which was fairly simple in terms of amenities, but spacious, clean, and plenty comfortable. Every staff member I saw throughout the weekend was outgoing and pleasant. The location is within walking distance of many restaurants and shops, and a very short drive from other attractions. If you aren't bringing a car, taxis were always waiting outside and fares are very reasonable given this hotel's closeness to everything. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

No problems overall, but hotel has no pool. Need to go across town to Hilton sister hotel in shuttle. Hotel staff don't seem to be informed that this is an option for guests however. Rooms are very small. Hotel was clean and staff was nice. Parking was not a problem. $24.00 per night to park.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Randall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandonDrusch, Manager at Hilton Milwaukee City Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Hello Randall B-
Thank you for the 3 out of 5 stars! I apologize that our staff did not seem knowledgeable about the swimming options in the area as our Waterpark has closed. We have corrected this challenge and communicated your concerns to the staff to ensure proper communication throughout the Hotel. I look forward to having you as a guest in the future!

Regards,
Brandon Drusch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Dear Hilton,
As a Northwestern Mutual Managing Director, I have spent about a half of a year of my life at your hotel at 509 West Wisconsin, 6 days at a time during the 3rd week of July for the past 28 years!
This past week's experience was different, unique, and special because of one very gifted front desk staff person! From the moment we checked in to the very last contact we had on Wednesday at checkout, Brittany treated us like we were litterally, "at Tiffany's!" She was very responsive to our needs and even responded to non urgent requests I had asked about, the next day! That proved to me that she was thinking of us, overnight, and trying to make our most recent installment of our annual "Hilton City Center" experience, our best one ever!
She did!
We will certainly be back, however, she has raised an already high bar of service expectation at your wonderful hotel, even higher!
Sincerely,
Kevin Burckhard
Managing Director
Northwestn Mutual
701-721-3980

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Recently stayed at the Hilton for a conference. There are several restaurants in the hotel, and several others are within walking distance. Close by to many attractions. Easy access to the Interstate made it handy. Parking garage is next door and is connected to the hotel. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful during our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#6 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,751 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#30 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,116 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 55 in Milwaukee
1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Milwaukee City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Milwaukee City Center

Address: 509 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203-2001 (Formerly Hilton Milwaukee City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#5 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range: $104 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Milwaukee City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 729
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, historic hotel is a landmark in downtown Milwaukee. Recently renovated guest rooms and suites provide modern comforts. The hotel is connected by skywalk to the Wisconsin Center and is in the middle of thriving downtown shopping, eating and theater areas. All of Milwaukee's great attractions are minutes away including Miller Park, BMO Harris Bradley Center, Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum and Discovery World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Milwaukee City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee City Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee City Center
Milwaukee Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing