We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful nights' sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Milwaukee City Center
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
62 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A wonderful nights' sleep”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great location downtown within walking distance to several very good restaurants as well as the Milwaukee Art Museum and the Public Market. The beds were very comfortable with nice sheets and covers. Housekeeping service was spectacular and made the beds expertly, refolded towels, and refreshed shampoos, lotions, and coffee. Only one thing made it less than spectacular which was probably no fault of the hotel but our last two mornings, we were awaken by loud jackhammering across the street at 7:30 in the morning. So location was good for sightseeing, not so great for construction downtown. Downstairs Miller Time and & Pub was also great for drinks and bar food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frazers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    878
    699
    272
    144
    60
See reviews for
324
417
109
888
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The rooms are compact, but well kept and clean. The location is only OK, but with good weather most of downtown is a quick walk away. If you are looking for cheaper parking, Clyborn St is a short walk away and has plenty of spaces.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmoney1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our experience at the Hilton hotel was very good. We had a very quick check-in and check-out experience. In addition, the room was very nice and clean. Our King Bed was very comfortable. We will stay here again as the location was great. The only downside is we could hear the adjoining room TV early in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
567 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived our room was not ready. We went to a nearby pub to wait. They never called so we walked back. Our room was ready so we checked in. The room was nice, small but you expect that in older properties. The bathtub was messed up, the fiberglass had come loose and it made it difficult to stand and take a shower. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank adam-kelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Pretty good overall. Internet and parking were extra charges and the room (queen standard) was somewhat small for the price (about $135). Service was fantastic though. Room service was very good. Bed was very comfortable. Great location right in the heart of downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandonDrusch, Manager at Hilton Milwaukee City Center, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hello Chris B- Thank you for the kind remarks about the service culture and the quality and presentation of your Room Service order. The staff was delighted to hear that we were able to provide a great experience for your vacation into Milwaukee. We hope to make the Hilton Milwaukee your new home when traveling into the city and look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

What a great hotel! We booked for the night to see a concert at summer feet. Arrived mid afternoon, room was not ready, but was given another room, which turned out fine. The receptionist at the desk was so pleasant and nice that we were not upset at all with a different room which ended up with a fantastic view on a high floor. We had our dog with us also which I will talk about later. First of all the room was spotless. I am a clean freak and this room was as clean as could be. I couldnt find one thing wrong. No problem getting extra towels and linens. Staff in housekeeping couldnt be nicer. Good job housekeeping!
Now back to my dog. A very pet friendly hotel. Everyone was making such a fuss over her. She is cute! This hotel has a beautiful outdoor garden for walking your dog. It has a gazebo, beautiful grass area, patio furniture, benches, and its a nice large area. Whoever thought of this idea to build this should be commended. It is an excellent size area for both pets and adults without getting in other people's way. Thank you Hilton for making my dog happy and keeping it so clean too.
After the concert we went to the attached Miller Time Pub and the staff working was super nice. They have one of the best menus I have seen in a pub/restaurant. If you want healthy food, you can order a fruit plate which was delicious or hummus plate with olives. Very classy food for a pub. Or if you want burgers and nachos, its there too. Again whoever designed the menu is a genius to be able to have a menu to fit everyone's hunger needs in an upscale way. Terrific atmosphere. You feel very comfortable there, and great prices too.
The bed was comfortable and even though the hotel seemed full, we didn't hear a thing all night.
We had a great time. Milwaukee people are the best and so are the staff at the Hilton. Thank you for making our one night trip to Milwaukee a super time!

Room Tip: High floor facing west
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritishRevelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Multiple attempts at updating has left this older hotel looking cheap. The bed was very comfortable however to use the sink or bathtub you had to close the bathroom door for access. Check in was smooth and the parking is very nice, attached to the hotel with free access with your room key. The doorman never cracked a smile and told us to hail our own cab. He was rude and of no help. On the bright side the hotel was very quiet with no disturbances. If a block a rooms were not reserved with a discounted rate I would have been upset. The regular price per night for a room is way too high especially for the location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank legendlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrandonDrusch, Manager at Hilton Milwaukee City Center, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hello LegendLady1:
I appreciate your review and the remarks about the hotel. It was nice to hear that you had a great nights rest and that your stay was free of disturbances. I do apologize however that you found our Doorman to be rude and unhelpful. I have taken the opportunity of sharing your experience with members of our Front Service Team to emphasis the importance of our customer service as a way of preventing this from happening in the future. If I can assist in anyway moving forward please do not hesitate to call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,834 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,553 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#26 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,072 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#13 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Milwaukee City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Milwaukee City Center

Property: Hilton Milwaukee City Center
Address: 509 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203-2001 (Formerly Hilton Milwaukee City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Milwaukee City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 729
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, historic hotel is a landmark in downtown Milwaukee. Recently renovated guest rooms and suites provide modern comforts. The hotel is connected by skywalk to the Wisconsin Center and is in the middle of thriving downtown shopping, eating and theater areas. All of Milwaukee's great attractions are minutes away including Miller Park, BMO Harris Bradley Center, Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum and Discovery World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Milwaukee City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee City Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee City Center
Milwaukee Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing