We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Milwaukee City Center
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Union Grove
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Hotel is great, just bad bad time with my room card never working even after being replaced. Lead me to be late for my classes at the convention center, they also didn't work when I tried to leave the parking garage.
Chop House restaurant is awesome, will be back there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    855
    679
    267
    138
    60
See reviews for
314
407
105
871
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My family and I first stayed at this hotel in October 2011 when visiting Marquette University. The location is excellent. The university, Bradley Center, Al Michael Center, all downtown locations, etc., are within walking distance. The front desk staff upgraded us to a beautiful room with a view of the lake. In the three visits since, we've always been upgraded...even on this last occasion when I'd used an opaque travel site to make the reservation. The bell staff is always attentive as are the doormen who'll help with luggage, hail a taxi or make sure you're kept dry in a rainstorm. The restaurant in the Lower Lobby which opens for breakfast and lunch delivers high quality food (buffet or ala carte) at reasonable prices, always with a smile. The rooms are older, with upgraded carpet and furnishings, a comfortable desk area with modern connections for power. The bathrooms are quite small, but everything works and in my opinion, they are well maintained (wallpaper seams tight, good caulk lines, good water flow). The rooms are very clean and well maintained. Definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin Z, Manager at Hilton Milwaukee City Center, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hi Dan,

I just wanted to take a moment and thank you for your fantastic words in your review. This is the standard of service and experience we work diligently to achieve, and it's always a welcome sight to see that our guest experiences have met that standard and above and beyond.

We're happy to read that you and your family have made multiple trips to stay with us here at the Hilton, and are thrilled to know that we'll be able to welcome you back in the future.

Best,

Dustin Zick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vassar Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I traveling on business was booked at the Hilton Milwaukee City Center. Upon my arrival I was greeted with the Doorman whom seem to be outside more than he was ever inside all three days. Happy and joyful to greet each limo sedan and van who dropped and picked up people. He made my day! Always smiling, eager to approach and ask you how your day was. And Impression for those entering the hotel!

I only stayed two nights, 3 days and upon arriving I found that the hotel was clean, accommodating to my needs and very helpful. I would say unless one is on business, I would not bring my family to stay here if I had small children, however, I didn't see many children even though they offered a water park, which was not open until Friday,Saturday and Sunday. The building itself was older and the upkeep was maintained! I would stay again on business. They have a Starbucks coffee shop and a Restaurant called the Chop House, I would price the menu at $$. There was another restaurant that served breakfast etc, However I didn't dine there. The bar was much more reasonable to me in price for a single woman traveling. Drinks average 7 dollars and Burgers etc roughly 10 dollar and up. Plus it stayed open late for those of us who have longer day schedules. Staff very good. I felt that the young girl whom waiting on me when I first checked in was a tad bit stressed, however I am sure that everyday demands of travelers can make one feel that way. She could of smiled more. As she at first made my first impression of the hotel a not so good one, after I thought the Doorman was awesome. Until I met most of the other staff then I knew she was having one of those so called bad days. First impressions often make a difference though! Every morning a USA today paper sat out side waiting my review and the view outside was the Milwaukee City. For those who travel on business and want to have that executive experience this is the hotel!!! There is a Shopping mall across the road in which I toured and found to be a dying mall with average stores. Not many other places to visit as most are offices etc. I did find an Applebee restaurant further down the road for those who do not want to pay a 50 dollar or higher food bill. Overall I give this hotel a 4 stars.

Room Tip: I was on the 19th floor, The view was of the City and the major highway. I was able actually to vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poohdersdoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Hilton Milwaukee City Center is a huge, historic hotel located adjacent to the Delta (Frontier) Airlines convention center (skyway connection), and about three blocks from the Amtrak station. Staff were friendly, and the rooms large, clean, and comfortable. The public areas, especially the lobby, are stunning and beautifully maintained. There is no pool, but a waterpark is open on weekends for an additional charge. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Hilton HHonors Gold/Diamond members receive free Wifi and access to a lounge with free breakfast and evening snacks, otherwise there is a charge. Parking is quite expensive, although the ramp is connected to the hotel by a skyway.

There isn't usually a whole lot going on in downtown Milwaukee, unless there is a convention. There are a few restaurants within walking distance and a virtually abandoned shopping center.

This is a big convention hotel, in my opinion, a step above most.

Room Tip: Historic main building vs newer addition - your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blanker001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Recently stayed here to attend a bucks game with our family. The location is great for the Bradley center, only a couple of blocks away. The only thing I didn't like was the additional $18/person to go into the waterpark! Normally the price of the room at least covers a few people, however ages 3 and up are $18 each! Too high for the extent of the waterpark. It's nice for young children, but not worth the price of admission. If you are just looking for a hotel it is great, if you are coming for the waterpark, bring your wallet!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieSobieskiWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin Z, Manager at Hilton Milwaukee City Center, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hi Susie,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of our experience here on TripAdvisor. We certainly appreciate your notes regarding our excellent location, and were happy you chose us to stay with when you attended the Bucks game (Go Bucks!).

We're always keen on receiving guest feedback and where appropriate turning that feedback into actionable changes regarding our operations. So in that regard, we certainly appreciate your candid words regarding the pricing of the waterpark here. We believe that the unique experience of a waterpark in the urban landscape of downtown Milwaukee is unmatched in our city, but we're always looking at ways to improve the experience.

Thanks again for your great review and your stay, we hope to see you and your family again next time you make it down to cheer on our Bucks.

Dustin Zick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

My stay at this location wasn't what I expect from a Hilton. The service staff were friendly, but the property appears to be poorly maintained. The rooms were visibly dirty - dust on the desks, grime on the baseboards, snagged bedding, half hanging curtains, nail polish on the bathroom floor, poorly functioning shower, etc. My king-size bed also appeared to be broken - it had a very significant dip in the center - deep enough to cause me to slide into it. I also heard from multiple other guests staying at the hotel that their rooms were unsatisfactory - broken shower, excessively loud heating unit, and dirty rooms. Also, every noise resonates in this hotel - toilets flushing, people entering/leaving rooms, etc. Given the multiple alternative hotels in the area, I would not recommend staying at the Hilton

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mommy2tendai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin Z, Manager at Hilton Milwaukee City Center, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hi, Mommy2Tendai, I'm posting this response on behalf of our Director of Front Office Operations, Brandon Drusch.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Milwaukee. Please accept my apologies for the challenges you encountered throughout your visit. We pride ourselves on our ability to create a memorable experience while ensuring our guests have the utmost in quality and service. Your challenges have been shared with our team as it relates to service and quality deficiencies you experienced. I would be honored to have the privilege to speak with you directly at your earliest availability regarding the issues you have brought forward.

Regards,
Brandon Drusch
Director- Front Office Operations
414-271-7250
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

My Wife and I stayed here for two nights to celebrate our one year anniversary. The rooms are dated but do have nice furniture in them and the bed is comfortable. It's a short walk to a few streets with a lot of local businesses on them. The staff sent us up chocolate covered strawberries which was a nice gesture. The only complaint is saying they have a hot tub/jacuzzi is misleading. There is a water park in the hotel and you can use the hot tub there but it is only open on weekends. So there is no hot tub access on week days. Overall its a good place to stay if you want to get out and check out the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jawkurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin Z, Manager at Hilton Milwaukee City Center, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hi Jawkurt!

Thanks for your positive review here on TripAdvisor. Happy to hear that you and your wife decided to stay with us for your one-year anniversary and even more happy to hear that it was a positive experience.

I do want to apologize for the confusion regarding our hot tub/jacuzzi, as creating said confusion was certainly not intent. I'll be looking into a way we can better clarify the accessibility of the hot tub only being on weekends.

Thanks again for your stay and for this review, the next time you and your wife make it to Milwaukee, we hope that you will decide to stay with us again.

Thanks!

Dustin Zick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#19 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#11 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 56 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Milwaukee City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Milwaukee City Center

Property: Hilton Milwaukee City Center
Address: 509 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203-2001 (Formerly Hilton Milwaukee City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Milwaukee City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 729
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, historic hotel is a landmark in downtown Milwaukee. Recently renovated guest rooms and suites provide modern comforts. The hotel is connected by skywalk to the Wisconsin Center and is in the middle of thriving downtown shopping, eating and theater areas. All of Milwaukee's great attractions are minutes away including Miller Park, BMO Harris Bradley Center, Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum and Discovery World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Milwaukee City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee City Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee City Center
Milwaukee Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing