We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big, Historic, Comfortable Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Milwaukee City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Milwaukee City Center to your Saves list
Hilton Milwaukee City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   509 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Hilton Milwaukee City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast + WiFi Deal!
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Big, Historic, Comfortable Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Hilton Milwaukee City Center is a huge, historic hotel located adjacent to the Delta (Frontier) Airlines convention center (skyway connection), and about three blocks from the Amtrak station. Staff were friendly, and the rooms large, clean, and comfortable. The public areas, especially the lobby, are stunning and beautifully maintained. There is no pool, but a waterpark is open on weekends for an additional charge. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Hilton HHonors Gold/Diamond members receive free Wifi and access to a lounge with free breakfast and evening snacks, otherwise there is a charge. Parking is quite expensive, although the ramp is connected to the hotel by a skyway.

There isn't usually a whole lot going on in downtown Milwaukee, unless there is a convention. There are a few restaurants within walking distance and a virtually abandoned shopping center.

This is a big convention hotel, in my opinion, a step above most.

Room Tip: Historic main building vs newer addition - your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blanker001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Recently stayed here to attend a bucks game with our family. The location is great for the Bradley center, only a couple of blocks away. The only thing I didn't like was the additional $18/person to go into the waterpark! Normally the price of the room at least covers a few people, however ages 3 and up are $18 each! Too high for the extent of the waterpark. It's nice for young children, but not worth the price of admission. If you are just looking for a hotel it is great, if you are coming for the waterpark, bring your wallet!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieSobieskiWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin Z, Manager at Hilton Milwaukee City Center, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hi Susie,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of our experience here on TripAdvisor. We certainly appreciate your notes regarding our excellent location, and were happy you chose us to stay with when you attended the Bucks game (Go Bucks!).

We're always keen on receiving guest feedback and where appropriate turning that feedback into actionable changes regarding our operations. So in that regard, we certainly appreciate your candid words regarding the pricing of the waterpark here. We believe that the unique experience of a waterpark in the urban landscape of downtown Milwaukee is unmatched in our city, but we're always looking at ways to improve the experience.

Thanks again for your great review and your stay, we hope to see you and your family again next time you make it down to cheer on our Bucks.

Dustin Zick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My stay at this location wasn't what I expect from a Hilton. The service staff were friendly, but the property appears to be poorly maintained. The rooms were visibly dirty - dust on the desks, grime on the baseboards, snagged bedding, half hanging curtains, nail polish on the bathroom floor, poorly functioning shower, etc. My king-size bed also appeared to be broken - it had a very significant dip in the center - deep enough to cause me to slide into it. I also heard from multiple other guests staying at the hotel that their rooms were unsatisfactory - broken shower, excessively loud heating unit, and dirty rooms. Also, every noise resonates in this hotel - toilets flushing, people entering/leaving rooms, etc. Given the multiple alternative hotels in the area, I would not recommend staying at the Hilton

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mommy2tendai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin Z, Manager at Hilton Milwaukee City Center, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hi, Mommy2Tendai, I'm posting this response on behalf of our Director of Front Office Operations, Brandon Drusch.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Milwaukee. Please accept my apologies for the challenges you encountered throughout your visit. We pride ourselves on our ability to create a memorable experience while ensuring our guests have the utmost in quality and service. Your challenges have been shared with our team as it relates to service and quality deficiencies you experienced. I would be honored to have the privilege to speak with you directly at your earliest availability regarding the issues you have brought forward.

Regards,
Brandon Drusch
Director- Front Office Operations
414-271-7250
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My Wife and I stayed here for two nights to celebrate our one year anniversary. The rooms are dated but do have nice furniture in them and the bed is comfortable. It's a short walk to a few streets with a lot of local businesses on them. The staff sent us up chocolate covered strawberries which was a nice gesture. The only complaint is saying they have a hot tub/jacuzzi is misleading. There is a water park in the hotel and you can use the hot tub there but it is only open on weekends. So there is no hot tub access on week days. Overall its a good place to stay if you want to get out and check out the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jawkurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dustin Z, Manager at Hilton Milwaukee City Center, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hi Jawkurt!

Thanks for your positive review here on TripAdvisor. Happy to hear that you and your wife decided to stay with us for your one-year anniversary and even more happy to hear that it was a positive experience.

I do want to apologize for the confusion regarding our hot tub/jacuzzi, as creating said confusion was certainly not intent. I'll be looking into a way we can better clarify the accessibility of the hot tub only being on weekends.

Thanks again for your stay and for this review, the next time you and your wife make it to Milwaukee, we hope that you will decide to stay with us again.

Thanks!

Dustin Zick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I understand old world & historic charm but that doesn't excuse dirty & broken. Paint over large chipped wood & chunks of wood missing from moldings. Dust & dirt on carpets (up in the crease between wall so you know it's been there a while). The elevators were dirty and had broken wood on walls. Bathroom so small the door hits the shower rod so you can't open door all the way. Also, 2 people can't fit at the same time. Grout in tub that looks like a 5 yr old did it. Miller Time Pub: burgers were dry and over cooked. Horrible. At night we had the people next door fighting then drunk guests yelling down hallway. We only got 2 hours sleep and couldn't wait to get out of there. NEVER have we ever had such a horrible stay at a Hilton. It was our celebration of our 25 wedding anniversary and all but the show we went to was terrible. I will say the staff was very nice, but clearly management has very low standards of clean. We have stayed at Hilton hotels before and never had this type of experience. I hope you take these comments to heart. We took the experience to heart. On a better note, they have a very nice indoor water park. We just walked through quickly, but it looked nice. Only comment would be they had blueish lighting and yellow would be a warmer more inviting choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMilwaukee, Manager at Hilton Milwaukee City Center, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Marilyn F -

I want to extend my deepest apologies on behalf of the Hilton Milwaukee City Center and our associates. The experience that you had at our property is not the standard that we demand of ourselves and what you expect as our guest.

I also want to thank you for choosing to be our guest and for taking the time to share your experience with the tripadvisor.com community. Thank you for sharing the specifics of your stay including your guest room, the Miller Time Pub and your experience with our staff.

I welcome the chance to discuss your experience further and to have the chance to personally welcome you back to the Hilton Milwaukee to ensure we can create new memories with you as our guest.

Jacob Ruck
Hilton Milwaukee
Hotem Manager
jacobruck@hiltonmilwuakee.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I had come to Milwaukee on a business trip for a long term. I was recomended by my company to stay at the Hilton City Center.
I stayed at the Hiltons for a period of 6 months and the experience was a WOW!
The staff right from House Keeping dept. to Cafe, to Bar where very helpful and courteous in there services. Though I had stayed in an hotel but the wonderful services and hospitality of the Hiltons had made it my second home. I had made good friends in the Hotel staff.
I would definately recomend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Durgesh_sinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton for a long weekend a few weeks ago. Built in 1928, it was gorgeous! The room was nice, the bed was comfy and big and the staff were friendly. There was a volleyball tournament that weekend also, so the place was packed! We tried the bar one evening and was not able to get seated. We were asked instead to go to the bar located upstairs in the Monarch room. They close early at 11. We had great Bartenders there (Laura & Tyler were great)! We ate at the Chop House located at the Hotel. It was convenient, but pricey at $50 for just the steaks and everything else is a-la-carte. The wait staff was great though! The Miller Time Pub was great the last night we were there! The breakfast buffet was good, even though I think it was a little pricey also. I think for the price, the Hilton could have included the wi-fi like other Hotels, especially for the 5-stars...maybe they will change it eventually if enough patrons complain. Personally, I would not stay again at a Hilton that has ridulous charges for the internet!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaWorshipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMilwaukee, Manager at Hilton Milwaukee City Center, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear SeaWorshipper -

Thank you very much for choosing to be our guest this past weekend! I am glad to hear you enjoyed so many different amenities that our AAA Four Diamond has to offer! Please accept my apologies that you were not informed of alternatives to our paid - in room internet access.

As you mentioned we do change 9.95 per day in our rooms. We do however have two computers in our Monarch Lounge that are complimentary to use and to print and we have two computers in our 4th Floor business center that are also complimentary. At the Hilton Milwaukee we do also offer complimentary access in our restaurants and our lobbies!

I hope to have the chance to welcome you back to our Hotel in the future!

Jacob Ruck
Hilton Milwaukee
Hotel Manager
jacobruck@hiltonmilwuakee.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#4 of 53 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,434 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 53 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,299 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#3 of 53 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Milwaukee
InterContinental Milwaukee
#31 of 53 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Milwaukee City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Milwaukee City Center

Address: 509 W Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53203 (Formerly Hilton Milwaukee City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#7 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#8 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Milwaukee City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 729
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, historic hotel is a landmark in downtown Milwaukee. Recently renovated guest rooms and suites provide modern comforts. The hotel is connected by skywalk to the Wisconsin Center and is in the middle of thriving downtown shopping, eating and theater areas. All of Milwaukee's great attractions are minutes away including Miller Park, BMO Harris Bradley Center, Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum and Discovery World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Milwaukee City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee City Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee City Center
Milwaukee Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing