We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location-superb restaurant-rooms a little tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Ellison Bay Wi
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location-superb restaurant-rooms a little tired”
Reviewed October 19, 2009

We love the location, close enough to town ( Milwaukee isn't that big). We've stayed there 3 times this year. Rooms and public areas are a little tired. Chairs in room are comfortable and beds are very comfortable. Cleanliness is very good,. Windows open. a big plus on river side rooms. Staff is very nice and helpful. Anchorage restaurant is VERY good; not big but food is excellent. This time I was there alone. I have a shellfish allergy-pretty severe actually. I was having a sandwich and beer in the attached bar. When I told the bartender, and asked if french fries were done in the same deep fryer as shrimp, he told the kitchen, and the chef actually pan fried the fries for me. Wow!! Granted the restaurant wasn't busy, but what service!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    195
    104
    42
    28
See reviews for
170
140
46
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

My wife and I stayed here last weekend, while checking out the Wisconsin foliage. We paid only $100 (with tax) from hilton.com, and obviously had a car for the trip. It's about 5 miles from everything, which is really nothing in Milwaukee traffic. The hotel is clean, and the service is wonderful with every employee of the hotel being overly friendly. The rooms are pretty standard Hilton rooms, and the other amenities (fitness, biz center, etc.) are average as well. One note - Diamond members get free breakfast on the weekend and a buy 1/get 1 drink cert, which makes the value even better.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graffka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2009

I have been at the hotel for business and family events. Each time the experience is great. Restaurant is great and staff very helpful. Any questions or concerns are handled with care.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasekuchen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills Estates, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

My review of this property can be summed up this way. If you are chasing Hilton points and need to stay North of Milwaukee---then this is your place. I'm a Diamond Hilton member---so I've seen my fair share of Hilton Hotels around the world. This one is a little tired.

Positives: Self parking right out front, Bayshore Mall with great restaurants about 1 mile North, quick and friendly front desk staff, standard Hilton room amenities---coffee maker, bathroom soaps, etc.Did I mention the points?

Negatives: Needs a serious remodel, creaky, smelly elevators,

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel-Fan-10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2009

I stayed here for a business meeting at the University, and had a very pleasant stay. The rooms were clean and large, and shuttle service was on time with friendly staff. I had breakfast at the restaurant once and that was good.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonBelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
de pere wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2008

Stayed here on a Saturday while visiting the daughter at college.
Checked around downtown hotels and this was priced in our range. It is just a short drive from downtown and the college. The downtown hotels are $$$$. This was nice for the price paid.
Check in was quick. Elevator was iffy. Didn't know they had a pool as the hotels web site doesn't even show pictures. We found the pool and can see why. We don't go for the hotels pools but would have been nice to know about it. Overall this hotel served its purpose and would stay again.

  • Liked — comfortable bed
  • Disliked — elevator was iffy
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank deuceDePereWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2008

The Hilton Riverfront in Milwaukee is a decent property with helpful staff, nice rooms, a good bar and restaurant, and nice views of the river.

It just isn’t what I expect in a Hilton.

Staff members – desk clerks, wait staff at the on-site restaurant The Anchorage, and housekeeping – were all fine. The food and drink at the restaurant were better than average for hotel fare. And the room was fairly well appointed with the usual amenities, including free wireless Internet access. The only “minus” was the wall-mounted air conditioning unit that was too noisy and cycled on and off far too frequently.

The hotel, however, completely lacked any “curb appeal”; pulling into the parking lot felt more like I was arriving at a roadside motel than a Hilton. The lobby and nearby sitting area were more appealing, though the décor was a bit dated. And the interior hallways completely lacked any character. On the positive side, they were well maintained, showing few signs of wear or neglect; they we're just – well – boring.

The facility also has a small fitness room and a self-service business center.

Overall, it was only OK. Considering the room rate and the Hilton name, I expected far more.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelPro_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#20 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,586 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#13 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront

Property: Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
Address: 4700 N Port Washington Rd, Milwaukee, WI 53212-1041 (Formerly Milwaukee River Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the banks of the Milwaukee River and just minutes from the heart of downtown, the Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront is the latest addition to the Greater Milwaukee scene. Enjoy a luxury selection of spacious guestrooms including deluxe rooms featuring impressive river views. From plush pillow-top mattresses and luxurious linens to premium bath products, our hotel offers a modern twist to a relaxing and peaceful stay. Whether traveling on business or just for leisure, our hotel's accommodations and amenities will exceed your every expectation. When staying with us take advantage of complimentary Internet access, complimentary parking, and an extravagant dining experience. Explore all of Milwaukee's rich history and settle in at our hotel after a day on the town. With a variety of local businesses, corporations, shopping and nightlife, there's plenty to do when visiting the Milwaukee/Glendale area. Guests can take advantage of our hotel's free shuttle service to local attractions and shopping within a three mile radius. The hotel has been designed to not only give guests easy access to the city's entertainment, but also to provide a serene environment with unparalleled hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee River
Milwaukee Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing