We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Long time staff makes for happy guests” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Long time staff makes for happy guests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

For years this hotel has been blessed by the quality of its adjoining restaurant, The Anchorage, which serves terrific food with a variety of friendly and attentive staff starting with Sandy Samenfeld who opened the restaurant and hotel more than 35 years ago, plus a number of other stars. I have been coming to the hotel since the late '80's from Texas and from Washington DC and Connecticut and have had only good to great experiences over all this time. Maybe Nordstrom stores and SW Airlines have such wonderfully nice employees.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you so very much for your kind words and your long standing patronage of our Hotel, and in particular, our acclaimed restaurant, The Anchorage!

The Anchorage is celebrating its 40th anniversary this year, and is considered an icon within the dining community of the Glendale / Northshore and metropolitan Milwaukee areas. Sandy, along with our Executive Chef Jerry Taylor, lead a dedicated staff that makes a stay at our Hotel a memorable one because of the unique restaurant quality and styling that we offer our guests. (We certainly are NOT your typical hotel restaurant outlet!)

Along with our entire hotel and restaurant staff, I thank you again for your comments (inviting you to also make them directly on the Trip Advisor listing for The Anchorage itself), and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    170
    96
    42
    26
See reviews for
139
119
39
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsbluff, NE
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Our stay at the Milwaukee Hilton by the River was a high-end experience in every way at a reasonable rate. The quality of the staff in each department (desk, doorman, waitress, hostess) was exceptional. The amenities (free hors d'oeuvres the evening we arrived, and breakfast buffet vouchers for the following morning) were most appreciated -- and delicious. Our room was extremely comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank jpwymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments and insights following your recent visit!

You highlighted on features that are both synonymous for our property, as well as a source of great pride.

That is our levels of customer service in all areas of the Hotel, from front desk to housekeeping, as well as our acclaimed restaurant, The Anchorage (soon to celebrate a 40th anniversary, and also with its own Trip Advisor listing for these comments).

I'm glad to read that your overall experiences in these primary areas were well-received and pleasant, as we all look forward to being a part of your future visits!

-- Michael Dietrich / General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We had a business meeting in Milwaukee and they recommended this property. This hotel was easy to find. It is a beautiful property! We would stay here again. The hotel was very nice and close to a great shopping area

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your comments as well as for your recommendation of our unique Hotel!

Many guests praise us on items such as our levels of customer service or about our noted restaurant, The Anchorage. But added features do include our convenient access to the nearby Bayshore Town Center that offers our guests many different shopping and entertainment options!

We look forward to being a part of your next business session in the area!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Don't take a shower at this hotel from 3-6pm, the water is NEVER warm. I've stayed here multiple times, have told front desk too, no one cares. Doesn't make sense to me...also, the restaurant is Ok, they make it sound like its a 4star restaurant, ahhhh no. Unless you frequent Applebee's on a daily basis. Just stick to the basics at the restaurant.






Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mplstraveler1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your comments, as it gave me an opportunity to investigate these issues. Comments pro or con assist us in maintaining high levels of presentation and customer service here at our Hotel and restaurant.

Our front desk staff, as well as our entire staff, does care about guest issues and comfort. Our maintenance staff has been apprised of your situation, and looking into the matter, found no condition issues regarding our hot water. It may take a little bit of time in the afternoon with minimal demand in the guestrooms during the hours your referenced, but all is in perfect working order. We have even passed a recent independent building inspection that also looked at this matter.

We are equally quite proud of our signature restaurant, The Anchorage. With a 40-year anniversary, unique entrée selections, and wonderful views of the River, we are far from being categorized with a generic chain establishment. Our patrons appreciate the fact that in addition to being able to sample something off-beat like Poke Tuna or Sautéed Sanddabs, they are also able to enjoy the standard bills-of-fare such as Prime Rib and Salmon.

With these items clarified, we do trust that your next visit to our Hotel and to The Anchorage will be a very pleasant experience!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I wish they had 2 room suites, but other than that the hotel was nice, clean, and quiet; free parking; helpful housekeeping service; professional staff. They also have a cozy fireplace sitting area in the lobby.

Room Tip: This hotel is located immediately off an expressway exit, which made locating it easy for our family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luedora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thanks for giving us your comments after your recent stay!

Our unique hotel is highlighted by our signature restaurant, The Anchorage (celebrating its 40th anniversary!), but is also positively known for its great location along the river, our attentive staff, and our levels of customer service.

I'm glad to read that you appreciated them all!

Please visit us again!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appleton, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was by far the worst night I have ever had while traveling. The room heater could not be controlled by the unit itself so the room was probably 80 degrees. I eventually unplugged the heater and sat and listened to a constant knocking of pipes in the walls not to mention the sirens that seemed to never cease. NEVER EVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments.

They do assist us on maintaining our high standards, as well as to address any challenges that may arise.

The greater Milwaukee area has been under this Arctic blast for quite some time now, with brutally cold temperatures. This has created some unfortunate issues such as running heaters and knocking pipes, very similar to what our own homes experience with such extreme conditions.

I do apologize if this created a less-than-favorable feeling after your stay. But we were at the mercy of Mother Nature. I will have our maintenance staff check your room just in case there might be another issue.

This said, I hope that you understand the situations we Milwaukeeans have been facing, and that we may be able to welcome you back under better (and warmer!) conditions!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Again, our group (this time 48 altogether) received great service by "our" 2-person waitstaff. They were wonderful, attentive, quick, and perfectly unobtrusive as they switched us between courses - which is perfect, because we listen to a speaker while we eat and need to be able to concentrate on what he or she is saying.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments, as well as for your continued patronage of our Hotel and of our noted restaurant, The Anchorage, for your banquet functions. All very appreciated!

We are soon-to-celebrate our 40th anniversary, and are very proud of the levels of service, quality, and staffing of The Anchorage led by Executive Chef Jerry Taylor and Director of Catering Karen Dawson. Their efforts really do make for very well-received functions hosted here!

Very glad to read that our banquet catering efforts were appreciated by you and your entire party! Hope to see you here again soon!

-- Michael Dietrich / General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,596 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#2 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront

Property: Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
Address: 4700 N Port Washington Rd, Milwaukee, WI 53212-1041 (Formerly Milwaukee River Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the banks of the Milwaukee River and just minutes from the heart of downtown, the Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront is the latest addition to the Greater Milwaukee scene. Enjoy a luxury selection of spacious guestrooms including deluxe rooms featuring impressive river views. From plush pillow-top mattresses and luxurious linens to premium bath products, our hotel offers a modern twist to a relaxing and peaceful stay. Whether traveling on business or just for leisure, our hotel's accommodations and amenities will exceed your every expectation. When staying with us take advantage of complimentary Internet access, complimentary parking, and an extravagant dining experience. Explore all of Milwaukee's rich history and settle in at our hotel after a day on the town. With a variety of local businesses, corporations, shopping and nightlife, there's plenty to do when visiting the Milwaukee/Glendale area. Guests can take advantage of our hotel's free shuttle service to local attractions and shopping within a three mile radius. The hotel has been designed to not only give guests easy access to the city's entertainment, but also to provide a serene environment with unparalleled hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee River
Milwaukee Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing