We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Clean, but Expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Lithia, FL
Level Contributor
173 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Clean, but Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Hilton Milwaukee River for a business trip. The room was clean. Internet service was good. No appliances were available (microfridge, microwave). At $139 per night, I expected better. There was a nice patio on the back with a view of the Milwaukee River, although the river is not that scenic. The restaurant also had a nice view of the river. Breakfast was not included, but you could have a nice buffet for $14 in the restaurant. They serve cookies and lemonade to there customers in the evening for free. The hotel is right between the bad part of Milwaukee and the nicer area of Glendale. Go north for restaurants and shopping.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mathstud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    168
    96
    43
    24
See reviews for
138
118
38
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caledon, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Whenever we travel to Milwaukee, Wi. we stay at this lovely hotel which is just north of the downtown area. The hotel is fantastic and the employees are the best at welcoming us during our stay. You also cannot beat the price nor the service. We will definitely stay again on our visit next year!

Room Tip: Nice view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments, your praise of our hotel and its staff, and for your continued patronage!

We also our proud of our unique location that gives guests easy access to areas around the immediate Glendale area like the Bayshore Town Center, as well as to the downtown and lakefront areas of Milwaukee.

Looking forward to your next visit!

-- Michael Dietrich / G.M.
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel is in my city, but we were having out of town clients who stayed at the hotel. My experience was with Karen and her staff in coordinating a dinner and meeting room. We were offered options for both, along with suggestions on the set-up of the rooms for maximum efficiency and comfort. Not being an event coordinator, I appreciated the insight. On the day of the events, the staff was very attentive and helpful to me and our group. We would definitely consider having another event here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments relating to our Hotel, to our catering staff, and about the levels of professional service that you received for your dinner party.

With all food service prepared by our signature restaurant, The Anchorage, we are very proud to have this as an important amenity to offer to both our Hotel guests, as well as to the local residents that have made The Anchorage a favorite for almost 40 years!

The Anchorage also has its own Trip Advisor listing for your comments too!

Glad your event was a success, and please visit us again!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night to attend the Wisconsin beer lovers fest. http://wisconsinbeerloversfest.com/
The package deal included transportation to the event which was less than a mile away. Unfortunatly they had no shuttle bus as you would expect. I saw 1 (one) SUV giving rides to the fest. It could fit 4 plus the driver. Given the mob of people we opted to walk to the event. The room had no fridge, or microwave. The fridge would have been handy for us. The room was clean however. The bed was not the nice adjustable kind you get at the garden inn's. The shower curtain bar was bent downward which is not a big deal but it made the curtain drift toward the middle of the shower.
The package also came with a full breakfast. It was a very nice one with custom omlets. The manager was very attentive and took our order directly so we did not have to wait for the cook.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and myself traveled from Muskegon, MI to Milwaukee on the Lake Express Ferry to purchase a Zodiac. It was a bumpy ride over as Lake Michigan was running 4-5 foot waves. How nice was it to get to The Hilton and find a great friendly staff and a award winning restaurant connected to the hotel. The Anchorage restaurant is wonderful! Everything was top-notch, from the staff, river view room and the dining experience. Nothing but a A+ for this property. Not one thing could have been better!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Belated "thanks" for taking the time to comment on our Hotel as well as our noted restaurant, The Anchorage (who also have their own, designated Trip Advisor listing for comments), which combined to make the wild ride on the Lake Express more relaxing once here!

We are so very proud of The Anchorage, a well-respected dining institution for almost 40 years! Equal pride is shown for our staff, which strives to present guests with a warm, comfortable environment.

Should your travels bring you back to Milwaukee, either by the ferry or by car, we hope to welcome you back again!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streamwood, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We brought a relative from Poland for the Beer Lovers Festival, and were disappointed there were so few shuttles. About 50 people were waiting to go and one tiny van pulled up. Luckily many people decided to walk, or we would have had to wait an hour to get there!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoreckiStreamwood_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I don't like to worry about the age of a hotel unless the company lets the age show . . . this hotel was not very new but was very clean and comfortable with a friendly bar staff and a functional fitness center that was conveniently opened 24 hours. Thanks for the service!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#3 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront

Property: Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
Address: 4700 N Port Washington Rd, Milwaukee, WI 53212-1041 (Formerly Milwaukee River Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the banks of the Milwaukee River and just minutes from the heart of downtown, the Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront is the latest addition to the Greater Milwaukee scene. Enjoy a luxury selection of spacious guestrooms including deluxe rooms featuring impressive river views. From plush pillow-top mattresses and luxurious linens to premium bath products, our hotel offers a modern twist to a relaxing and peaceful stay. Whether traveling on business or just for leisure, our hotel's accommodations and amenities will exceed your every expectation. When staying with us take advantage of complimentary Internet access, complimentary parking, and an extravagant dining experience. Explore all of Milwaukee's rich history and settle in at our hotel after a day on the town. With a variety of local businesses, corporations, shopping and nightlife, there's plenty to do when visiting the Milwaukee/Glendale area. Guests can take advantage of our hotel's free shuttle service to local attractions and shopping within a three mile radius. The hotel has been designed to not only give guests easy access to the city's entertainment, but also to provide a serene environment with unparalleled hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee River
Milwaukee Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing