We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Outdated property not worthy of Hilton Brand.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outdated property not worthy of Hilton Brand.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Location is good in between Milwaukee and shopping but accommodations are outdated. AC unit noisy, mattress was 'springy', bathroom caulking was aging and fitness center is a small sweat box with poor ventilation. Had updated Precor equipment which was nice (1 bike, 2 ellipticals, 1 treadmill if I recall). Sunday breakfast buffet was typical buffet, items were warm at best since not enough people cycled through.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for providing your comments here on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

As was equally stated to you via the Hilton Guest Assistance forum and other similar direct e-mail correspondences, your comments do assist us in providing the best possible levels in terms of service and amenities to our guests, as well as addressing and correcting any critical issues.

With this being more of a public forum to assist other future patrons, I would like to clarify a few items in regards to our guestrooms and property conditions, as we have made a variety of recent enhancements to the Hilton Milwaukee River.

They have included, but are not limited to items such as new box-springs and mattresses (part of the Hilton approved "Serenity Collection"), new flat-screen TVs, the implementation of a more sophisticated, complimentary WI-FI service, new in-room guest safes, more high-definition TV channel selections, a repaved parking lot, a remodeled indoor pool, a fresh decor to our Lobby, the addition of a gift shop/vending area, and a completely remodeled restaurant in The Anchorage.

More recent completions now showcase new carpeting and wallpaper in all of our guestroom and public access hallways and corridors, upgraded Lobby and Banquet furniture, upgrades to our guestroom bedding, linens, and in-room toiletries.........and lastly new nameplates and guestroom number plaques.

The key here is 'new', not outdated as you suggest, as all of these additions enhance our total property, are all Hilton approved, and are all current, brand-standard models and designs.

Again, we are very proud of our Hotel, of our signature restaurant, The Anchorage, and the levels of service provided by our staff. We treat our convenient location as a strong amenity for our guests, placing them with close proximity to Downtown Milwaukee as well as the immediate attractions and businesses such as the Bayshore Town Center, Sprecher Brewery, and Johnson Controls. We continue to make improvements and enhancements to our property to benefit out guests.

And we hope that we may be able to welcome you back on much better terms!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    170
    96
    42
    26
See reviews for
139
119
39
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I booked my hotel for a trip to Concordia University Wisconsin and I can say I was pleasantly surprised with the overall quality of the facility. It is located just off of the interstate which made it very easy to find. The hotel was very clean and the staff always helpful with any needs during my stay. The on-site restaurant had excellent fish which is somewhat hard to come-by in the Midwest and their breakfast buffet was very good. My room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and I was able to enjoy a view of the river. Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments about both our Hotel as well as our restaurant...all very appreciated!

We are very proud of our levels of customer service, of our unique location that is close enough to Downtown Milwaukee in addition to the north shore/Bayshore Town Center Mall areas.

We have completed a series of enhancements, highlighted by new bedding. Glad to read that you enjoyed the “Hilton Serenity Collection” bedding!

Most of all, though, we are proud of our restaurant, The Anchorage, in being able to provide fresh, unique seafood entrées at affordable prices! It also received a number of recent enhancements, from its menu to its contemporary decor, and is certainly not your typical hotel restaurant!

The Anchorage equally has a dedicated Trip Advisor site should you also care to place direct comments there as well.

I do invite you back soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked this hotel on Expedia and all I have to say is what a great place to stay. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and the pool was awesome. We will stay here again. It is located in Glendale, about 10 minutes away from Milwaukee, which is nice to get away from the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmoerle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments!
We also have to agree with you......we do think we have a great place to stay!
And with our restaurant, The Anchorage, also a great place to dine!

Our location allows guests to be away from it all a bit, but also within convenient striking distance from most Milwaukee-area attractions and businesses.

Please come back soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The deal is very affordable and the Anchorage is a a must dine. It is very close-by to Bayshore Mall where they have many stores from the Apple Store to the IPic Theatre. We will be back for our fourth time next year. Check it out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thanks for your comments following your Valentine's Day Package stay with us!

Like our other 'holiday' packages such as for New Year's Eve, we typically include dining vouchers for our restaurant, The Anchorage, allowing guests to enjoy all aspects of our Hotel! Additionally, guests also enjoy our complimentary shuttle service to the neighboring Bayshore Town Center Mall!

We hope to welcome you back to both the Hotel and to The Anchorage before next Valentine's!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband had surgery and we stayed there because of the hospital discount and because they had a shuttle service to the hospital. The beds were soft, the room was super clean and the service was excellent. Did not get to eat in the restaurant or swim in the pool.
We did use the shuttle, and the driver, Vincent, was a very kind man. Very soothing, when I was a nervous wreck myself. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
First and foremost, I hope that your husband is doing better!

Our Hotel often assists families when another family member needs local hospitalization. So we realize that your visit is more of necessity, and not social/business. Therefore I am proud of our staff members, such as Vance at our front desk, who provide service up-and beyond during these situations!

Your main focus in these circumstances should be the recovery of a loved one, and not the services, amenities, and offerings of our Hotel and restaurant, The Anchorage.

I hope that we may be able to welcome both you and your husband back under much better terms! All the best!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
183 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Have stayed twice here and although the hotel is slowly renovating itself, its just a normal place to spend the night, much like a Doubletree or Embassy. The property is a bit out of the way from town but is quiet, the beds wonderfully comfortable, and the 'Anchorage' restaurant above average. If you get a great price here, its worth the overnight stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments and observations, as yes, we have slowly made some great enhancements to both our Hotel and signature restaurant!

Our restaurant, The Anchorage (equally with its own Trip Advisor listing for your direct commentary) was completely remodeled to begin our projects. New bedding, TVs, an upgraded complimentary WI-FI system, and hallway carpeting and wallpaper soon followed to name a few.

We are only 3 miles north of Downtown Milwaukee, and less than a mile from the Bayshore Town Center off of I-43, placing our unique Hotel in close proximity to most of the area businesses and attractions.

Hope to welcome you back soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Everyone was so courteous and couldn't do enough for us. Service was excellent from the bartender to the wait staff. The food was delicious with great presentation. We will definitely be back, it was very easy to get to from the Highway.

Aurora

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AURORA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about our Hotel, and in particular, our restaurant!

The Anchorage is such an iconic and popular fixture for the Hilton Milwaukee River, and is certainly not your typical 'hotel restaurant'. Both hotel guests and local dining patrons have enjoyed their offerings for almost 40 years!

Our kitchen and waitstaff both work hard to present our dining guests with great service, unique ambience, and signature entrées! Glad to read that enjoyed it all! (The Anchorage also has a dedicated Trip Advisor listing if you would like to also provide your comments directly onto their site for future dining guests.)

We do hope to welcome you back very soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 1,596 reviews
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#2 of 55 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront

Property: Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
Address: 4700 N Port Washington Rd, Milwaukee, WI 53212-1041 (Formerly Milwaukee River Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the banks of the Milwaukee River and just minutes from the heart of downtown, the Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront is the latest addition to the Greater Milwaukee scene. Enjoy a luxury selection of spacious guestrooms including deluxe rooms featuring impressive river views. From plush pillow-top mattresses and luxurious linens to premium bath products, our hotel offers a modern twist to a relaxing and peaceful stay. Whether traveling on business or just for leisure, our hotel's accommodations and amenities will exceed your every expectation. When staying with us take advantage of complimentary Internet access, complimentary parking, and an extravagant dining experience. Explore all of Milwaukee's rich history and settle in at our hotel after a day on the town. With a variety of local businesses, corporations, shopping and nightlife, there's plenty to do when visiting the Milwaukee/Glendale area. Guests can take advantage of our hotel's free shuttle service to local attractions and shopping within a three mile radius. The hotel has been designed to not only give guests easy access to the city's entertainment, but also to provide a serene environment with unparalleled hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee River
Milwaukee Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing