We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The Valentine's Day package is a must for a couple.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“The Valentine's Day package is a must for a couple.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

The deal is very affordable and the Anchorage is a a must dine. It is very close-by to Bayshore Mall where they have many stores from the Apple Store to the IPic Theatre. We will be back for our fourth time next year. Check it out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thanks for your comments following your Valentine's Day Package stay with us!

Like our other 'holiday' packages such as for New Year's Eve, we typically include dining vouchers for our restaurant, The Anchorage, allowing guests to enjoy all aspects of our Hotel! Additionally, guests also enjoy our complimentary shuttle service to the neighboring Bayshore Town Center Mall!

We hope to welcome you back to both the Hotel and to The Anchorage before next Valentine's!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    182
    96
    42
    26
See reviews for
151
127
40
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband had surgery and we stayed there because of the hospital discount and because they had a shuttle service to the hospital. The beds were soft, the room was super clean and the service was excellent. Did not get to eat in the restaurant or swim in the pool.
We did use the shuttle, and the driver, Vincent, was a very kind man. Very soothing, when I was a nervous wreck myself. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
First and foremost, I hope that your husband is doing better!

Our Hotel often assists families when another family member needs local hospitalization. So we realize that your visit is more of necessity, and not social/business. Therefore I am proud of our staff members, such as Vance at our front desk, who provide service up-and beyond during these situations!

Your main focus in these circumstances should be the recovery of a loved one, and not the services, amenities, and offerings of our Hotel and restaurant, The Anchorage.

I hope that we may be able to welcome both you and your husband back under much better terms! All the best!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
182 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Have stayed twice here and although the hotel is slowly renovating itself, its just a normal place to spend the night, much like a Doubletree or Embassy. The property is a bit out of the way from town but is quiet, the beds wonderfully comfortable, and the 'Anchorage' restaurant above average. If you get a great price here, its worth the overnight stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments and observations, as yes, we have slowly made some great enhancements to both our Hotel and signature restaurant!

Our restaurant, The Anchorage (equally with its own Trip Advisor listing for your direct commentary) was completely remodeled to begin our projects. New bedding, TVs, an upgraded complimentary WI-FI system, and hallway carpeting and wallpaper soon followed to name a few.

We are only 3 miles north of Downtown Milwaukee, and less than a mile from the Bayshore Town Center off of I-43, placing our unique Hotel in close proximity to most of the area businesses and attractions.

Hope to welcome you back soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Everyone was so courteous and couldn't do enough for us. Service was excellent from the bartender to the wait staff. The food was delicious with great presentation. We will definitely be back, it was very easy to get to from the Highway.

Aurora

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AURORA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about our Hotel, and in particular, our restaurant!

The Anchorage is such an iconic and popular fixture for the Hilton Milwaukee River, and is certainly not your typical 'hotel restaurant'. Both hotel guests and local dining patrons have enjoyed their offerings for almost 40 years!

Our kitchen and waitstaff both work hard to present our dining guests with great service, unique ambience, and signature entrées! Glad to read that enjoyed it all! (The Anchorage also has a dedicated Trip Advisor listing if you would like to also provide your comments directly onto their site for future dining guests.)

We do hope to welcome you back very soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
99 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a much older property vs. other Hilton hotels. Do not expect any modern designs or amenities. The shortcomings of this hotel include a tiny fitness center with very limited equipment and the existence of only one elevator for the entire property.

What makes up for the shortcomings is that the basics for business travelers are met. Clean and quiet rooms. Free parking and free wifi. Close proximity to Bayshore Mall that offers good choices for breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leadbelly98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your stay with us! Very appreciated, as they can assist us in maintaining our standards and services.

Our property is listed officially as a 3-star, AAA-rated facility, and is in good standing with all current Hilton brand standards. Out facility was also built in 1974 (not that 'old' for a solid, well-maintained structure), and has recently undergone substantial improvements built around its solid oak and natural marble signature features.

We have also just completed various enhancement projects to our hotel and restaurant that included new bedding and linens, new hallway carpeting and wallpaper, new guestroom flat-screen TVs, an upgraded WI-FI network, and new in-room safes.

Our Hotel is accented by our highly-popular restaurant, The Anchorage, that also received a total make-over for its decor and its menus, as they celebrate close to 40 years od service in the area!

We are in close proximity to the Bayshore Town Center Mall and its stores and attractions, but certainly encourage you to give The Anchorage a try as opposed to mall food!

We do hope that the Hilton Milwaukee River and The Anchorage can be a part of your area travel plans in the future!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River & The Anchorage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a very convenient hotel to the highway, just a few exits from downtown but in a great quiet spot by the Milwaukee River. The rooms are lovely with pleasant views, half overlook the river but the other half overlook UWM and the woods, and the restaurant is fantastic, one of the best in Milwaukee with delicious seafood and friendly staff. The adjacent bar has free appetizers from 5-7, great drinks, and beautiful views. Bayshore shopping center, a major indoor/outdoor "lifestyle mall" with dining, movies, and every store you can think of, is very close and the staff will take you there in the van if you ask. The indoor pool is small but a nice bonus for kids. A well-run property worth considering if you're visiting Milwaukee.

Room Tip: Ask for the river view if you can get it, but all rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomGarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you so very much for your comments about the Hilton Milwaukee River! All appreciated!

We are proud of numerous features here.....our convenient location to many of the area attractions, our pastoral setting next to the Milwaukee River, and especially our restaurant, The Anchorage (an area favorite for almost 40 years, also with a separate Trip Advisor listing/commentary as well.).

Also key is our staff members, adhering to high service levels and standards, which makes our guests feel welcome in that 'well-run' environment that you mentioned.

Both the Hilton Milwaukee River and The Anchorage look forward to welcoming you back soon!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
218 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

This is not a Hilton hotel, it should be branded within another hilton family brand, probably a hampton. Rooms are small, bathroom is very small and linens quality was poor. Should be renewed soon to maintain standards.
Service was good and has a convenient shuttle service that may take you nearby (there is a nice shopping and dinning center)

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MEM22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments, pro or con, as they assist us in maintaining our high standards. And we are sorry that your feelings about our Hotel were as they were.

However, for your benefit as well as others who read this valuable website, I can assure you that we do maintain high levels of service and amenities.

Beginning early last year, we have just completed substantial enhancements to our property that included new bedding and linens, a remodeled restaurant, new public hallway carpeting and wallpaper, new guestroom flat-screen TVs, a remodeled indoor pool, new in-room safes, and new banquet furniture. Most important, is that we are in compliance with all current Hilton brand standards.

Our Hotel is accented by our highly-popular restaurant, The Anchorage, as well as our proximity to the Bayshore Town Center Mall, and is glad to read that you appreciated both.

With our updates listed above, we do hope that the Hilton Milwaukee River can be a part of your area travel plans!

-- Michael Dietrich
General Manager
Hilton Milwaukee River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Hyatt Regency Milwaukee
#19 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront

Property: Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront
Address: 4700 N Port Washington Road, Milwaukee, WI 53212 (Formerly Milwaukee River Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the banks of the Milwaukee River and just minutes from the heart of downtown, the Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront is the latest addition to the Greater Milwaukee scene. Enjoy a luxury selection of spacious guestrooms including deluxe rooms featuring impressive river views. From plush pillow-top mattresses and luxurious linens to premium bath products, our hotel offers a modern twist to a relaxing and peaceful stay. Whether traveling on business or just for leisure, our hotel's accommodations and amenities will exceed your every expectation. When staying with us take advantage of complimentary Internet access, complimentary parking, and an extravagant dining experience. Explore all of Milwaukee's rich history and settle in at our hotel after a day on the town. With a variety of local businesses, corporations, shopping and nightlife, there's plenty to do when visiting the Milwaukee/Glendale area. Guests can take advantage of our hotel's free shuttle service to local attractions and shopping within a three mile radius. The hotel has been designed to not only give guests easy access to the city's entertainment, but also to provide a serene environment with unparalleled hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milwaukee River Hotel Milwaukee
Hilton Hotel Milwaukee River
Milwaukee Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing